use QM2-4P-384 for system volume

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
gary_nap
Starting out
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2021 6:31 am

use QM2-4P-384 for system volume

Post by gary_nap » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:12 pm

Hello,

I just got a great deal on a QM2-4P-384 from Amazon for my new TS-473. I also just installed 16gB of Crucial memory, CT2K8G4SFS824A, for a total of 20gB.

Can I use the QM2-4P-384 to host the system volume rather than purchasing M.2 SSDs as I already have 2 1tB Adata M.2 NMVE drives.

I'm not opposed to purchasing 2 M.2 SSDs to use as the system volume for use in the native M.2 SSD slots. Or, purchasing another pair of M.2 NVME drives, say 256gB, for the system volume.

I will be using the TS-473 as a file server, target for PC backups, DLNA server.

Thanks,
Gary

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22728
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: use QM2-4P-384 for system volume

Post by dolbyman » Sun Apr 18, 2021 12:15 pm

For a file server and DLNA any sort of SSD (System/dedicated volume/cache/tier) is wasted...it will not speed up any of those tasks in useful ways

gary_nap
Starting out
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2021 6:31 am

Re: use QM2-4P-384 for system volume

Post by gary_nap » Sun Apr 18, 2021 11:10 pm

Thanks Dolbyman!

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”