QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

FTP Server, File Server, DDNS, SAMBA, AFP, NFS
Post Reply
BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Sun Jun 28, 2020 6:18 pm

Hi,

Not sure if this is the place to post this but here goes: I have two QNAP NAS systems, a TS-459 Pro II and a TS-879 Pro. Qfinder finds both systems and I can map network drives to my hearts content via Qfinder.

When trying to map a network drive from, let's say, Windows "This PC" window, I can search the network and find the TS-879 every time like clockwork. The TS-459 is almost never found via Windows. Both systems are part of the same workgroup, the same LAN and subnet, etc, but this little gripe I have never been able to resolve. Additionally, when looking at the network from the Windows network desktop shortcut, the TS-879 is seen as a computer and the TS-459 is not there.

Does anyone have any thoughts as to why I can't see the TS-459?

Thanks in advance!
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

torch1
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:53 am

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by torch1 » Sun Jun 28, 2020 8:45 pm

You don't say what version of Windows or QTS you are running, but try enabling: Win/Mac/NFS > Microsoft Networking > Advanced Options > WS-Discovery

BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:01 pm

My bad. Win 10 x64 and the QTS on the older NAS, the one that is not being found, is 4.2.6. WS-Discovery is not an option on that version of QTS. I may be doomed :) Thanks for the suggestion in any event!
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:26 am

Turns out my issue was that MS Windows turned off SMBv1. I can enable the SMBv1 client and all is as it was in the past. My question to you, if you know and to QNAP, if they are watching, why didn't QNAP move to older firmware versions to SBMv2+? End of life situation?
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by dolbyman » Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:30 am

Qnap does not come here .. no

you can change the SMB level on old CAT1 units via SSH (check smb2status)

BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Wed Jul 01, 2020 12:32 am

Oh thanks! I have SSH turned off. I will check it out!
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:21 am

No joy. My eleven year old NAS running QTS 4.2.6 doesn't allow for any option with SSH other than installing an SSH server.
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by dolbyman » Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:22 am

hm ? .. pretty sure even that NAS has SSH access .. what happens when you try to connect via SSH ?

BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:26 am

With smbv1 turned off, windows explorer and networking can’t see it. QFinder, of course, has no problem at all.
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by dolbyman » Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:33 am

that was not my question ..

what happens when you try to connect via SSH to your QNAP ?

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7297
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by OneCD » Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:47 am

BlueSkye wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:21 am
My eleven year old NAS running QTS 4.2.6 doesn't allow for any option with SSH other than installing an SSH server.
The SSH server is built-in to QTS. :geek:

You need only enable it. The instructions below work in QTS 4.2.6:
OneCD wrote:
Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:35 pm
A basic SSH server is already installed and configured in your NAS, but you'll need to check that it's enabled. Login to your NAS QTS desktop and navigate to Control Panel -> Network Services -> Telnet / SSH.

Ensure that the 'Allow SSH connection' box is ticked. Its default port is 22. Click the 'Apply' button if you made any changes. Done!

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:33 am

dolbyman wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:33 am
that was not my question ..

what happens when you try to connect via SSH to your QNAP ?
Connecting via SSH works fine. I had a remotes session with QNAP tech support yesterday and that's what he checked and how he got in. Still, Window could not see it.
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

BlueSkye
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:53 pm

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by BlueSkye » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:35 am

OneCD wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:47 am
BlueSkye wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 5:21 am
My eleven year old NAS running QTS 4.2.6 doesn't allow for any option with SSH other than installing an SSH server.
The SSH server is built-in to QTS. :geek:

You need only enable it. The instructions below work in QTS 4.2.6:
OneCD wrote:
Fri Dec 30, 2016 2:35 pm
A basic SSH server is already installed and configured in your NAS, but you'll need to check that it's enabled. Login to your NAS QTS desktop and navigate to Control Panel -> Network Services -> Telnet / SSH.

Ensure that the 'Allow SSH connection' box is ticked. Its default port is 22. Click the 'Apply' button if you made any changes. Done!
Yes, I enabled SSH, with the default port, and still Windows networking could not see it. QFinder could and I could map a drive by inputting the share information manually.
TS-459 PRO II and TS-879 PRO

torch1
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 4:53 am

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by torch1 » Thu Jul 02, 2020 9:40 am

You could try this (from https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/window ... in-windows):
However, if you still have to use the Explorer Network in home and small business workgroup environments to locate Windows-based computers, you can follow these steps on your Windows-based computers that no longer use SMBv1:
Start the "Function Discovery Provider Host" and "Function Discovery Resource Publication" services, and then set them to Automatic (Delayed Start).
When you open Explorer Network, enable network discovery when you are prompted.
All Windows devices within that subnet that have these settings will now appear in Network for browsing. This uses the WS-DISCOVERY protocol.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18556
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QFinder sees the NAS but Windows doesn't

Post by dolbyman » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:07 pm

so what is the smb2status ?

Post Reply

Return to “File Sharing”