Page 1 of 1

Qtier issue with TS-473

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:12 pm
by pingjockey
I currently have a single storage pool with qtier enabled, 4 x 8 TB HDD's in raid 5 and 2 x 480GB SATA M.2 drives raid 1. The pool has two thick volumes and a block based Iscsi lun.

Yesterday, while attempting to format an EXTERNAL USB HDD one of the members of the RAID 1 array became disconnected from the array. I attempted to resync and then to add back to the raid array but was unable to do.

I then attempted to remove the qtier from the storage pool but was unable to do so.

Both of the m.2 ssd's show as functional but I am not sure why I can't add the member back to the array or remove qtier from the storage pool.

I know that qtier will allow you to remove a SSD array from the storage pool assuming everything is healthy but does it not work if the array isn't healthy?

Thanks!

Re: Qtier issue with TS-473

Posted: Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:24 pm
by dolbyman
you can remove the tier if you have enough pool space free to destage on it ...is that the case ?

Re: Qtier issue with TS-473

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 1:51 am
by pingjockey
I already moved down all the data and the only option I have is to remove the pool as the other option of remove ultra-high speed tier is greyed out.

Re: Qtier issue with TS-473

Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:52 am
by dolbyman
how to you manually move the data down from a tier ?

if there is enough pool space you can remove the tier..nothing else that can be done manually

Re: Qtier issue with TS-473

Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 11:37 pm
by pingjockey
Support said that if the flash array isn't healthy you can not remove the tier... So I backed everything up and blew out the storage space and just finished rebuilding it. This is what I get for using cheap SSD's for qtier and now have a pair of WD red m.2 ssd's I will be using wd red drives going forward.