Page 2 of 3

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2020 10:38 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
R1200CL wrote:
Tue Nov 03, 2020 11:01 pm
I have 32GB in mine now. I would like to know why it actually works. I don’t think the processor can use more than 8.
did you run the command? whats the result? :'

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2020 11:18 am
by psidrj
jaysona wrote:
Wed Nov 04, 2020 5:38 am

The reason it works is because - in the case of your TS-253D - is because the Memory Controller and DDR Memory Interface are design to address that amount of space. That does not necessarily mean that the system the SoC is integrated in has the necessary circuitry to address the maximum amount of physical memory the CPU is capable of addressing.
Thanks,

But wait.... What It means?

The system Will ir Will not make use of all that memory?

Lets say I install 32gbram... What happens if i try to run 10 virtual machines each using 3gb ram?

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2020 11:29 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
run the command to confirm how much ram you will be actually using. and report back here the result

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2020 5:14 am
by psidrj
Yeahh, i really would like to se R1200 answer....

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:17 am
by JohnnyBG
dmidecode -t 16 result

System Memory
Maximum Capacity: 32 GB
Number of devices : 2

:D :D :D

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 5:40 am
by koleto_pz
psidrj wrote:
Tue Nov 03, 2020 9:51 pm
kakugo wrote:
Sun Nov 01, 2020 5:46 am
Did anybody try to add a non-QNAP 4 GB module to a TS-251D-4GB? Would it work to have both a QNAP and a non-QNAP module or one HAS to remove the original module?
I also would like to know if it works.... but to a TS-x53D
I am very interested in the answer to this question. I want to buy TS-251D-4GB, but if I can update the RAM for cheap, maybe I can buy TS-251-2g and with the left money I will upgrade it with 2x8 or 2x4 at least. So can we combine QNAP and a non-QNAP module or just use 2 x non-QNAP modules ?

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:59 am
by David Morrow
I found this video from the NasCompares guy quite helpful :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgL4DBzg6CI

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:49 am
by Moogle Stiltzkin
David Morrow wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:59 am
I found this video from the NasCompares guy quite helpful :

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgL4DBzg6CI
but all he does is put in the ram and just sees in the nas it shows how much ram is shown. but like some others pointed out, that may not necessarily mean you can actually use beyond the official 8gb. rob doesn't really take that into account :'
JohnnyBG wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:17 am
dmidecode -t 16 result

System Memory
Maximum Capacity: 32 GB
Number of devices : 2

:D :D :D
what qnap model?

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 11:46 pm
by psidrj
Hy,
So, there is still a very lively discussion about the limit of memory that we can use, but although I am one of those eager to see the result of this discussion, there is something else I need to ask.

Whereas the system uses SODIMM 2400 MT/s, I need to know if it would work with a similar 2666 MT/s memory.

If I remember correctly, I believe it would work at 2400MT/s, that is, without taking advantage of all the speed of memory, and I ask you to be kind enough to confirm or correct me.
Thanks

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 6:42 am
by Rhodan
psidrj wrote:
Sat Nov 21, 2020 11:46 pm
Hy,
So, there is still a very lively discussion about the limit of memory that we can use, but although I am one of those eager to see the result of this discussion, there is something else I need to ask.

Whereas the system uses SODIMM 2400 MT/s, I need to know if it would work with a similar 2666 MT/s memory.

If I remember correctly, I believe it would work at 2400MT/s, that is, without taking advantage of all the speed of memory, and I ask you to be kind enough to confirm or correct me.
Thanks
I just upgraded my new TS-253D with the 2 4GB 2666 that came out of my 2018 Mac Mini. Device booted fine, reporting 8GB ram, all services are running fine and no errors.

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2020 2:45 pm
by travellingkiwi
Not a TS-253D... A TS-653D... But it's the same MB IIUC and only the backplane for the drives is a different size

I failed with a single 16 GB SODIMM (A CT16G4SFRA266, it doesn't get past the second green drive light on the boot sequence). Which presumably indicates a memory issue.

I retried with 2x CT8G4SFRA266 8GB SODIMMS and that has booted (16GB available). And is running fine

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:07 pm
by JohnnyBG
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:49 am

JohnnyBG wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 6:17 am
dmidecode -t 16 result

System Memory
Maximum Capacity: 32 GB
Number of devices : 2

:D :D :D
what qnap model?
TS-253D as per OP and Header :roll:

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:09 pm
by JohnnyBG
psidrj wrote:
Sat Nov 21, 2020 11:46 pm
Hy,
So, there is still a very lively discussion about the limit of memory that we can use, but although I am one of those eager to see the result of this discussion, there is something else I need to ask.

Whereas the system uses SODIMM 2400 MT/s, I need to know if it would work with a similar 2666 MT/s memory.

If I remember correctly, I believe it would work at 2400MT/s, that is, without taking advantage of all the speed of memory, and I ask you to be kind enough to confirm or correct me.
Thanks
Confirmed

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2020 12:48 pm
by Moogle Stiltzkin
so can anyone explain why a model like the x32d can register 32gb successfully when supposedly it only maxes out 8gb? (according to qnap, and intel and other rando sources that suggest a hard limit due to cpu limitation on the ram capacity supported)

here is the official reply by intel on this
Community Manager-


I would like to let you know that the processor in question is an Intel® System on Chip (SoC) processor. For this model there is a Max Memory Size supported; however, in this case it is dependent on memory type used for the SoC. And, in this case the computer manufacturer in the one that decides which memory type and the maximum supported for their particular computer model. Our datasheet: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... es-datashe... Intel® Pentium® and Celeron® Processor N and J Series: Datasheet 1, states that the maximum size supported is 8 GB, and that the densities (4,8,12 or 16 GB) varies depending on the memory used(LPDDR4, LPDDR3 or DDR3L), but it is up to the computer manufacturer to define which will be the maximum for their specific model. See below for the table 3.2 Specifics of Supported Memory Technologies(page 63).

Please let me know if this helps.

Regards,

Amy C.
https://community.intel.com/t5/Processo ... d-p/406408

other sauce
https://forums.tomshardware.com/threads ... s.3041679/


or is doing that dmi not the best way to test for this? or what :X


also how is this fella able to boot 32gb, while rob's own test on a x53d couldn't even boot? :'
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TgL4DBzg6CI&t=888s


also there is discussion by others that although ram registering more than 8gb, that the nas may actually be using beyond 8gb. but when it was suggested that the dmi code would show conclusively how much ram the nas actually uses, the fellas result showed 32gb. any explanation would be appreciated thx :'


this other guy on the intel forum is also asking the same thing
copperhead-
Intel Celeron J4125 -- Max Memory is 32GB **not** 8GB ...


I'm trying to conclusively prove the QNAP TS-453D NAS is capable of more than 8GB ram. The NAS utilizes the Intel Celeron J4125 SoC. Both Intel and QNAP state the maximum ram to be 8GB, however, many have tried 16GB & 32GB claiming it to run fine. MEMTEST was recently performed on the NAS using 32GB (2x 16GB Crucial DDR4 2666MHZ) and it PASSED.

Intel experts, could you please explain this MEMTEST vs Intel stated Memory Maximum paradox?

Can the Intel Celeron J4125 SoC's memory controller access / handle more than 8GB DDR4 RAM, that is, can it access, without error, 32 GB ram?

What is the ACTUAL memory upper limit for this SoC?
n_scott_pearson-
Super User Retired Employee

Intel will not make claims regarding a capability that they have not tested for all cases. They may validate a part at a point in time where only 4GB/8GB SODIMMs were available. Over time, as available SODIMM sizes increase, the spec if not updated because the team isn't available to validate it -- or, there may be some corner cases which don't allow them to claim that the larger size works in all cases.

Hope this explains it. I would say that, using memory larger than that claimed in the specification, you are in a 'use at your own risk' situation.
https://community.intel.com/t5/Processo ... -p/1222690



so maybe that could explain why 32gb didn't work for rob, but it did for some other user. but just how stable would the nas be when using ram out of official spec? would doing this increase chances of random reboots? because that to me would definitely be unacceptable (had bad experiences with rrs in the past)

Re: TS-253D Memory Upgrade

Posted: Fri Nov 27, 2020 1:24 am
by R1200CL
Moogle Stiltzkin wrote:
Wed Nov 04, 2020 11:29 am
run the command to confirm how much ram you will be actually using. and report back here the result
I don’t understand. What command ?