current speed 3Gbps no 6 Gbps like other drives

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
john3
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:57 am

current speed 3Gbps no 6 Gbps like other drives

Post by john3 » Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:45 am

I have 3 WD Red drives (WD40EFRX) setup as raid5 in a ts-453 pro when i select each drive and see the speed of each.. One is coming up as current speed 3Gbps max speed 6Gbps all other drives (WD40EFRX) as current speed 6Gbps - Max speed 6Gbps ?

User avatar
monellrt
Know my way around
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2014 2:42 am

Re: current speed 3Gbps no 6 Gbps like other drives

Post by monellrt » Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:13 am

What is the current firmware version of the drives and are they all the same? I am currently running 4 of those same drives setup as raid 5 in a TS-451 and everything matches with no issues all running at 6Gbps. My firmware is 82.00A82 and I have also done a rapid test on each of the drives.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43663
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: current speed 3Gbps no 6 Gbps like other drives

Post by schumaku » Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:46 am

It's an auto-negotiation thing - if anything goes wrong, the SATA does fall-back from 6 to 3 GB/s.

If the same returns on the next reboot, check the NAS Kernel output (# dmesg resp. # cat /mnt/HDA_ROOT/.logs/kmsg ) for any potentially related indications.

Regards,
-Kurt.

john3
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:57 am

Re: current speed 3Gbps no 6 Gbps like other drives

Post by john3 » Tue Nov 10, 2015 6:36 am

Thanks, for both those suggestions. The firmware is the same on all three, but I don't have it with me right now.

I did a reboot and still the same. I will check the NAS kernel output tonight, if I can find it..... :-)

Cheers!

John

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43663
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: current speed 3Gbps no 6 Gbps like other drives

Post by schumaku » Tue Nov 10, 2015 6:57 am

You can always install the Diagnostic Tool (App Center - All Apps ... Search for Diagnostic), run the Dump Log, download to your computer, and submit it along with a problem description (copy of your post), and a link to this thread on https://helpdesk.qnap.com/

Regards,
-Kurt.

User avatar
shadowsports
Know my way around
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:53 am
Location: Bay Area

Re: current speed 3Gbps no 6 Gbps like other drives

Post by shadowsports » Tue Dec 06, 2016 2:04 am

Great tool, Kurt. Thanks!
QNAP TVS-473e 4x 4TB WD REDs - RAID5 - 2x 500GB M.2 (Storage Pool) - 8GB RAM - FW 4.4.2.1320
QNAP TS-219P-II 4TB WD REDs - FW 4.3.3.1315 >>>> Both Protected By UPS <<<<
Z390 AORUS PRO (F10)\850w, 9900K, 32GB GSkill TriZ RGB - 16-18-18-38, RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra, 960 Pro_m.2, W10 1903
Z370-HD3P (F5)\750w, 8350K, 8GB LPX 3200 - 16-18-18-36, GTX 660 FTW, Intel SSD, W10 1803
Z97X-UD5H (F8)\Corsair RM850w, 4790K, 16GB Vengeance, GTX970 FTW SC 4GB ACX 2.0, 850 Pro's RAID0, W10 1803
Phone - Android 10
KaPOW!

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”