Use Kodi without using HDMI output?

DLNA, AirPlay, Chromecast, PS3, XBOX, iTunes, & other media players
Crusher
Starting out

Use Kodi without using HDMI output?

Post by Crusher »

I have a TS-451+ which is running Kody Leia 18.9.0.0 and it is centrally located in my home office with no access to the TV's HDMI port in my living room.

When I open Kody, the only way I can access it is by a Remote Desktop Connection to the HybridDesk Station. The access is very laggy for the mouse and I would prefer Kody to open on the NAS main home page and not on the extended Remote Desktop. Plex seems to be able to do this.

Is there a way of installing Kody so it doesn't use the HybridDesk Station and opens on the home page and not the Remote Desktop page of the Hybrid Desk Station?

I'm fairly new to this NAS thing, so any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Crusher
Last edited by OneCD on Thu Dec 24, 2020 2:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: updated topic subject
TS-653D-8G with 6x Seagate Exos X16 10TB drives in RAID6
TS-653D-8G with 6x Seagate Ironwolf Pro 10TB drives in RAID6 for backup
Now redundant TS-451+ 16GB Kingston RAM and TR-004
Cyberpower Value 2200vA 1320-Watt UPS connected to Master TS-653D via USB2.0 and powering both TS-653D units
dolbyman
Guru

Re: Use Kody without using HDMI output

Post by dolbyman »

you are doing this wrong

install kodi on your computer..not on the nas

the nas holds your files

also dont label a thread [howto] if it's a question and not a tutorial
OneCD
Guru

Re: Use Kodi without using HDMI output?

Post by OneCD »

* (another) title fix :roll: *

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
Crusher
Starting out

Re: Use Kody without using HDMI output

Post by Crusher »

dolbyman wrote: Wed Dec 23, 2020 10:17 pm you are doing this wrong

install kodi on your computer..not on the nas

the nas holds your files

also dont label a thread [howto] if it's a question and not a tutorial