QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
lv.onlythebrave
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 4:23 am

QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by lv.onlythebrave » Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:12 pm

Planning to upgrade my NAS system and getting new released 672N, anyone knows is i7 CPU upgrade possible on this one? Also looking at 472xt - if i go with this one, I will lose 2 bays and get thunderbolt
Price point is similar for both.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19672
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by dolbyman » Tue Oct 22, 2019 12:41 pm

dont think anyone here has this nas yet

but processor updates should work within same tdp specs as the original cpu

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... 0-ghz.html


thunderbolt is pretty limited on 4 spinning disks (speedwise)

lv.onlythebrave
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 4:23 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by lv.onlythebrave » Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:10 pm

I hope the processor is not soldered. Pretty new to qnap, migrating from syno. Also can you suggest which i7 processor would have same tdp specs? thnks

User avatar
rgarjr
Know my way around
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:47 am
Location: Los Angeles County
Contact:

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by rgarjr » Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:39 pm

lv.onlythebrave wrote:
Tue Oct 22, 2019 1:10 pm
I hope the processor is not soldered. Pretty new to qnap, migrating from syno. Also can you suggest which i7 processor would have same tdp specs? thnks
If I had that model, I would probably get the
i7-8700T
https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... 0-ghz.html

i7-8700 has a higher TDP, will definitely run warmer.
Last edited by rgarjr on Fri Oct 25, 2019 8:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

TS-1677x-1700 64GB Kingston HyperX 2666MHz | 4 x 860 EVO 500GB [RAID5] | Corsair SF600 | 3 x NF-A9 | NH-L12 with NF-A12x25 | 6 x NF-A6 | 4 x WD 10TB | QM2-4P-384 (4 x 1TB ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro M.2 [RAID5]) | Emulex Oce11102-NX
TVS-682-i7-6700K 64GB Kingston HyperX 2666MHz | 1 x 860 EVO 1TB | Corsair SF450 | 1 x NF-A8 | 4 x NF-A6 | NH-L12 with NF-A12x25| 1 x 250GB 860 EVO M.2 | Emulex Oce11102-NX
TVS-682-i7-7700 64GB Kingston HyperX 2666MHz | 1 x 860 EVO 1TB | Corsair SF450 | 1 x NF-A8 | 4 x NF-A6 | NH-L12 with NF-A12x25 | 1 x 250GB 860 EVO M.2 | Emulex Oce11102-NX
TVS-682-i7-7700 64GB Kingston HyperX 2666MHz | 1 x 860 EVO 1TB | Corsair SF450 | 1 x NF-A8 | 4 x NF-A6 | NH-L12 with NF-A12x25 | 1 x 2TB Seagate | 1 x 250GB 860 EVO M.2| Emulex Oce11102-NX

lv.onlythebrave
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2019 4:23 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by lv.onlythebrave » Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:21 am

thanks, ill try to get the 672N and go for this upgrade !. Anything I can do to keep the temp under control, hopefully it should not get too hot.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19672
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by dolbyman » Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:32 am

lv.onlythebrave wrote:
Thu Oct 24, 2019 4:21 am
thanks, ill try to get the 672N and go for this upgrade !. Anything I can do to keep the temp under control, hopefully it should not get too hot.
going for low TDP version and not taxing it too much .. you never specified why the default CPU is too weak for you

jeff.r
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:33 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by jeff.r » Wed Nov 06, 2019 2:13 am

I recently acquired the 672N and did 32G memory with the i7-8700T. Works great! Easy upgrade also. Just have your thermal paste ready to go...and it's three screws for the case cover, then four screws for the CPU heat sink. Drops right in...no issues.
QNAP TVS-672N - i7-8700T - 32GB Mem (Crucial) - QTS 4.4.1
- 4x WD Red 6TB RAID6
- 2x 970 EVO Plus 500GB NVMe M.2 RAID1 (Cache)
- APC SMT750C Smart-UPS

pimp-boy
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:20 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by pimp-boy » Tue Dec 03, 2019 8:24 am

Hi Jeff.R

I just purchased the TVS-472XT... Can you let me know the Crucial memory model you used to upgrade your 672?

Thanks!

Bbeal
Starting out
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:50 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by Bbeal » Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:24 am

jeff.r wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 2:13 am
I recently acquired the 672N and did 32G memory with the i7-8700T. Works great! Easy upgrade also. Just have your thermal paste ready to go...and it's three screws for the case cover, then four screws for the CPU heat sink. Drops right in...no issues.
Can you confirm or deny that the cpu will not use turbo boost / always stuck at 2.4 under any load? Im thinking of doing the same upgrade.

RichJacot
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:16 pm

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by RichJacot » Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:19 pm

Bbeal wrote:
Thu Feb 06, 2020 7:24 am
jeff.r wrote:
Wed Nov 06, 2019 2:13 am
I recently acquired the 672N and did 32G memory with the i7-8700T. Works great! Easy upgrade also. Just have your thermal paste ready to go...and it's three screws for the case cover, then four screws for the CPU heat sink. Drops right in...no issues.
Can you confirm or deny that the cpu will not use turbo boost / always stuck at 2.4 under any load? Im thinking of doing the same upgrade.
I would also be interested in this upgrade. CPU P/N?

Also, it appears to have been a bit since you did this upgrade. Any issues? How are your temps?
TVS-672N - 32GB - 4.4.2.1270 - Static volume - RAID5 - 5 x 4TB -- RW Cache - RAID1 - 2 x 500GB M.2 SSD
TS-453B - 16GB - 4.4.2.1270 - Static volume - RAID5 - 4 x 3TB

ntamu
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:20 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by ntamu » Sun Apr 26, 2020 2:48 am

Hi,

I bought the cpu Intel i7-8700t in ebay, model SR3WX 2.40GHZ to replace the i3 on my TVS-672N and it works great, normal temp ~33ºC all time, and doing Plex hardware transcoding 4k ~39º-40º, so I'm very happy :D , if you need more details or some test just let me know how to execute the test and I will answer you with the results.

regards,
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RichJacot
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:16 pm

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by RichJacot » Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:59 pm

Thank you!

I just got my 672N last week so I won't immediately be doing this upgrade but it will definitely be on my to-do list.
TVS-672N - 32GB - 4.4.2.1270 - Static volume - RAID5 - 5 x 4TB -- RW Cache - RAID1 - 2 x 500GB M.2 SSD
TS-453B - 16GB - 4.4.2.1270 - Static volume - RAID5 - 4 x 3TB

sunny1283
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:20 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by sunny1283 » Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:07 pm

Now the question is where to get 8700t for a good price...

ntamu
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 15, 2019 6:20 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by ntamu » Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:11 am

sunny1283 wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:07 pm
Now the question is where to get 8700t for a good price...
It seems that the 8700t is sold to OEM pc builders, so it's difficult find in retail computer stores, I bought the cpu in Ebay, the seller said that was extracted from a new pc to replace it with a better one, I paid for it 170€, so you could take that price as reference to buy or bid.

Regards,

sunny1283
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2019 10:20 am

Re: QNAP 672N CPU Upgrade

Post by sunny1283 » Tue Apr 28, 2020 6:05 am

ntamu wrote:
Tue Apr 28, 2020 12:11 am
sunny1283 wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 8:07 pm
Now the question is where to get 8700t for a good price...
It seems that the 8700t is sold to OEM pc builders, so it's difficult find in retail computer stores, I bought the cpu in Ebay, the seller said that was extracted from a new pc to replace it with a better one, I paid for it 170€, so you could take that price as reference to buy or bid.

Regards,
Thanks!

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”