How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

FTP Server, File Server, DDNS, SAMBA, AFP, NFS
User avatar
simonz21
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:18 am

Re: How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by simonz21 » Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:51 pm

rafter wrote:Rock and roll, in case anyone else comes across this post and wants to do it via the GUI in the future!..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ol3NEH66PFA



Thank you! you're a life-saver!

flipololi
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:19 pm

Re: How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by flipololi » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:30 pm

I did the follow to can mount a external folder in my Qnap:

1.- Connect by ssh as admin.

2.- Create a new folder into the QNAP HD, in my case it is this:
/share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Dlinkv1
Dlinkv1 is the folder that I created.

3.- Modify the fstab file in /etc folder and add the line to mount the new remote folder. In my case I added the next line.
//192.168.1.11/Volume_1 /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Dlinkv1 cifs username=Anonymous,password=,_netdev,uid=1000,gid=1000 0 0

Now, when I reset my QNAP, it mount automatically the external folder.

I hope this can be helpful.

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 7804
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by OneCD » Sun Apr 09, 2017 2:06 am

Hi and welcome to the forum. :)

flipololi wrote:3.- Modify the fstab file in /etc folder and add the line to mount the new remote folder. In my case I added the next line.
//192.168.1.11/Volume_1 /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/Dlinkv1 cifs username=Anonymous,password=,_netdev,uid=1000,gid=1000 0 0

Now, when I reset my QNAP, it mount automatically the external folder.

/etc/fstab is not a persistent location. Have you tried a restart yet? ;)

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Knightro
Starting out
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:18 am

How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by Knightro » Wed May 03, 2017 11:43 pm

Is the shared Volume here can be used as Download default folder? I tried the sharing using File Station but it cannot be used as default folder for Download.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

skupu
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2019 9:57 pm

Re: How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by skupu » Fri Apr 26, 2019 10:05 pm

For me what helped was:

mount -t cifs -o user=username,pass=password //share/path /share/CACHEDEV1_DATA/path

User avatar
spikemixture
Been there, done that
Posts: 837
Joined: Wed Mar 07, 2018 11:04 pm
Location: 3rd World

Re: How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by spikemixture » Thu May 02, 2019 10:30 pm

I realize this is an old post but has mapping a synology drive on a qnap become any easier?

I Run plex on my Qnap and have my media backed up on a Synology.

But whenever i need to do a check disk.
Which is too ** often as I am having frequent black outs (and an occasional earth quake) and UPS issues.

The qnap takes many many hours (24+) to do its thing and must be unmounted. This of course means no access to my media.

I was hoping I could map my media drive from the synology so Plex on the qnap sees the media from the Syno !
Qnap TS-1277 1700 (48gb RAM) 6x8TB WD White, 2x8TB WD Red - Raid5, 2x M.2 Crucial 1TB (Raid 1 VM),
2x SSD 860 EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD 860 EVO 250GB (Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe 970 500gb NVME (Raid1 Plex and Emby server)
GTX 1050 TI
Qnap TVS-1282 i7 (32GB RAM) 8x10TB WD White - Raid 6, 2x M.2 Crucial 500gb (Raid1 VM),
2x SSD EVO 500gb (Raid1 QTS), 2x SSD EVO 250gb (Raid1 Cache), 2x M.2 PCIe Intel 512GB NVME (Raid1-Servers)
Synology -1817+ - 2x10,2x8,2x6 (Ironwolf) 2x6 (WD Red) - SHR
Drobo 5n - 3x2TB WD Green, 2x3TB WD Red - Drobo Raid
ProBox 8 Bay USB3 - 8x4TB Seagate - JBOD
All software is updated asap.
I give my opinion from my experience i.e. I have (or had) that piece of equipment/software and used it! :roll:

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 19697
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by dolbyman » Thu May 02, 2019 10:46 pm

why no ups? just a couple of bucks and no more volume checking or dataloss due to power cuts

did you try mounting the syno in file station and see if that mount is available in plex?

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: How to Mount remote folders from another NAS in QNAP

Post by storageman » Thu May 02, 2019 10:50 pm

Easy enough to connect to Syno.

Have you stopped getting angry?
temp.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “File Sharing”