What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Sat Aug 17, 2019 8:26 pm

Looking at getting The TS-677 or 777 when someone gets back to me with the 20% off deal price and location where I can buy one.

The 677 has 8 and 777 has 16g ram
The passmarks are close so I may save some bucks and get the 677.

1. Can Ram size be mixed e.g. with the 677 i have 2x4 onboard
Can i buy 2x8 to get 24gb or I must get another 2x4 to reach 16gb
Or 4x8 to get 32.

2. What Brand ?
Can I mix the onboard with another brand
e.g. Onboard ram 2x4 then 2x8 HyperX
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7611
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:04 pm

16gb crucial ddr4 that was listed on the crucial compatibility for ts-877
https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/compatib ... NAP/ts-877

unfortunately it was not the 2 stick kit, yet it still managed to work fine.

got it working in dual channel mode. did the memtest no issues, running for a month with no crashes whatsoever.


initially i got the kingston hyperx fury black 16gb, but i experience random reboot. but i suspect this was unrelated to them ram itself, because i later identified the reason to being qts 4.4.1 issues.

based on that, i feel that the hyperx fury black (which trex even uses) is probably better. it even comes with a nice black heatsink on it.

I know that people say that heatsink on ram is overkill, but i wonder when doing the stress test i did notice the temp rising, although not to critical levels. so maybe the heatsink does give some peace of mind perhaps? also it felt more solid to hold to insert into the slot without having to accidentally touch the sensitive parts of the ram (i obviously held it on the sides as instructed in the youtube install guides).


8gb felt like the bare minimum i would recommend. 16gb for some basic vm usage (i split it 8gb for nas, and 8gb for the win10 vm). if you need more, then get more ram capacity if you want to pay for it.

The prices are being jacked up due to the recent ram/nand incident :S so maybe buy now before prices get worse.



i bought from crucial since they clearly guarantee compatibility, in case ram has issues. because qnap is not gonna help with that since it's not ram bought from their own store. i haven't used the crucial rma yet, but now having checked reddit, it doesn't sound good, they seem quite strict in their rma process.

Back when i had an issue with my corsair ram, i asked for help to replace (for my pc), and they sent a replacement for free without questions, also they upgraded my capacity size to boot. I initially checked for corsair first, but they don't maintain a compatibility list for qnap unlike crucial and kingston afaik.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:47 am

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:04 pm
Thanks Moogle.

What exact models did you get for The Hyperx and the Crucial.
And can you mix with the standard on board RAM then add 2x8 or 2x16 of another brand!!

On another subject - what is your take the 2600 and 2700 allegedly in the latest X77 series Are they there ? If so the Qnap website does not acknowlege it!
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7611
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:52 pm

spikemixture wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:47 am
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:04 pm
Thanks Moogle.

What exact models did you get for The Hyperx and the Crucial.
And can you mix with the standard on board RAM then add 2x8 or 2x16 of another brand!!

On another subject - what is your take the 2600 and 2700 allegedly in the latest X77 series Are they there ? If so the Qnap website does not acknowlege it!
this is what i'm using
https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ts-877/CT12584787


but i would recommend going for the KIT version, so less chance of issues which are these
https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ts-877/CT12584776

fortunately i did not have problems with the single sticks despite not being a kit pair. Seems to be fine in dual channel mode.


The kingston i tried was this

Code: Select all

Kingston Technology HyperX Fury Black 8GB 2666MHz DDR4 CL16 DIMM 1Rx8 (HX426C16FB2/8)

but the dual kit (2 sticks pair) version i wanted was this

Code: Select all

HyperX Kingston Technology Fury Black 16GB 2666MHz DDR4 CL16 DIMM Kit of 2 1Rx8 (HX426C16FB2K2/16)

these kingston don't appear in the kingston compatibility list for the ts-877, but trexx uses the 32gb version of this without issue. so although i encountered random reboot, i suspect it was less to do with the ram, but more related to qts 4.4.1 (because the same issue occurred even with the original ram). I unfortunately did not test the ram with 4.3.6 to confirm this for the kingston because i did not suspect at the time.


as for news on x77 refresh, i don't know. I only went by what they publicaly stated, which was at the previous computex in their product specification which some observant viewers noticed, and also other people inquiring with their sales about it.

i'm using the 1st gen ryzen, but i'm not too bothered by this. since there is always something new, and based on what i saw from reviewers, the difference isn't earth shattering. but if i were a new buyer at this time, i may too have inquired about this refresh. Not sure about the status on that now :' u could try asking qnap sales as they should know.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:26 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:52 pm
spikemixture wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:47 am
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:04 pm
Thanks Moogle.

What exact models did you get for The Hyperx and the Crucial.
And can you mix with the standard on board RAM then add 2x8 or 2x16 of another brand!!

On another subject - what is your take the 2600 and 2700 allegedly in the latest X77 series Are they there ? If so the Qnap website does not acknowlege it!
this is what i'm using
https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ts-877/CT12584787


but i would recommend going for the KIT version, so less chance of issues which are these
https://www.crucial.com/usa/en/ts-877/CT12584776

fortunately i did not have problems with the single sticks despite not being a kit pair. Seems to be fine in dual channel mode.


The kingston i tried was this

Code: Select all

Kingston Technology HyperX Fury Black 8GB 2666MHz DDR4 CL16 DIMM 1Rx8 (HX426C16FB2/8)

but the dual kit (2 sticks pair) version i wanted was this

Code: Select all

HyperX Kingston Technology Fury Black 16GB 2666MHz DDR4 CL16 DIMM Kit of 2 1Rx8 (HX426C16FB2K2/16)

these kingston don't appear in the kingston compatibility list for the ts-877, but trexx uses the 32gb version of this without issue. so although i encountered random reboot, i suspect it was less to do with the ram, but more related to qts 4.4.1 (because the same issue occurred even with the original ram). I unfortunately did not test the ram with 4.3.6 to confirm this for the kingston because i did not suspect at the time.


as for news on x77 refresh, i don't know. I only went by what they publicaly stated, which was at the previous computex in their product specification which some observant viewers noticed, and also other people inquiring with their sales about it.

i'm using the 1st gen ryzen, but i'm not too bothered by this. since there is always something new, and based on what i saw from reviewers, the difference isn't earth shattering. but if i were a new buyer at this time, i may too have inquired about this refresh. Not sure about the status on that now :' u could try asking qnap sales as they should know.
THanks again Moogle,

And can you mix with the standard on board RAM then add 2x8 or 2x16 of another brand!!

And I notice all the ones mentioned are 2666MHZ wheres as Qnap are 2400 !
Is this where mixing might have an issue
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7611
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:19 pm

mixing? i'm not mixing the ram... so i don't know.
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:49 pm

Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 2:19 pm
mixing? i'm not mixing the ram... so i don't know.
So you took out the ram that came in the box and added totally new sticks ?

1. What I am trying to determine is can I just add 2x8 or 2x16gb to the spare 2 slots on the motherboard.
So I start with 2x4 (or 2x8 depending on model) then add new ram 2x8 and get 24gb or 32gb (depending on the model) ?

2. Does the new Ram and the Qnap ram have to be the same speed?
2400 I think is Qnap Ram's speed

3. Some ram do not mention pins others 260 and 288
I am presuming 288 pins is the number for ram in the 1277
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

Lufrutta
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:21 am

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by Lufrutta » Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:40 am

I bought the recommended RAM from Kingston 4 x 16GB (KVR24N17D8/16). But it does not work. The TS-877 recognizes only 32GB as usable, but shows all 4 slots as stocked with 16GB. Before I used 4 x 8GB. That worked ok. A mix of 16GB and 8GB is also not working. I opened a ticket an after severall test with the QNAP support I got the final answer:

"I am sorry to inform you that we did not test the compatibility of thi Kingston module (KVR24N17D8/16), thus we cannot guarantee this module will work correctly on our NAS. For the verified compatible RAM module for TS-877, please check the "Optional Accessories" on this link: https://www.qnap.com/en/product/ts-877. Thank you."

I did not find the compatible RAM modules on this website... completely unsatisfactory...

:?:

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:03 am

Lufrutta wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 1:40 am
I bought the recommended RAM from Kingston 4 x 16GB (KVR24N17D8/16). But it does not work. The TS-877 recognizes only 32GB as usable, but shows all 4 slots as stocked with 16GB. Before I used 4 x 8GB. That worked ok. A mix of 16GB and 8GB is also not working. I opened a ticket an after severall test with the QNAP support I got the final answer:

"I am sorry to inform you that we did not test the compatibility of thi Kingston module (KVR24N17D8/16), thus we cannot guarantee this module will work correctly on our NAS. For the verified compatible RAM module for TS-877, please check the "Optional Accessories" on this link: https://www.qnap.com/en/product/ts-877. Thank you."

I did not find the compatible RAM modules on this website... completely unsatisfactory...

:?:
Thanks fro the reply.
It appears we are to accept that Qnap will not recommend any RAM except their own very expensive sticks.
This is why I am asking my questions.
You said -
"Before I used 4 x 8GB. That worked OK " What were they ? Original , Kingston, 2 of each?

I am presuming you had 2x4gb that came with the BOX.
Have you tried them with another 2x8 or 2 x16g ? to get 24g or 40g.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Tue Aug 27, 2019 7:04 pm

1111 views in 10 days and 2 have changed/added ram to their x77.

I do not get it!
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5158
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by Toxic17 » Tue Aug 27, 2019 10:38 pm

1110 of those views could be web crawlers. :lol:
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.4.1.1064 • TVS-463-16GB 4.4.1.1064 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.0998 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G •
QPKG's: TwonkyServer 8.51 • Apache73 • QSonarr 3.0.1.503 • QNBZGet 21.0 • phpMyAdmin 4.9.0.1 • Qmono 5.20.1.19 • McAfee 2.2.1 • Lychee 3.2.15 • HBS 3.0.190802 • LEgo v3.0.0
Network: VM Hub 3.0 <500/35> • UniFi USG Pro 4 • UniFi USW-16-150W • UniFi USW-8-60W • UniFi CloudKey Gen2+• UniFi G3-Flex • UAP AC Pro • UAP AC Lite • SLM2008 • Dell 7050 MFF •

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4907
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by Trexx » Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:37 am

Hmmm crawl or run???? I would try verifying bios settings and make sure DIMMs are seated good. Also good have a flakey dimm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Wed Aug 28, 2019 2:35 pm

Trexx wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:37 am
Hmmm crawl or run???? I would try verifying bios settings and make sure DIMMs are seated good. Also good have a flakey dimm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mmmmmm wrong post?
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4907
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by Trexx » Thu Aug 29, 2019 6:35 am

spikemixture wrote:
Trexx wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:37 am
Hmmm crawl or run???? I would try verifying bios settings and make sure DIMMs are seated good. Also good have a flakey dimm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mmmmmm wrong post?
No was related to Lufrattas post above toxics.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 692
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: What Ram did you upgrade to - in your TS-x77?

Post by spikemixture » Thu Aug 29, 2019 10:52 am

Trexx wrote:
Thu Aug 29, 2019 6:35 am
spikemixture wrote:
Trexx wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 6:37 am
Hmmm crawl or run???? I would try verifying bios settings and make sure DIMMs are seated good. Also good have a flakey dimm.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mmmmmm wrong post?
No was related to Lufrattas post above toxics.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Before you (or anybody....) upgraded to the 64GB of fury did u try mixing the the original with 2 new sticks.
I have ordered the 1277-1700 which has 16gb - I would like to end up with 32gb so buying 2x8 would be a less expensive option that buying 4x8 or 2x16.
Qnap TS-1277 1700 - 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid 5
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 - 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 WD Red - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
Buffalo LinkStation - 2x2TB WD
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated as soon as it's available.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”