TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ???

Printers, HDDs, USB/eSATA drives, 3rd-party programs
jan.lex
Starting out
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 3:52 pm

TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ???

Postby jan.lex » Thu May 15, 2014 11:49 pm

Hi.
I work with databases MySQL, and I want to improve the performance of CPU.

Does my NAS support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2?
What is best brocessor for Mysql on Qnat TS-670 Pro?

Qnap TS-670 Pro
Firmware Version: 4.0.7 (2014/04/10)
16Gb RAM (KHX16S9P1K2/16)
2x 4Gb RAID1 (WD4000FYYZ-01UL1B1)
1x 200GB SSD Cache (Intel S3700 SSDSC2BA200G3)

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 42623
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby schumaku » Fri May 16, 2014 2:00 am

The problem is not the "best" - key is the heat generated. Search the forum for TDP and find i.e. -> viewtopic.php?f=11&t=88594&p=411714#p411661

psikey
Been there, done that
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby psikey » Tue May 20, 2014 6:46 pm

Well I've just done the "Ultra" upgrade of my TS-470 Pro to 16GB of Corsair Vengeance 1.5v RAM and a Xeon E3-1265LV2 45w CPU.

All working fine showing all 8 cores/threads and have Virtualization Station installed with Win8Pro; Server 2008R2 and Server2012 VM's installed (for tests/learning).

I've currently got the Win8 VM with 4 cores/8GB assigned doing a transcode of a 1080p mkv to a lower bitrate 720p mkv with the CPU's maxed and the QNAP is holding temp at 54C @ fan 2400RPM with all system showing only 53% load and no impact on other VM's or NAS functionality.

My NAS is configured with 3 x 4TB drives in RAID5 and 1 single 250GB Intel SSD for VM's.

Max temp I had was running Prime95 for 30 mins when it peaked at 67C (with 4 of the 8 cores flat out).

The QNAP idles at ~45C @ fan 970rpm

I previously used the TS-x69 series but the QNAP has jumped into a whole new league of functionality with the TS-x70 series. This one little box that only pulls 25w with drives in standby or ~40w with idling VM's running does everything and even decent as a direct XBMC to HDTV (unlike the TS-x69 series). VM's; streaming; XBMC all operating simultaneously without issue.

I've just got two VM's installed on the photo below.

Image

Image

Image

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:28 pm

What virtualization hypervisor does QNAP use with Virtualization Station?

User avatar
doktornotor
Ask me anything
Posts: 7537
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 5:44 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby doktornotor » Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:56 pm

sirozha wrote:What virtualization hypervisor does QNAP use with Virtualization Station?


KVM.
I'm gone from this forum till QNAP stop wasting volunteers' time. Get help from QNAP helpdesk instead.
Warning: offensive signature and materials damaging QNAP reputation follow:
QNAP's FW security issues
QNAP's hardware compatibility list madness
QNAP's new logo competition
Dear QNAP, kindly fire your clueless incompetent forum "admin" And while at it, don't forget the webmaster!

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:01 pm

Thank you. That's what I suspected.

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:04 pm

What's the fan noise level when running at the 50%+ CPU utilization with E3-1265LV2 compared to the standard i3 CPU? Noise is a major factor for me.

User avatar
schumaku
Guru
Posts: 42623
Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2008 4:41 pm
Location: Kloten (Zurich), Switzerland -- Skype: schumaku
Contact:

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby schumaku » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:16 pm

The TS-x70 Pro comes with an Intel Core i3-3220 and a max TPU of 55 W, the E3-1275V2 has a max TPU of 45W - so similar or less fan noise by rule of thumb, even at full load.

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:29 pm

Does this setup support 32 GB of RAM?

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:07 am

I guess it would when 16 GB SODIMMs become available - if ever.

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:34 am

Another question, is TS-670 upgradable to Xeon E3-1265 v2 or is this only possible for TS-670 Pro?

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Tue Jun 17, 2014 10:35 am

Another question, is TS-670 upgradable to Xeon E3-1265 v2 or is this only possible for TS-670 Pro?

psikey
Been there, done that
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby psikey » Tue Jun 17, 2014 8:29 pm

The Pro and non-pro only differ by the CPU as far as I know. The TS-470Pro I have now shows as just a non-Pro with the E3-1265LV2 fitted.
Fan noise no different under load and it idles cooler with slower fan speed now that the thermal paste has bedded-in, typically 42C with fan speed at 945rpm
No 2 x 16GB SODIMM RAM available but I think the motherboard also needs to support the RAM amount not just the CPU.

I've had plenty of issues over the years with firmware going all the way back to the TS-109 I started with but I must say the TS-470/Pro with the latest firmware is rock steady for me and does everything I need using low power and being quiet for such a small box.

Its not now my main 24/7 box as I've just got into the world of the tiny Intel NUC with the latest i5 Haswell CPU with HD5500 GPU, and maxed that out with 16GB RAM, 180GB mSATA SSD for OS, Wifi/BT, Internal 2TB 2.5" drive and 2 x 4TB Seagate Fast Backup Plus USB3 portable drives for a total of 10TB data storage (DrivePool) and its totally silent (unless you have ear to it) and the whole lot only pulls 12w idle and ~ 26w fully loaded. Handles multiple Plex transcodes with ease and a bit of Virtualisation. The CPU in it is only slightly less powerful than the i3-3220 in the QNAP but works out massively cheaper. Currently the QNAP is the backup for my NUC and used when I need a bit more "horsepower" of the E3-1265LV2 CPU.

The external Seagate 4TB USB3 drives are bus powered and even operate of over 200MB/s read/write! I think the whole 10TB setup cost me less than the QNAP without drives, but suppose it does depend on what you want to do with it/future expansion needs etc.

sirozha
Know my way around
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Jun 04, 2013 2:19 am

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby sirozha » Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:51 pm

psikey,

Thanks for the detailed reply. The primary need for a TS-X70 for me is to fit it with an SSD cache to improve the IOPS yield compared to my current TS-569L.

I've been pointed to a blog that shows that a TS-670 with a 120 SSD cache can improve the IOPS yield (both read and write) by a factor or 5 or 6 to bring IOPS to 795 IOPS read / 516 IOPS write with the SSD cache installed. Without the cache, that blog measured 158 IOPS read / 85 IOPS write from/to RAID5 consisting of 7500 RPM drives. This is the performance of my current RAID5 installed in TS-569L. So, I'm now considering getting a TS-670 and fitting it with an SSD cache.

However, in the future, I may upgrade the CPU in it and use it as the virtualization platform. This is for my home Cisco Collaboration lab, and Cisco is now working on making their Collaboration server VMs compatible with KVM. In fact, they already run on KVM with a little hack. So, those are my plans for the TS-670.
Last edited by sirozha on Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:55 am, edited 1 time in total.

psikey
Been there, done that
Posts: 521
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 7:36 pm
Location: UK

Re: TS-670 Pro - Support Intel Xeon E3-1275V2 or E3-1280V2 ?

Postby psikey » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:36 am

I tried my Intel 530 250GB SSD in cache mode (mostly for VM use) and found performance of VM's dog slow. Don't know if I'd configured something wrong but not much to configure really. I now have the SSD as separate single drive storage pool and run the VM's off that.

If you've got high access on the 3.5" drives then I'm sure the SSD is a big help but most I have is a couple of simultaneous HD movie streams so not needed (home use).

I do use a TS-469Pro in Active Directory mode at work with ~100 users as a storage Archive location.


Return to “Hardware & Software Compatibility”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests