mix size of hdd on nas

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
big277
Starting out
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 3:48 am

mix size of hdd on nas

Post by big277 » Mon Jun 29, 2020 6:22 pm

hello friends ,
today i have qnap 469L and inside ( 4 bay) - * 4 hdd of 3tb total 12TB
today all the hdd combind together in raid 5

i want to change on of the hdd to 12 TB and leave the other inside the nas ( 3* 3TB) + 12TB

1. can i use in this type - mix HDD ?
2. can i use it on raid 05 ?

tanks for the help

TheTruePhoenix
Starting out
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 9:01 am

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by TheTruePhoenix » Mon Jun 29, 2020 7:09 pm

If you use that with a RAID5 you wouldn't get any more space. I believe you can upgrade the drives one at a time from 3TB to 12 TB, but the space available won't be able to be expanded until you make all drives larger than the original 3tb one.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: mix size of hdd on nas

Post by dolbyman » Mon Jun 29, 2020 9:02 pm

also if your total space is 12TB , then your raid level is 0 not 5

on raid5 it would be closer to 9TB(*0.9)

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”