plex ,playback error

DLNA, AirPlay, Chromecast, PS3, XBOX, iTunes, & other media players
Post Reply
User avatar
LastNinja
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 11:10 am
Location: Helping People ,Saving Lives

plex ,playback error

Post by LastNinja » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:12 am

i have a qnap tvs 871 i7 and use as media server but recently after i had updated my my plex app
it started to give me this error message whenever i want to play any kind of media file

"Conversion failed. A required codec could not be found or failed to install."

i have researched google and plex forum ,lots of ppl have this problem after an update and
it seems its because of incompatibility between older plex version database with newer version
and i have to remove plex database from qnap hdd completely then reinstall the plex app again
to make plex work

so my problem is other than reinstalling plex and i don't know ho to find plex database and delete it from qnap
and reinstalling is not enough to solve this error

i need some guidance as how to find plex database

thanks in advance
      QNAP TVS 871
      CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790S CPU @ 3.20GHz
      16 GB RAM - 8 WD Enterprise Re 6TB HDD <<RAID 6>>

      Backup WD DL4100 8GB RAM - 4 WD RED Pro 6TB HDD <<RAID 5>>
      Router Linksys EA6900 AC1900 Smart Wi-Fi Dual-Band Router
      PC ASUS G20AJ - CPU i7 4790 - GeForce GTX980 4GB - 128GB SATA III SSD - 3TB SATA III HDD

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14823
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: plex ,playback error

Post by dolbyman » Wed Oct 09, 2019 4:21 am

app uninstall should take care of the database

https://forums.plex.tv/t/re-install-and ... nap/433930

unless you used some sort of shared database (multiple plex servers share one common DB)

User avatar
LastNinja
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 11:10 am
Location: Helping People ,Saving Lives

Re: plex ,playback error

Post by LastNinja » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:31 am

thanks for the info ,so how can i find /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/
in qnap server ??
      QNAP TVS 871
      CPU Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790S CPU @ 3.20GHz
      16 GB RAM - 8 WD Enterprise Re 6TB HDD <<RAID 6>>

      Backup WD DL4100 8GB RAM - 4 WD RED Pro 6TB HDD <<RAID 5>>
      Router Linksys EA6900 AC1900 Smart Wi-Fi Dual-Band Router
      PC ASUS G20AJ - CPU i7 4790 - GeForce GTX980 4GB - 128GB SATA III SSD - 3TB SATA III HDD

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14823
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: plex ,playback error

Post by dolbyman » Wed Oct 09, 2019 5:35 am

use SSH or something like WinSCP

https://winscp.net/eng/download.php

Post Reply

Return to “Media Streaming”