Is it possible to use TS-453Be (TS-453B, TS-453BT3) with 16GB Ram?

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
User avatar
saush
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:15 pm
Location: India

Re: Is it possible to use TS-453Be (TS-453B, TS-453BT3) with 16GB Ram?

Post by saush » Sun Apr 11, 2021 8:59 pm

Hello,
Today I added a HyperX Impact 8GB 1866MHz DDR3L CL11 1.35V RAM (HX318LS11IB/8) to my TS-453Be which already had a 4GB ADATA 1866MHz DIMM installed. It now shows 12GB usable under System Status and the box has been stable so far. Will monitor for a week to make sure all the scheduled and automated tasks run properly and the system is stable before giving final verdict.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Saush
Qnap TS-453Be, 4x4TB Seagate Ironwolf Pro, 12 GB RAM

User avatar
saush
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2019 5:15 pm
Location: India

Re: Is it possible to use TS-453Be (TS-453B, TS-453BT3) with 16GB Ram?

Post by saush » Tue Apr 20, 2021 11:55 pm

saush wrote:
Sun Apr 11, 2021 8:59 pm
Hello,
Today I added a HyperX Impact 8GB 1866MHz DDR3L CL11 1.35V RAM (HX318LS11IB/8) to my TS-453Be which already had a 4GB ADATA 1866MHz DIMM installed. It now shows 12GB usable under System Status and the box has been stable so far. Will monitor for a week to make sure all the scheduled and automated tasks run properly and the system is stable before giving final verdict.
20th Apr 2021
Been more than a week now and the Qnap NAS is stable with no reboots or erratic behaviour. All scheduled tasks ran normally with no performance impact. Kindly note that you will only see the benefit of more RAM during high memory utilization activities like AV Scan or Media thumbnail generation to name a couple. Also if you plan to run containers/VM then the higher RAM availability will help.
Saush
Qnap TS-453Be, 4x4TB Seagate Ironwolf Pro, 12 GB RAM

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”