Page 2 of 3

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:22 am
by Iceman24
One last question. Like the kit mentioned above by Crucial, but in 4GB, I am ready to buy it.

There is a 1600Mhz version and a 1333Mhz version. I know the CPU only supports 1333Mhz, making the 1600Mhz pointless in comparison. The 1600Mhz one uses CL11, the 1333Mhz CL9. Would the faster RAM downclock the CL11 to CL9 or just the Mhz? I feel like if not, I'd be losing performance with the faster RAM. Or does it not matter enough from a performance perspective?

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Wed Jan 20, 2016 6:03 am
by Iceman24
Bump.

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 1:41 pm
by thegreatone
I'm a bit old to this thread but figured my question might be relevant to anyone who may see it: what would the practical purposes of upgrading the RAM on my TS-251+ be? Besides for running a VM, could I see any other performance increases? My main use of the NAS is as a Plex server and a file repository backup. Would the Plex streaming performance be improved? Or is the 2GB more than enough for Plex and I wouldn't see any performance increases anyway?

Thanks so much if you take the time to answer!

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:08 pm
by schumaku
Unless your NAS is swapping already based on the current process usage (read: is already short of memory), there won't be a major performance advantage.

Regards,
-Kurt.

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Fri Mar 18, 2016 4:50 am
by thegreatone
schumaku wrote:Unless your NAS is swapping already based on the current process usage (read: is already short of memory), there won't be a major performance advantage.

Regards,
-Kurt.


Thanks Kurt

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:16 pm
by pmcdunnough
What about running Plex or Kodi if the 251+ is connected to a TV? Would one notice a difference?

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 3:36 pm
by pmcdunnough
Would it be better to use the Crucial kit CT2KIT51264BF160B or 2 4GB Kingston KVR16LS11/4 modules? Kingston specifically says their memory is compatible while Crucial doesn't have any information on their site. Moreover, the Kingston memory is advertised as DDR3L while Crucial drops the L but does mention it elsewhere? The reason for upgrading the ram would be to allow the device to act as a NAS and attach it to a TV to use for Kodi and/or Plex. It works with 2 GB but I felt it might be more responsive with 8 GB.

Thanks... philip

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Sat Mar 26, 2016 9:16 pm
by schumaku
The advantage of more DRAM is when using many memory intensive processes so there will be much less swapping.

It's pretty much standard notebook memory - the brand does not matter, just the tech specs do. Of course, when going with Kingston, it's certainly not wrong.

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2016 4:08 pm
by wonderboii
Hi, mad_dog97:

What is your RAM memory model? Crucial part #?

Thank you for your help in advance.

wonderboii

mad_dog97 wrote:Here's one more. It's definitely recognizing the full 16GB, but I can't say for sure that it's able to use it.
Image

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Fri Apr 22, 2016 10:37 pm
by mad_dog97
wonderboii wrote:Hi, mad_dog97:

What is your RAM memory model? Crucial part #?

Thank you for your help in advance.

wonderboii



This is what I used (got it off Amazon):
Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3-1600 MT/s (PC3-12800) 204-Pin SODIMM Notebook Memory CT2KIT102464BF160B / CT2CP102464BF160B

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 12:19 am
by spile
I successfully upgrqaded my 251+ to 8GB using this memory:
2 x 204-Pin DDR3 PC3-12800 - Unbuffered - DDR3-1600Mhz - 1.5V - Non-ECC 4GB
I purchased it from Offtek and the total cost was £35.77

Installation was very straightforward just a couple of things to consider...
I found the Phillips screw heads rather an unusual size. Too me a while to find an appropriately sized driver so that i didn't end up damaging them.
I ended up removing the screws to the main board rather than the cage. No real problem but for reference the 4 cage screws lie inside the PCB ones.
Installing the second DIMM was no real problem, you just need to work your fingers around the slightly restricted space.

mall. They

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2016 1:11 am
by pmcdunnough
I used two 4GB Kingston KVR16LS11/4 since they support the ts251+ and Crucial does not for some odd reason. I didn't find the screws tricky but I did find installation of the 2nd memory stick to be really tricky. In fact I thought about only putting one memory stick in. There are these capacitors near the 2nd memory slot which made me quite nervous. Everything else is pretty simple but that 2nd slot was a real pain.

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 3:03 am
by rflsouza
I am migration my NAS and i bought the TS-251+ just to use 16GB memory! I see this post and i buy "Crucial CT2KIT102464BF160B 16GB DDR3-1600 Kit". It's working like a charm!

1+ user TS-251 + 16GB :)

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 9:16 am
by jkhsiao
I am about to purchase a TS-251+ w/ 2 GB RAM from Amazon & wanted to upgrade RAM. The QNAP specs say that 8 GB (2 x 4GB) is max , but it appears that people here have upgraded to 16 GB (2 x 8GB). Can the TS-251+ handle 16 GB RAM & will this void QNAP warranty?
Thanks

Re: RAM UPGRADE TS-251+

Posted: Fri Feb 03, 2017 10:03 pm
by ajcyeh
mad_dog97 wrote:Working perfectly so far.


It has been more than a year. Is your 16GB Crucial RAM still working for your TS-251+?

I have just found that Crucial website changed all its part number. See http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatible-upgrade-for/QNAP/ts-251-. Also comments under this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBcLsG_2838 reported anomalies with Crucial RAM.

Any has any updates?