QFile not able to display photos

iPhone, Windows Mobile, Symbian, Android
Post Reply
somy1982
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:42 pm

QFile not able to display photos

Post by somy1982 » Fri Jul 22, 2016 11:59 pm

QFile on iOS is not able to display photos for dorm reason, tried to connect to NAS remotely and locally got the same problem - it loads the photo but all I see is a photo icon with the black background. What could be the problem? Thanks in advance!

silanors
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2014 4:11 pm

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by silanors » Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:05 pm

qfile on android device still the same problem!!

SpikesCafe
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:54 pm

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by SpikesCafe » Sun Aug 21, 2016 11:47 am

This problem is still ongoing.

User avatar
janpolet
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by janpolet » Mon Aug 29, 2016 9:09 pm

Some disturbing news from Qnap support:

Qfile and Qfile HD are no longer being supported.
See message from the R&D team.
Those are third party apps which are no longer being updated.

QNAP R&D team:
"Expected removal date is 6th April. If you encounter issue with Qfile HD version 1.5.1, you install Qfile 2.1.2 instead.
Support for Qfile HD will be stopped and no further updates issues."

This is just sad!! :(
QNAP TS-469L | 4 x 3Tb Seagate ST3000NM0033 in RAID5 | FW: 4.3.4.1652
QNAP TS-439 PRO | 3 x 3Tb Seagate ST3000NM0033 in RAID0 | FW: 4.2.6.20200327

SpikesCafe
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:54 pm

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by SpikesCafe » Sun Sep 04, 2016 9:12 am

janpolet wrote:Some disturbing news from Qnap support:

Qfile and Qfile HD are no longer being supported.
See message from the R&D team.
Those are third party apps which are no longer being updated.

QNAP R&D team:
"Expected removal date is 6th April. If you encounter issue with Qfile HD version 1.5.1, you install Qfile 2.1.2 instead.
Support for Qfile HD will be stopped and no further updates issues."

This is just sad!! :(


There is some uncertainty around these claims: viewtopic.php?f=201&t=123987&p=567146#p566740

Anyways, so as not to get sidetracked, this issue is still ongoing.

User avatar
janpolet
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 282
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 5:01 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by janpolet » Mon Sep 05, 2016 9:26 pm

I sent a message to QNAP again.
I don't get it.
Conflicting information.
Are they or aren't they working on a solution for this issue.
QNAP Support clearly stated that Qfile and Qfile HD are no longer being supported.
To be continued...
QNAP TS-469L | 4 x 3Tb Seagate ST3000NM0033 in RAID5 | FW: 4.3.4.1652
QNAP TS-439 PRO | 3 x 3Tb Seagate ST3000NM0033 in RAID0 | FW: 4.2.6.20200327

albumman
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 10:29 am

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by albumman » Sat Oct 01, 2016 8:07 pm

Don't remember when mine (iPad 3) began acting up but some files in some folders are still able to be displayed. I have had several versions of Qfile, even the no longer supported QfileHD which I think worked okay. I see there is another version from early September in the Apple store and may experiment with that one.
TS-212P QTS: 4.3.3.1624 build 20210416
2 x Seagate ST3000VN000 (RAID 1)

Skippern
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2009 10:58 pm

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by Skippern » Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:53 am

Hi,
Trying to wake up this thread again!

I have encounterd the same problem. When browsing some catalogs on my NAS some of the photos will not be displayed in Qfile.

But, I might have some clue to what is going on!

First of all, using Qfile on iPhone works, but the same images that is not showing up on a Samsung takes a bit longer to be displayed on the iPhone.
Next, When looking at the time stamps on the files I noticed that the files not showing up has a different date (changed) than the rest of the images. All the images was taken the same day and copied to the NAS the same day. I also noticed that the images with the new dates had get a slightly different file size than the original images on the SD card.

So, why have some images got a new file size and date stamp?
I have edited some videos using Adobe Premiere Elements and imported some of these photos directly into Premiere. I don't remember the exact date but I am suspecting Premiere doing something with the image files that makes them unreadable with Qfile.

Have some of you also used your photos in combination with Adobe Premiere (Elements)?

PS:
Using QNap TS853 Pro
Firmware 4.3.3
Qfile 2.6.3.0811 on a Samsung S8 and Tab S2 (also tried on a Samsung S5 with Qfile 2.5.4.1124)

blessa
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2019 7:40 pm

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by blessa » Thu Apr 04, 2019 6:22 pm

Same problem here.

Qfile on Android.

After some seconds trying to load the photo, it appears an exclamation mark in red.

Does anyone knows how to solve this issue?

SpikesCafe
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 11:54 pm

Re: QFile not able to display photos

Post by SpikesCafe » Wed Mar 11, 2020 5:38 am

I've owned a QNAP for years and, except in the early days of Qfile Android, this has always been an issue.

The trick that usually works is to wait. If QFile doesn't show a thumbnail, it also won't be able to load the full image. I think what happens is, when you open a directory with images on QFile Android, the QNAP kicks off a background process to generate thumbnails and full size images. As the background process creates the images, the thumbnails show up in QFile, and you should be able to open that image. No idea where it stores this data, but they seem to be persistent. If you access a directory that's been previously loaded, the thumbnails show up immediately and you can immediately start viewing your images. If you try to open an image without a thumbnail, you always see the exclamation mark in red with a black background.

I recently bought a brand new TVS-473 with the hopes that this problem would improve. Unfortunately, since the last update, it's gotten even worse. I'm *only* able to view images that have previously been loaded. New images never load no matter how long I wait. This is very frustrating and I would love an official response from QNAP regarding this issue.

Post Reply

Return to “Mobile Devices”