QVR PRo Beta

Surveillance Station, Surveillance Station Pro, & IP cameras
cory_booth
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2017 8:23 am
Model: TS-251A/451A

QVR PRo Beta

Postby cory_booth » Sat May 20, 2017 2:58 am

Anyone know if the licensing model for this will be the same as Surveillance Station?
I don't want to go installing all my cameras if this winds up the same.

Also...

What if you have one set of cameras on Surveillance Station and another on QVR?

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am
Model: TS-439 Pro+

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Sun May 21, 2017 4:39 am

Is this a replacement for SS?

QNAP, please explain these apps piling on top of each other.

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 1698
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm
Model: TS-412

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby AlastairStevenson » Sun May 21, 2017 5:42 am

Is this a replacement for SS?

Eventually, but it has been in development for quite a while.
QNAP, please explain these apps piling on top of each other.

This isn't QNAP, it's the community forum.
What's wrong with developing a successor app, and having a controlled beta userbase for it? That's a normal development practice.
TS-431+ as primary storage and media server and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station.

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am
Model: TS-459 Pro

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby jds580s » Mon May 22, 2017 10:34 pm

cory_booth wrote:Anyone know if the licensing model for this will be the same as Surveillance Station?
I don't want to go installing all my cameras if this winds up the same.

Also...

What if you have one set of cameras on Surveillance Station and another on QVR?

It looks like it will follow a similar license model to Surveillance Station

https://www.qnap.com/solution/qvr-pro/en/
This page says:
"QVR Pro Beta supports up to 124 channels for surveillance monitoring during the test. Users can use all the channels without requiring licenses.
The official release of QVR Pro will offer free channel licenses based on QNAP NAS series and models. Please visit https://www.qnap.com for more information."

Not sure if you could have both SS and QVR Pro installed, each connected using the free set of licenses to different cameras.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am
Model: TS-439 Pro+

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Tue May 23, 2017 10:54 am

I might depend on the camera, as a lot can support multiple full resolution streams.

I tried to install this beta on a TS-451 with 16 GB RAM and 3TB free. I tried it multiple times, it always got stuck at 90%, then quit.

Has anyone fully installed it yet?

SS doesn't support viewing one chromebooks, I was hoping this beta app did?

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am
Model: TS-459 Pro

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby jds580s » Wed May 24, 2017 2:22 am

I had the same installation issue on a TVS-1282
reference thread: viewtopic.php?t=132801

It gets stuck at 90% and wants me to try rebooting or installing to a different location. I tried both multiple times with no luck.
I have a helpdesk ticket in with QNAP to get it resolved.

I'll post back if they are able to resolve it.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am
Model: TS-439 Pro+

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Wed May 24, 2017 11:43 am

Thanks, I also tried many things, different folder, reboots, etc.

It did populate the destination directory with data, so it could write there ok.
It also installed the container station.

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am
Model: TS-459 Pro

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby jds580s » Thu May 25, 2017 8:48 pm

QNAP support got back with me. They confirmed it is a bug in the application that currently doesn't have a fix.
Sounds like there isn't anything we can do until an update is released.

Model: TVS-1282
Firmware: QTS 4.3.3


Model: TS-459 Pro
Firmware: QTS 4.1.2
OS: Win10 Pro English
RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
External: USB Drive 3TB, eSATA Drive 2TB
Services: File Station, Backup Station (Rsync, External Drive), Surveillance Station 2, FTP
QPKG: CrashPlan, Plex Media Server, JRE, Optware IPKG
Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

User avatar
BernardJones
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 11:07 am
Model: TS-439 Pro+

Re: QVR PRo Beta

Postby BernardJones » Fri May 26, 2017 12:14 pm

Thanks


Return to “Surveillance Station”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests