QNAP RAM Recommendations

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by Trexx » Tue Nov 06, 2018 10:34 am

It’s not Qnap being “picky”, it’s more related to the Ryzen performance requirements. When Ryzen chips first came out it was even worse.


Think of like you bought a Corvette but you don’t want to put premium gas in it. And then are mad when the engine knocks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

caffecoffee
Starting out
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 7:20 pm

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by caffecoffee » Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:38 pm

^ or you shelled out for a Corvette and have no money left for gas. ;p

i think it is just about using as much as i can of the existing RAM where possible, its it is going into the trash eventually..

My drives are 4,4,2,2,2,2TB - i really should upgrade to all 4TB else i don't make full use of the drives and they age and poop. just don't want to throw away HDD unnecessarily.

User avatar
shadowsports
Know my way around
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:53 am
Location: Bay Area

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by shadowsports » Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:22 am

I give up. (for now at least)
I've purchased 3 different RAM kits... 24GB installed and detected initially (23.5 useable). Then I swapped identical boxes (473e to 473e) under warranty. Am now using Kingston Technology HyperX Impact 16GB RAM DDR4 2133 HX421S13IBK2/16 with 8GB of the stock RAM and while I have 24 GB of RAM detected, only 11.4GB is usable. I have no idea anymore. Has to be the OS post migration. This thing choked so hard after I moved the disks. I'm 100% stable with $hit for memory.

Stock RAM in slots 1, 3.. New RAM in 2, 4 (good stuff 2133Mhz and CL13)

I guess I have one last resort... Buy another disk and bring the system up with it and see how much memory I have. It not like I can contact support for assistance... and no way am I going to pay $500 for 16GB of "QNAP" (Kingston) RAM. I would have bought a 6 bay unit for that amount of money. I did the math, I've dropped $1700 on this thing, not to mention the time I had to spend swapping. Is this my punishment for buying an AMD based QNAP?
QNAP TVS-473e 4x 4TB WD REDs - RAID5 - 2x 500GB M.2 (Storage Pool) - 8GB RAM - FW 4.3.6.0895
QNAP TS-219P-II 4TB WD REDs - FW 4.3.3.0967
Z97X-UD5H(F8)\Corsair RM850w, 4790K, 16GB Vengeance, GTX970 FTW SC 4GB ACX 2.0, 850 Pro's RAID0, W10 1803
Z370-HD3P(F5)\750w, 8350K, 8GB LPX 3200 - 16-18-18-36, GTX 660 FTW, Intel SSD, W10 1803
Phone - Android "Pie"
KaPOW!

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by Trexx » Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:25 am

shadowsports wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:22 am
I give up. (for now at least)
I've purchased 3 different RAM kits... 24GB installed and detected initially (23.5 useable). Then I swapped identical boxes (473e to 473e) under warranty. Am now using Kingston Technology HyperX Impact 16GB RAM DDR4 2133 HX421S13IBK2/16 with 8GB of the stock RAM and while I have 24 GB of RAM detected, only 11.4GB is usable. I have no idea anymore. Has to be the OS post migration. This thing choked so hard after I moved the disks. I'm 100% stable with $hit for memory.

Stock RAM in slots 1, 3.. New RAM in 2, 4 (good stuff 2133Mhz and CL13)

I guess I have one last resort... Buy another disk and bring the system up with it and see how much memory I have. It not like I can contact support for assistance... and no way am I going to pay $500 for 16GB of "QNAP" (Kingston) RAM. I would have bought a 6 bay unit for that amount of money. I did the math, I've dropped $1700 on this thing, not to mention the time I had to spend swapping. Is this my punishment for buying an AMD based QNAP?
First I would boot with just the HyperX memory by itself and get the 16GB working (both bios & QTS). I have had occasionally where it would take a 2nd reboot for bios to settle in correctly re: memory/QTS reporting same value. Likely just some auto-detect tweaks. Once that is working, then add the 2nd pair of DIMMS (QNAP factory).
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by Trexx » Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:29 am

caffecoffee wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 3:38 pm
^ or you shelled out for a Corvette and have no money left for gas. ;p

i think it is just about using as much as i can of the existing RAM where possible, its it is going into the trash eventually..

My drives are 4,4,2,2,2,2TB - i really should upgrade to all 4TB else i don't make full use of the drives and they age and poop. just don't want to throw away HDD unnecessarily.
Well it is COLD and snowy where I am, so you save gas by leaving the car in the garage until summer anyway :)

As for HDDs, I have been getting these 4TB drives and had pretty good luck with them overall.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B079S34BSS

I would just make sure and do a full bad block check on the drives when you get them and return any bad ones to Amazon right away.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
shadowsports
Know my way around
Posts: 207
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 7:53 am
Location: Bay Area

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by shadowsports » Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:24 pm

Trexx wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:25 am

First I would boot with just the HyperX memory by itself and get the 16GB working (both bios & QTS). I have had occasionally where it would take a 2nd reboot for bios to settle in correctly re: memory/QTS reporting same value. Likely just some auto-detect tweaks. Once that is working, then add the 2nd pair of DIMMS (QNAP factory).
Trexx,
Thanks for the advice. I'll take things apart again this weekend (or sooner) and report back.

I also want to second your advice regarding a bad block check on new disks. I do this every time I put a NAS together for myself or someone else. Worth the extra effort and saves time in the long run.

Thanks,

Rick
QNAP TVS-473e 4x 4TB WD REDs - RAID5 - 2x 500GB M.2 (Storage Pool) - 8GB RAM - FW 4.3.6.0895
QNAP TS-219P-II 4TB WD REDs - FW 4.3.3.0967
Z97X-UD5H(F8)\Corsair RM850w, 4790K, 16GB Vengeance, GTX970 FTW SC 4GB ACX 2.0, 850 Pro's RAID0, W10 1803
Z370-HD3P(F5)\750w, 8350K, 8GB LPX 3200 - 16-18-18-36, GTX 660 FTW, Intel SSD, W10 1803
Phone - Android "Pie"
KaPOW!

caffecoffee
Starting out
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun May 27, 2018 7:20 pm

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by caffecoffee » Thu Nov 29, 2018 6:36 pm

Confirmed 2x16GB RAM Kingston FURY works with standard RAM (2x4GB) for TS877


FURY Memory Black - 16GB Module - DDR4 2400MHz CL15 DIMM Part Number: HX424C15FB/16
Specs: DDR4 , 2400MHz , CL15 , 1.2V , Unbuffered ,Timings: 2400MHz, 15-15-15, 1.2V

agentkocicka
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 1:39 pm

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by agentkocicka » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:14 pm

Hello everybody, I have got my first qnap NAS, TB453Be-2g, but I want to upgrade to 8 gb, because 2 is really low. But I can not find any list of supported RAM memories, can you help me? Can I buy non qnap memories? For example Crucial?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4980
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by storageman » Thu Nov 29, 2018 7:51 pm

Crucial CT51264BF186DJ will work

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14838
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by dolbyman » Fri Nov 30, 2018 1:28 am

QNAP TVS-951X

upgraded original RAM with
Crucial 8GB Single DDR4 2400 MT/S (PC4-19200) CT8G4SFS824A
(2GB+8GB)


testing it up and down for 2 days now .. seems stable

c3apollyon
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Aug 19, 2018 7:25 am

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by c3apollyon » Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:02 pm

Can anyone comment on whether I should expect these DIMMs to work. They're available on Amazon.CA which is helpful as I'm in Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/Crucial-Single-PC ... LUSIE?th=1

Also - any tips on Dual Rank vs Single?

I'm upgrading a TVS-682 that came with the default 2 x 4GB (Transcend branded I think).

User avatar
axgillette
Starting out
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:54 pm

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by axgillette » Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:30 pm

Trexx wrote:
Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:45 pm
Flagator - I, and others, have had good results with these DIMMs on the x73. Kingston Technology HyperX Impact 16GB RAM DDR4 2133 HX421S13IBK2/16

They worked fine with the system memory. Amazon doesn't have the kits in stock right now, but should work from any reseller. Don't worry about DDR4 2400 as when you use the 4 DIMMs, the system won't run at that speed anyway.

The factory DIMMs are 2133 btw.
So these might work on the TVS-673e nas units?
El Gordo Tejano

Model: TVS-673e FW: 4.3.6.x
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by Trexx » Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:00 am

axgillette wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:30 pm
Trexx wrote:
Wed Jan 17, 2018 9:45 pm
Flagator - I, and others, have had good results with these DIMMs on the x73. Kingston Technology HyperX Impact 16GB RAM DDR4 2133 HX421S13IBK2/16

They worked fine with the system memory. Amazon doesn't have the kits in stock right now, but should work from any reseller. Don't worry about DDR4 2400 as when you use the 4 DIMMs, the system won't run at that speed anyway.

The factory DIMMs are 2133 btw.
So these might work on the TVS-673e nas units?
They should. The x73 & x73e are basically the same NAS with some minor changes in terms of included accessories/front ports, etc.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
axgillette
Starting out
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 11:54 pm

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by axgillette » Tue Feb 05, 2019 12:21 am

axgillette wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 11:30 pm
They should. The x73 & x73e are basically the same NAS with some minor changes in terms of included accessories/front ports, etc.
Well, that is music to my ears and easy on the pocket book too. Just ordered 4 10TB drives for this NAS and just needed to not go over board on RAM. lol. Thanks for the info.
El Gordo Tejano

Model: TVS-673e FW: 4.3.6.x
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4

WesleyNL
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:16 am

Re: QNAP RAM Recommendations

Post by WesleyNL » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:30 am

i use g.skill ripjaws and it is working fine tbh , not to expansinve either, i wouldnt trust brands that used to make badcd/dvds verbatim, i had alot bad once , if want trusable memory get kingston,corsair,g.skill
NAS: QNAP TS-673
Firmware: 4.3.6.1050
HDD: 4x WD RED 10TB (WD100EFAX) (Raid 5)
HDD: 2x WD RED 2TB (WD20EFRX) (Q-Tier)
M.2 SSD:2x 2TB WD Blue 3D Nand (WDS200T2B0B)
Memory: 2 Sets of G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4 SODIMM 8GB 2x4GB 2400MHz

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”