Expand 10GBE ports

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
cjohnson66
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:27 pm

Expand 10GBE ports

Post by cjohnson66 » Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:07 pm

Hi all,

I'm looking to connect more macs to my QNAS TVS-1282T. I've used up both 10GBE ports and one Thunderbolt.

As I see it, my options are:
1. Buying a 10GBE switch with link aggregation capabilities (maybe the Netgear XS708E)
2. Buying a QNAP LAN-10G2T-X550 2-Port Network Interface Card which takes advantage of the PCIe Gen3 slots.

Do you have any thoughts on which would yield greater speeds?

Thanks for any help,

Charlie

P3R
Guru
Posts: 10923
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by P3R » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:32 am

cjohnson66 wrote:
Tue Sep 03, 2019 11:07 pm
1. Buying a 10GBE switch with link aggregation capabilities (maybe the Netgear XS708E)
2. Buying a QNAP LAN-10G2T-X550 2-Port Network Interface Card which takes advantage of the PCIe Gen3 slots.

Do you have any thoughts on which would yield greater speeds?
I don't think you'll notice any difference.

Back-to-back network connections is a cheap way to buy in to faster technology but doing it on a large scale, I'd say is shortsighted and unflexible. If you spend money on overdoing it with 10 GbE ports in the NAS today that will probably be wasted once you move to a 10 GbE switch, which should be the end goal anyway.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 590
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by Bob Zelin » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:37 am

don't get the XS708E - get the XS708T (or larger XS712T, XS716T, etc.)
You will be much happier with this purchase. If you do not listen to me, and still want to get the XS708E, make sure it's the XS708Ev2, and not the original, because that was a really terrible product.

In summary, with the XS708T 8 port switch, if you create the LAG for the QNAP, that will allow you to connect up to 6 computers via 10G to the QNAP.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by aarbee » Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:47 am

I did read that about the 708E on several spots as well.
@Bob
Have you experience with the EM series? Like the XS512EM?
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

P3R
Guru
Posts: 10923
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 1:39 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden (UTC+01:00)

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by P3R » Wed Sep 04, 2019 3:01 am

Bob Zelin wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 2:37 am
don't get the XS708E - get the XS708T (or larger XS712T, XS716T, etc.)
I thought about writing the same thing but didn't as I have no personal experience with the E-models. I have a XS712T and that's a solid product.
RAID have never ever been a replacement for backups. Without backups on a different system (preferably placed at another site), you will eventually lose data!

A non-RAID configuration (including RAID 0, which isn't really RAID) with a backup on a separate media protects your data far better than any RAID-volume without backup.

All data storage consists of both the primary storage and the backups. It's your money and your data, spend the storage budget wisely or pay with your data!

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 590
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by Bob Zelin » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:21 am

I unfortunately have lots of experience with "everyone's" cheapo products. The XS708E and XS712E were terrible products from Netgear. But then, products like the QNAP TS-831x (and TS-832x) are terrible too - and Synology is just as guilty. The XS-7xxT series (from 8 port to 48 port) are fantastic products, and a price point that just kills the competition. Fully managed, fully supports jumbo frames, LACP and flow control.
I think that QNAP is "missing the boat" by not making a competing series of switches. Other companies, like Buffalo (that I have not tried) make MANAGED small 8 and 12 port switches. The QNAP QSW-1208-8C is great for an entry level product, but for a few dollars more, you can get the XS708T from Netgear - which is what I try to push my clients to get. And of course, for larger switches (12 port, 16, 24, 48) - QNAP has no current solution - so I am hoping for something to show up in 2020. When I see QNAP coming out with products that are the 5G series of the TVS-872XT - I question - "why would they do this". But a better QNAP switch - well, that is a no brainer for me. At least for my client base.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by aarbee » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:47 am

Sorry, I had forgotten to add a link to the XS512EM.
https://www.netgear.com/business/produc ... -techspecs

It is about the same price as the 708T, Which I like, from what I read. But because my cabling is cat 5e, over 25 feet, I thought it go down a bit to 5GB over that distance, and that the XS512EM would be a better choice.
I could not read much about that model.
Else I stick to the 708T.
Thanks anyway.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

cjohnson66
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:27 pm

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by cjohnson66 » Wed Sep 04, 2019 8:15 pm

Thanks all, really useful. Does anyone have experience with the Qnap switches like the QSW-1208-8C? Similar price and ports etc.

https://www.qnap.com/en/product/qsw-1208-8c

Bob Zelin
Been there, done that
Posts: 590
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:55 am
Location: Orlando, FL.
Contact:

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by Bob Zelin » Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:56 am

Hi C Johnson 66 -
yes, I have extensive experience with the QSW-1208-8C. This is an UNMANAGED plug and play 10G switch with eight 10Gbase-T ports and twelve SFP+ 10G ports (eight are shared).
It is fully unmanaged, which means no monitoring of ports, no static IP setup, no LACP, no flow control. It DOES support Jumbo Frames (MTU9000). I use it in my "cheapie" installations, when they don't want to
spend the extra $100 bucks for the Netgear XS708T.

As for RobB that says "because my cabling is cat5e over 25'" - this is 2019. Run some CHEAP Cat 6 cabling, and you will have no issues. Exactly what is the problem. A 50' Cat 6a cable at B&H Photo is 10 or 11 dollars !
How can this limitation make a decision for you to not have full 10G speeds ?

The XS512EM from Negear is $799 US. If you need 12 ports - well, this is certainly $200 cheaper than the XS712Tv2, but it is MORE money than the XS708T (which is only eight ports).

I guess I am old - but what I am amazed by - is that professionals that do this for a living - I observe that in 2019, EVERY PENNY becomes important, and if someone can save $100 or $200 bucks on a different model,
they will do so. I understand this, if this is a hobby - but exactly what "hobbyist" needs 10G at home ? In a professional environment, if $200 is the difference between staying in business or going out of business -
well, I think there are job openings at Home Depot.

Bob Zelin
Bob Zelin / Rescue 1, Inc.
http://www.bobzelin.com

User avatar
aarbee
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 4:54 am

Re: Expand 10GBE ports

Post by aarbee » Thu Sep 05, 2019 9:07 am

The price of the cabling is not the issue.
Moving heavy furnuture is. Especially on my own.
Where I could I had cat 5, replaced by 6.

My company does not rely on 10GBe, but I personally would like to experiment with it. I need 9-10 ethernetports on a switch.

Bob, your answer is well appreciated.
Friendly Greetings,

RobB

Model: TvS-673 40GB (2*32+2*4) - 20170215
Disks Raid 6: 2.5" 4x WD red 1TB active, 2 spare(nasware2/Nasware3)
Cache: Cache SSD: Crucial M.2 275GB 2x
UPS: Back-UPS Pro BR900G-GR
---
Model: TS-239 PRO II - Raid 1: 2x WD Red 4TB
Model: TS-219P II+ - Raid 1: 2x HGST Deskstar-nas 3TB

Reserve 1x HGST Deskstar-nas 4TB
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Media Boxe: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My it weblog ( http://www.nononsensecomputer.nl

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”