Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Tue Jul 19, 2016 4:08 pm

I have a TS-859U+ running the latest firmware (4.2.1 build 20160601).

I would like to remove all disks and buy 6x8TB new WD RED disks, and then creating a new RAID 6 array.
This should give me a bit less than 32TB of useable storage.

But I'm reading in this forum that many models, including some TS-859, are limited to 16TB.

So my question are:
a) Does TS-859U+ support a RAID 6 array with 6x8TB disks giving me 32TB of storage ?
b) If yes, does TS-859U+ support online expension of the RAID6 when, in the future, I will add two extra disks ?

Thank you very much.

IBTB
Starting out
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:33 am

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by IBTB » Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:40 pm

Where have you read that?
That is only for older models than yours (as far as I know). When checking the compatibility list for your drive, the only note I see regarding 16TB limit is this:
(3TB & 4TB HDDs)
Not applicable to TS-509 Pro. TS-639 Pro does not support >16TB disk volume.

giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:36 pm

IBTB wrote:Where have you read that?

Unfortunately I can't find the post. It was an user answer/opinion and very vague, maybe unreliable. I googled for 30-40 minutes only accumulating a lot of confusion about >16TB support for both expansion and newly created array.
So I did this post to ask for confirmation.
IBTB wrote:That is only for older models than yours (as far as I know). When checking the compatibility list for your drive...

Please note that my QNAP, as reported by the web interface, is a TS-859U+, without "RP". It cannot be found on the compatibility list. Is it the same as TS-859U-RP+ ?

Now, provided that my TS-859U+ has 64 bit kernel and intel CPU

Code: Select all

uname -a
Linux qnap1 3.4.6 #1 SMP Wed Jun 1 13:16:53 CST 2016 x86_64 unknown


I think I can safely buy the new WD 8TB RED disks :D

Thank you

IBTB
Starting out
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:33 am

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by IBTB » Wed Jul 20, 2016 9:25 pm

What you read about 16TB support (both expansion and new arrays) is only for the units released up to the 639. Your 859 is newer model and should not be limited by the same restrictions.

So, as you say, it should be safe! :)

When it comes to the "RP", it is the same unit, with one extra powersupply (Redundant Powersupply), so you should use the same compatibility list when in need! :)

giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Fri Aug 12, 2016 2:34 am

After three weeks of data transfer, I can confirm you that TS-859U+ (firmware 4.2.1) does not support expansion above 16TB :twisted: :twisted:
Selezione_022.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 21779
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by dolbyman » Fri Aug 12, 2016 2:51 am

so the 859 is considered a CAT1 device now, but the creation of a new RAID group (wipe everything and start from scratch) should be possible with more than 16TB, just not the expansion

giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Fri Aug 12, 2016 2:54 am

Yes, I think I will try wipe and recreate the array, but it will take a lot of time to transfer 12TB of data out and then back in :(

giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 1:20 am

Ok, I have been able to create a new RAID6 array with 5x8TB disks. All seems fine, the bad news is that I should wait 16 days for a full RAID6 array resync.

So, in TS-859U+ expansion above 16TB is not permitted, but a new RAID6 larger than 16TB can be created.

Code: Select all

[~] # df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
 [...]
/dev/md0                 21.7T    203.2M     21.7T   0% /share/MD0_DATA
[~] # cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [linear] [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4] [multipath]
md0 : active raid6 sde3[4] sdd3[3] sdc3[2] sdb3[1] sda3[0]
       23437372608 blocks super 1.0 level 6, 64k chunk, algorithm 2 [5/5] [UUUUU]
       [>....................]  resync =  0.0% (230016/7812457536) finish=23751.6min speed=5481K/sec
      

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1946
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by Spider99 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:15 am

You can speed up the raid rebuild considerably

Code: Select all

cat /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_max
#you will get a figure similar to this
200000

cat /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_min
#ditto
5000

you can speed it up though

Code: Select all

echo 50000 > /proc/sys/dev/raid/speed_limit_min


the results are applied instantly and if you run mdstat again you should see an increase - might take a minute or two to settle at a new figure

you can keep upping the value until it has no effect or you need to up the upper limit if necessary

you are not going to break anything it will max out at what the disks are capable of.

You may find that the speed increases over time on a raid with data especially when it moves into the “free” space also the point on the disk being written to will also have an effect i.e. outer part of disk is faster than the centre.
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:26 am

Thank you Spider99!
I checked again /proc/mdstat after 1 hour of work, before changing speed_limit_min, and finish dropped to 3400mins (speed 36MB/sec) without changing speed_limit_min.
Now I put 50000 to speed_limit_min, but it seems I have hit some hardware speed limit of "finish=3540.8min speed=35945K/sec" (48 hours to complete, is better than 16 days :) :)
Thank you again.

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1946
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by Spider99 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 3:40 am

move it up to 100000+ and when it can it will increase speed as it moves to different parts of the disk - i usually set mine at 150k

on my lowly 459 i can get 90MB/s+
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 5:13 pm

After a full night, it seems that the maximum speed is limited to 36MB/sec by the hardware :(

User avatar
Spider99
Experience counts
Posts: 1946
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 11:14 pm
Location: UK

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by Spider99 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 6:45 pm

hmm sounds low that to me

if you load the qnap diagnostic tool from the app centre what speeds do your hdd's give you using their tests
Tim

TS-853A(16GB): - 4.3.4.0483 - Static volume - Raid5 - 8 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
Windows Server + StableBit Drivepool and Scanner ~115 TB Backup Server
TS-412 & TS-459 Pro II: Retired
Clients: 3 x Windows 10 Pro(64bit)

giox969
Starting out
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2015 9:35 pm

Re: Does TS-859U+ supports more than 16TB RAID6 ?

Post by giox969 » Sat Sep 03, 2016 7:55 pm

Spider99, you are a huge resource for me :) I didn't even know of the qnap diagnostic tool. Thank you.
The speed reported by the tool, after lowering speed_limit_min to 2000... remember that a rebuild is in progress, ranges from 125 to 133MB/sec on the 5 8TB hard disks. On the last three slots I have older 2TB disks that are a bit less performant: 100MB/sec, but they are not involved on the reconstruction.
I will wait patiently: this NAS is dedicated to store old backups (is a 2nd level backup of live data of a fileserver), so speed is not very important :)

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”