Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
Post Reply
luwak
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2012 8:06 am

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by luwak » Tue May 29, 2012 4:41 am

Uptime is now 10 1/2 days. No issues faster transfer rate and 9 days longer then the QNAP. :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

madwedge
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:00 am

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by madwedge » Tue May 29, 2012 5:36 am

miroj, what Hitachi drives did you go for? I'm after some but the ones on the compatability list all seem to be obsolete! Incidently I'm after a TS-212.

thanks

Poooh
Starting out
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:15 am

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Poooh » Tue May 29, 2012 11:22 pm

Hi everyone there,

Seagate has a firmware update for these disks. Anyone want to give it a try?

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/e ... Q/223651en

Daniel

User avatar
Luft
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Luft » Thu May 31, 2012 1:34 am

Poooh wrote:Hi everyone there,

Seagate has a firmware update for these disks. Anyone want to give it a try?

http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/e ... Q/223651en

Daniel


What is the procedure to update 2 hard drives in QNAP with this firmware ? :|
QNAP TS-412 / HP Proliant Microserver N40L / Zyxel NSA310

Magnus8513
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:06 am

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Magnus8513 » Thu May 31, 2012 1:41 am

I am afraid you will have to attach the drives to a desktop machine to update the firmware, or is there some way of updating a drive without removing it from the NAS.
Will the QNAP format the drive again when reinserting it after the firmware update?
Please report, if this update solves any problems described in this thread.
---
2 x TS-110, WD RE3 WD1002FBYS 1TB // Seagate 7200.11 ST3500320AS 0.5 TB f/w: SD25
2x TS-119P+, WD RE4 WD1003FBYX 1TB
2x TS-119P II, WD RE4 WD1003FBYX 1TB // Seagate 7200.14 ST2000DM001 2 TB f/w: CC4H
f/w: 3.6.1; SABNZB+ 0.6.14; Twonkey 6.0.38; rsnap 3.1.2;

User avatar
Luft
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Luft » Thu May 31, 2012 1:54 am

Magnus8513 wrote:I am afraid you will have to attach the drives to a desktop machine to update the firmware, or is there some way of updating a drive without removing it from the NAS.
Will the QNAP format the drive again when reinserting it after the firmware update?


I have the same 2 questions about this.... :roll:
QNAP TS-412 / HP Proliant Microserver N40L / Zyxel NSA310

User avatar
Luft
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:57 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Luft » Thu May 31, 2012 1:59 am

I found this post...

viewtopic.php?f=25&t=38709#p170128

it is the correct procedure ???
QNAP TS-412 / HP Proliant Microserver N40L / Zyxel NSA310

2000wolf
Know my way around
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:34 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by 2000wolf » Thu May 31, 2012 2:12 am

Make a backup of your data and configuration. Take the risc and follow Seagate's update instructions and report what has happened.

That would be my approach but I have no Seagate drives to prove it...
_____________________
Regards 2000wolf
_____________________
FW 4.1.1 0916

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11964
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Don » Thu May 31, 2012 3:52 am

You cannot update the firmware on the drives via the NAS. You have to update via the methods that Seagate posts on their site. As per Seagate's reccomendations you should also make a backup of your data.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.3.6.0993 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

erwinsie
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 12:22 pm

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by erwinsie » Thu May 31, 2012 3:46 pm

now ST3000DM001 is in compatible list !!! qnap rep, please confirm.....

http://www.qnap.com/en/index.php?lang=en&sn=3877
Last edited by erwinsie on Fri Jun 01, 2012 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.

Magnus8513
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:06 am

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Magnus8513 » Thu May 31, 2012 3:58 pm

Quick status report on the updating process:

I just finished updating my ST2000DM001-9YN164 from CC46 to CC4H. It took me about 20mins to hook it up to a desktop machine, run the update and have it back up and running in my TS119p II. There were no complications whatsoever and all my data on the HDD remained untouched, but of course that does not mean one should not back up all your data before doing such.

Now I am anxious to see whether this solved my troubles with this drive (constant rebooting while under heavy write/read load).

----------------------------------
UPDATE (31.05.2012 10:11):
----------------------------------
The Update did not solve my problem! The NAS still reboots when under heavy loads. :evil: Nvertheless I am still inclined to believe this is a HDD issue, since I had trouble with this NAS/HDD from day 1.
Maybe OT: Where can I find more logging information on what might cause the reboot?
---
2 x TS-110, WD RE3 WD1002FBYS 1TB // Seagate 7200.11 ST3500320AS 0.5 TB f/w: SD25
2x TS-119P+, WD RE4 WD1003FBYX 1TB
2x TS-119P II, WD RE4 WD1003FBYX 1TB // Seagate 7200.14 ST2000DM001 2 TB f/w: CC4H
f/w: 3.6.1; SABNZB+ 0.6.14; Twonkey 6.0.38; rsnap 3.1.2;

jinu_j
Starting out
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat May 05, 2012 2:12 am

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by jinu_j » Mon Jun 04, 2012 7:23 pm

Yeah i am also suprised to see the ST3000DM001 back on the QNAP compatibility list but subject to Note 11,12 and 15. Note 15 is the key one

Note15
This drive is not currently recommended for TS-879U-RP, TS-1279U-RP, TS-EC879U-RP, TS-EC1279U-RP because of incompatibility issues reported by some users. We’re currently investigating the reported incidents and will update the compatibility table later.


Would it be safe to assume that the QNAP team has put this disk thru its paces on all other models having once pulled it out from the compatibility list

User avatar
Marski
Starting out
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2010 5:24 pm
Location: Netherlands, Delft

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Marski » Sat Jun 09, 2012 1:07 am

Magnus8513 wrote:Quick status report on the updating process:

I just finished updating my ST2000DM001-9YN164 from CC46 to CC4H. It took me about 20mins to hook it up to a desktop machine, run the update and have it back up and running in my TS119p II. There were no complications whatsoever and all my data on the HDD remained untouched, but of course that does not mean one should not back up all your data before doing such.

Now I am anxious to see whether this solved my troubles with this drive (constant rebooting while under heavy write/read load).

----------------------------------
UPDATE (31.05.2012 10:11):
----------------------------------
The Update did not solve my problem! The NAS still reboots when under heavy loads. :evil: Nvertheless I am still inclined to believe this is a HDD issue, since I had trouble with this NAS/HDD from day 1.
Maybe OT: Where can I find more logging information on what might cause the reboot?


Try disable ->Enable write cache (EXT4 only)
In system administration -> Hardware
Solved my problems :wink:

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 43673
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by schumaku » Fri Jun 15, 2012 12:10 am

For issues with these drives, please update to v3.7 firmware as soon as it's available for your NAS - and update the drive firmware to the latest one available from Seagate.

User avatar
Don
Guru
Posts: 11964
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:56 am
Location: Long Island, New York
Contact:

Re: Seagate 3TB ST3000DM001 and 2TB ST2000DM001 Compatible?

Post by Don » Sat Jun 16, 2012 2:01 am

schumaku wrote:For issues with these drives, please update to v3.7 firmware as soon as it's available for your NAS - and update the drive firmware to the latest one available from Seagate.

Anyone that has updated the drives and firmware please report your results.
Read the Online Manuals and use the forum search feature before posting.

It is a recommended to use RAID and have external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

Submit bugs and feature requests to QNAP via their Helpdesk app.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 4.3.6.0895 | 40GB | 2 x M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 4 x M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (Cache) | 5 x 4TB HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-663 | F/W: 4.3.6.0993 | 16GB | 2 x M.2 NMVe QM2-2P RAID 1 (Cache) | 4 x 4TB RAID 5
Apps: Boinc, Squid, DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS, Entware, DLstation, +others

Post Reply

Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”