iscsi and Lightroom

iSCSI related applications
Post Reply
StevenLS
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:39 am

iscsi and Lightroom

Post by StevenLS » Mon Nov 03, 2014 7:50 am

Apologies, I am rather new to QNAP. I have managed to do set up most of what I need to do (remote disk uploads, music server backups, time machine backups), but now I'm stuck.

Using OS X, I want to store my Lightroom photographs on an iscsi drive and back them up on a separate external usb hard drive. There will be no photographs on the mac itself.

I have worked out how to set up the iscsi file, although I don't understand the LUN bit.

Is there a simple guide or way of doing the backup to the usb external drive?
Last edited by Toxic17 on Mon Jan 05, 2015 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: spelling

filemoon
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 55
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 1:09 am
Location: Dublin

Re: iscsi and Lightoom

Post by filemoon » Mon Nov 24, 2014 5:38 pm

To use iSCSI you need to have iSCSI Initiator (is not free for OSX):
- http://www.attotech.com/products/produc ... T-MAC0-001
- http://www.studionetworksolutions.com/g ... initiator/

Do you have it?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4025
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: iscsi and Lightoom

Post by storageman » Wed Nov 26, 2014 9:33 pm

Why ISCSI, what are your reasons against a share?

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22582
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: iscsi and Lightoom

Post by pwilson » Thu Nov 27, 2014 8:45 am

storageman wrote:Why ISCSI, what are your reasons against a share?


I believe "Lightoom" is actually "Adobe Photoshop Lightroom". Like many Adobe products, it does not play "nice" with NAS devices in an OS X environment. Many OS X users use iSCSI to "workaround" Adobe's incompetence at making NAS friendly software for OS X users.

Many OS X users would prefer to keep "Adobe Photoshop Lightroom" despite it's challenges, rather than installing something more compatible such as GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) instead. Adobe has been around since 1982, so you'd think they'd know a few things about programming by now. :roll: :roll: :roll:

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

yabba235
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:06 am
Location: Central EU

Re: iscsi and Lightoom

Post by yabba235 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:54 am

filemoon wrote:To use iSCSI you need to have iSCSI Initiator (is not free for OSX):
- http://www.attotech.com/products/produc ... T-MAC0-001
- http://www.studionetworksolutions.com/g ... initiator/

Do you have it?


It's not true - exist free os x iscsi initiator, look here:

https://justus.berlin/2014/01/droboshar ... r-kind-of/

Is works on my Yosemite stuff :)
Last edited by yabba235 on Mon Jan 05, 2015 2:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
Zotac MI553 (Hackintosh), NAS Qnap TS-453mini 6TB RAID5/128GB ssd for system,UPS APC x 2, PJ JVC DLA-X500, PCV screen, in-wall speakers 7.1 by KEF powered by Marantz, SR6011 and Remote Pronto TS9400

yabba235
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:06 am
Location: Central EU

Re: iscsi and Lightoom

Post by yabba235 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 1:58 am

pwilson wrote:
storageman wrote:Why ISCSI, what are your reasons against a share?


I believe "Lightoom" is actually "Adobe Photoshop Lightroom". Like many Adobe products, it does not play "nice" with NAS devices in an OS X environment. Many OS X users use iSCSI to "workaround" Adobe's incompetence at making NAS friendly software for OS X users.

Many OS X users would prefer to keep "Adobe Photoshop Lightroom" despite it's challenges, rather than installing something more compatible such as GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) instead. Adobe has been around since 1982, so you'd think they'd know a few things about programming by now. :roll: :roll: :roll:


Adobe Lighroom need library file keep on hard drive, not share drive, so only need put is on isci or real hdd ( my photos and raws file i put on share drive, adobe library on iscsi disk and is works ! ).
Zotac MI553 (Hackintosh), NAS Qnap TS-453mini 6TB RAID5/128GB ssd for system,UPS APC x 2, PJ JVC DLA-X500, PCV screen, in-wall speakers 7.1 by KEF powered by Marantz, SR6011 and Remote Pronto TS9400

User avatar
pwilson
Guru
Posts: 22582
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Victoria, BC, Canada (UTC-08:00)

Re: iscsi and Lightoom

Post by pwilson » Mon Jan 05, 2015 5:17 am

yabba235 wrote:
pwilson wrote:
storageman wrote:Why ISCSI, what are your reasons against a share?


I believe "Lightoom" is actually "Adobe Photoshop Lightroom". Like many Adobe products, it does not play "nice" with NAS devices in an OS X environment. Many OS X users use iSCSI to "workaround" Adobe's incompetence at making NAS friendly software for OS X users.

Many OS X users would prefer to keep "Adobe Photoshop Lightroom" despite it's challenges, rather than installing something more compatible such as GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program) instead. Adobe has been around since 1982, so you'd think they'd know a few things about programming by now. :roll: :roll: :roll:


Adobe Lighroom need library file keep on hard drive, not share drive, so only need put is on isci or real hdd ( my photos and raws file i put on share drive, adobe library on iscsi disk and is works ! ).


That doesn't change the fact that Adobe has been around since 1982, and that they still can't program anything properly. Their latest flustercuck is that they have discontinued support for Flash in Linux. :shock: Accepting Adobe updates is a "daily" ritual in Windows, how often does Adobe update their software in OS X?

Patrick M. Wilson
Victoria, BC Canada
QNAP TS-470 Pro w/ 4 * Western Digital WD30EFRX WD Reds (RAID5) - - Single 8.1TB Storage Pool FW: QTS 4.2.0 Build 20151023 - Kali Linux v1.06 (64bit)
Forums: View My Profile - Search My Posts - View My Photo - View My Location - Top Community Posters
QNAP: Turbo NAS User Manual - QNAP Wiki - QNAP Tutorials - QNAP FAQs

Please review: When you're asking a question, please include the following.

yabba235
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:06 am
Location: Central EU

Re: iscsi and Lightroom

Post by yabba235 » Mon Jan 05, 2015 8:54 pm

Adobe upgrades Lightroom mostly regular under OS X - I do not know why you just accuse adobe; may have LR os x version does not require daily updates :)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Zotac MI553 (Hackintosh), NAS Qnap TS-453mini 6TB RAID5/128GB ssd for system,UPS APC x 2, PJ JVC DLA-X500, PCV screen, in-wall speakers 7.1 by KEF powered by Marantz, SR6011 and Remote Pronto TS9400

User avatar
andyE
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 5:25 pm
Location: Maienfeld, Switzerland

Re: iscsi and Lightoom

Post by andyE » Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:09 pm

pwilson wrote:That doesn't change the fact that Adobe has been around since 1982, and that they still can't program anything properly. Their latest flustercuck is that they have discontinued support for Flash in Linux. :shock: Accepting Adobe updates is a "daily" ritual in Windows, how often does Adobe update their software in OS X?

I'd say nearly 'weekly' on OS X and that's exactly why I de-installed Adobe Flash completely from my systems and either websites can display their content in HTML5 or I won't watch it. That simple.

OK, that's politics and a bit off the topic :!:
andyE
Maienfeld, GR, Switzerland
QNAP TS-569 Pro + TS-653A
LACP 802.3ad, ZyXel GS1910 Switch, Cat6 LAN cabling
FW: QTS 4.3.3.0361

Bob Zelin
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: iscsi and Lightroom

Post by Bob Zelin » Sun Sep 30, 2018 4:23 am

Hi -
this is an old thread, and I understand Patrick Wilson is no longer with us. Very sad. He was cranky (like me) but he knew his stuff.
I have just been faced (in September 2018) with this exact problem, and while Adobe allows ALL the other Adobe CC programs to work over a network volume (like QNAP), the only program that cannot
easily work is Adobe Lightroom. You get errors that you cannot save a catalog to a network volume, etc. Well, it's 2018, and this is unacceptable to me. I don't give a ** what Adobe says you can and cannot
do.
As of September 2018, I created an iSCSI volume on the QNAP (it's the iSCSI target) and I used an iSCSI initiator program on my Mac (I am using a macOS 10.13 Sierra Mac). I was too cheap to pay for
Studio Network Solutions Global SAN iSCSI initiator ($89 dollars) or the ATTO Tech iSCSI initiator for OS X ($250) - so I found the old Small Tree iSCSI initiator which is free. This is only supported up until
Mac OS X 10.8, but to my shock and amazement, it loaded on macOS 10.13. AND IT WORKS, and I can now mount the iSCSI volume from the QNAP, format it macOS HFS+, and Lightroom sees this as a local drive, not a network volume. For accuracy sake - I am running the new QTS 4.3.5.

I am grateful to all the suggestions from this forum, and other forums on the web, that helped point me in the right direction. QNAP rocks.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4025
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: iscsi and Lightroom

Post by storageman » Mon Oct 01, 2018 4:47 pm

Bob Zelin wrote:Hi -
this is an old thread, and I understand Patrick Wilson is no longer with us. Very sad. He was cranky (like me) but he knew his stuff.
I have just been faced (in September 2018) with this exact problem, and while Adobe allows ALL the other Adobe CC programs to work over a network volume (like QNAP), the only program that cannot
easily work is Adobe Lightroom. You get errors that you cannot save a catalog to a network volume, etc. Well, it's 2018, and this is unacceptable to me. I don't give a ** what Adobe says you can and cannot
do.
As of September 2018, I created an iSCSI volume on the QNAP (it's the iSCSI target) and I used an iSCSI initiator program on my Mac (I am using a macOS 10.13 Sierra Mac). I was too cheap to pay for
Studio Network Solutions Global SAN iSCSI initiator ($89 dollars) or the ATTO Tech iSCSI initiator for OS X ($250) - so I found the old Small Tree iSCSI initiator which is free. This is only supported up until
Mac OS X 10.8, but to my shock and amazement, it loaded on macOS 10.13. AND IT WORKS, and I can now mount the iSCSI volume from the QNAP, format it macOS HFS+, and Lightroom sees this as a local drive, not a network volume. For accuracy sake - I am running the new QTS 4.3.5.

I am grateful to all the suggestions from this forum, and other forums on the web, that helped point me in the right direction. QNAP rocks.

Bob Zelin


Cheers Bob, interesting.
Apple are weird not having their own initiator.

Bob Zelin
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: iscsi and Lightroom

Post by Bob Zelin » Tue Oct 02, 2018 6:23 am

OH - if Apple could charge money on their App store for an iSCSI initiator, they would do it !
I think they are more concerned about getting people to use iCloud, then worry about local storage.
AND I was surprised to learn that Foxxconn purchased Thecus, which was a very small competitor of QNAP's.
So who knows what Apple is thinking about these days.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

Post Reply

Return to “iSCSI – Target & Virtual Disk”