QVR PRo Beta

Surveillance Station, Surveillance Station Pro, & IP cameras
cory_booth
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:23 am

QVR PRo Beta

Postby cory_booth » Sat May 20, 2017 2:58 am

Anyone know if the licensing model for this will be the same as Surveillance Station?
I don't want to go installing all my cameras if this winds up the same.

Also...

What if you have one set of cameras on Surveillance Station and another on QVR?

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Sun May 21, 2017 4:39 am

Is this a replacement for SS?

QNAP, please explain these apps piling on top of each other.

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 1743
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby AlastairStevenson » Sun May 21, 2017 5:42 am

Is this a replacement for SS?

Eventually, but it has been in development for quite a while.
QNAP, please explain these apps piling on top of each other.

This isn't QNAP, it's the community forum.
What's wrong with developing a successor app, and having a controlled beta userbase for it? That's a normal development practice.
TS-431+ as primary storage and media server and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station.

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby jds580s » Mon May 22, 2017 10:34 pm

cory_booth wrote:Anyone know if the licensing model for this will be the same as Surveillance Station?
I don't want to go installing all my cameras if this winds up the same.

Also...

What if you have one set of cameras on Surveillance Station and another on QVR?

It looks like it will follow a similar license model to Surveillance Station

https://www.qnap.com/solution/qvr-pro/en/
This page says:
"QVR Pro Beta supports up to 124 channels for surveillance monitoring during the test. Users can use all the channels without requiring licenses.
The official release of QVR Pro will offer free channel licenses based on QNAP NAS series and models. Please visit https://www.qnap.com for more information."

Not sure if you could have both SS and QVR Pro installed, each connected using the free set of licenses to different cameras.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Tue May 23, 2017 10:54 am

I might depend on the camera, as a lot can support multiple full resolution streams.

I tried to install this beta on a TS-451 with 16 GB RAM and 3TB free. I tried it multiple times, it always got stuck at 90%, then quit.

Has anyone fully installed it yet?

SS doesn't support viewing one chromebooks, I was hoping this beta app did?

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby jds580s » Wed May 24, 2017 2:22 am

I had the same installation issue on a TVS-1282
reference thread: viewtopic.php?t=132801

It gets stuck at 90% and wants me to try rebooting or installing to a different location. I tried both multiple times with no luck.
I have a helpdesk ticket in with QNAP to get it resolved.

I'll post back if they are able to resolve it.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Wed May 24, 2017 11:43 am

Thanks, I also tried many things, different folder, reboots, etc.

It did populate the destination directory with data, so it could write there ok.
It also installed the container station.

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby jds580s » Thu May 25, 2017 8:48 pm

QNAP support got back with me. They confirmed it is a bug in the application that currently doesn't have a fix.
Sounds like there isn't anything we can do until an update is released.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Fri May 26, 2017 12:14 pm

Thanks

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby jds580s » Tue Jun 20, 2017 1:25 am

I received a follow up reply to my support ticket with some additional information.
Still no fix for the problem, but here is what they suggested as a workaround:
As a workaround, you can disable the following to get it to work.
1. force secure connection only
2. shared folders - advanced permission


I haven't tried this to confirm, but thought I would share

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: QVR Pro Beta

Postby jds580s » Tue Jun 20, 2017 8:51 pm

What do you know, this morning there was an update for the QVR Pro Beta app, and the change log mentions they fixed the installation error.
https://www.qnap.com/en-us/app_releasen ... ose=QVRPro

I did the update and successfully got it installed without needing the two workarounds from the previous post.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

dehli
Starting out
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2015 12:42 am

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby dehli » Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:30 pm

QVR Pro works great for me... I batch set up all 8 cameras, models, logins, resolution, bitrate, etc. in about 5 minutes. The QVR Pro Client interface is much better than the original QVR Client.

I have a TS-453 Pro and use Surveillance Station with 2 free licenses and 6 paid camera licenses. Here is the response I received from QNAP regarding the license transfers...

"Your free licenses won't transfer over, but you may receive more/less/equal (TBD) free licenses for QVR Pro. As for your paid licenses, you can contact QNAP support again to create a ticket to transfer those over for use in QVR Pro. For now in the Beta, you are able to use up to 124 channels without any licenses."

On a side note, how do I enable event 'motion detection' recording only in QVR Pro? If I turn on event recording, nothing records, and if I enable normal recording on the cameras, it records 24/7. Anyone know what I'm missing?

Thanks,
T


Return to “Surveillance Station”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest