QVR Pro problems with event recording

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
J2121
Starting out
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:54 pm

QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby J2121 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 6:12 am

I recently set up a TS-253be with some cameras. Setup was surprisingly simple, with only some minor glitches along the way.

One problem I cannot figure out is event recording.

My cameras have motion detection set up and I have an "event" set in QVR Pro. When motion is detected, there are two "rules" in play. First rule calls for an "event recording" and the second rule sends an email to me.

Motion is detected. An email is sent. QVRPro client has a marker in the timeline.

What I cannot find is the event recording. QVRPro client shows no events at all in the list. Clicking on "more events" opens the log window which does list the event details.

I saw a thread with some similar issues, although what seemed to be the solution there didn't work.

My cameras are set to record 24/7 on stream 1. I have tried setting "event recording" to stream 1 and also to stream 2. Neither generates an event recording or event notice in QVRPro client.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong?

J2121
Starting out
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby J2121 » Sat Jul 21, 2018 6:46 pm

I'm back after realizing that my motion problems are far more extensive. Sometimes QVRPro works as expected, most of the time it is a complete disaster.

- My cameras are on the compatibility list. They are set to record "stream 1" 24/7 and "stream 2" for events.
- The software that comes with the camera properly indicates motion detected when there is motion.
- Events are set up for each camera to a) record the motion event and b) sent me an email on a motion event

The issue seems to be with QVR Pro. Here are some of the problems:

- Motion is detected when there is no motion (no motion seen PLUS no motion indicated in native camera software)
- Motion is NOT always detected when there is motion (sometimes it indicates a motion event, sometimes it does not)
- Red mark in client timeline indicates a motion event, but none shown in sidebar. Logs show a motion event was detected
- Events that are shown in sidebar have no red line in timeline.
- Desktop QVR Pro client shows some, but not all, motion events in sidebar. iPad version show different motion events in sidebar
- Emails not always sent on motion event. I may get several in a row and then it stops sending for days. Then it might start again.
- Motion will not be detected on major events (large object moving across field of view) then activate on minor event a few minutes later.
- Changes to camera motion sensitivity works in camera's software, but seems to have no effect on QVR Pro reaction to motion. As noted above, it works infrequently along with numerous false alarms.

I have rebooted the cameras. This seems to help, although it looks like the act of disconnecting then reconnecting to QVR Pro is what makes things work for about 5 minutes. After that, it is back to the above.

It is all incredibly frustrating. This is a simple setup with only three cameras.

Is anyone else having similar issues? Better yet, does anyone have QVR Pro working properly?

How can I remove QVR Pro and reclaim the reserved disk space? I'm hoping that Surveillance Solution might actually be a solution.

dragerfroe
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:58 am

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby dragerfroe » Mon Jul 23, 2018 2:41 pm

I am having the same issues, but I think the camera is not sending out the alarm because the camera log is not showing it and nothing is received in the QVR logs. I can get it to work for about 6 hours then the cameras just stop sending alerts until I reboot.

If it is a ONVIF, can you try setting that as the camera? Maybe that will help.

I did NOT like surveillance station. I had them both and tried them both extensively. To me, QVR seems more robust. I removed Surveillance Station and stuck with QVR Pro. The event stuff is irking me right now though.

J2121
Starting out
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby J2121 » Tue Jul 24, 2018 6:36 am

At least I'm not the only one having issues.

dragerfroe wrote:I am having the same issues, but I think the camera is not sending out the alarm because the camera log is not showing it and nothing is received in the QVR logs.


I can see my camera (through its own software) registering a motion event. Some of those show up in the QNAP event log, some don't. I may get dozens of alerts via email in a single hour, and then none for days. I get emails for events that are not in the log and then I get not emails for events that are in the log.

I can adjust the sensitivity and area of detection in my camera software and it will react to those changes. QVR Pro, however, will seem to ignore those settings and continue to send out numerous bogus motion alerts... until it stops sending any at all.

There is no consistent pattern that I can find.

I can get it to work for about 6 hours then the cameras just stop sending alerts until I reboot.


That does seem to be the case. Things work (to a point) after a reboot, then nothing.

If it is a ONVIF, can you try setting that as the camera? Maybe that will help.


That's how my cameras are set up and how the manufacturer recommends setting them up for a QNAP server. My cameras are supposed to be fully supported. However, if I select the brand and model in the setup screen there are connection problems. It will connect for a short time, then constantly disconnect/reconnect. The ONVIF profile doesn't have that issue.

I did NOT like surveillance station. I had them both and tried them both extensively. To me, QVR seems more robust. I removed Surveillance Station and stuck with QVR Pro. The event stuff is irking me right now though.


I looked at SS and also didn't like it. If it actually works, I would consider switching to it. I just have to figure out how to delete QVR Pro to reclaim the disk space. I set up the QVR Pro container to use the majority of it.


I've been going back and forth with a support ticket for QVR Pro client freezing on quit. That's been dragged out for two weeks with still no answer in sight. I mentioned these issues in my last response to them, but they only wrote that QVR Pro is "newly released software."

Should have gone with a simple NVR. Too much time and money spent on something that doesn't do what it claims to.

dragerfroe
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:58 am

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby dragerfroe » Sun Aug 05, 2018 2:23 pm

Okay, mine are fixed. Sorry that I took so long to write back. I upgraded my QNAP TS -890u RP with an i7 2600s and 16gb ram. Afterwards everything was much more zippy and my alerts are on point.

I also did not set any motion where trees are. Forget it, I'll get alerts all day for the slightest movement. I basically created a few "cross over the lines" and that worked very well. I also set the sensitivity to almost zero. Seems ONVIF 2.0 (that is the standard my camera uses) is very touchy.

I set the motion event on the QVR server side to send an email and also email my phone carriers mms to receive text message and a photo. Works freaking awesome!! I do get a lot of alerts. If it's stormy outside or raining...I basically get them all day. But on nice days, only when something crosses the paths I set up. I can live with it. Next time I'll buy much more expensive cameras, for now, the two PTZ&POE Chinese ones are fine.

P.S. I had a power outage and it put my raid in bad state. I repaired it and everything picked up where it left off.

J2121
Starting out
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:54 pm

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby J2121 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 3:10 am

Seems my situation is also fixed.

I had a remote session with QNAP support. This went much better than my other support ticket (which is still ongoing as they continue to ask for more information).

Interesting that you state ONVIF 2.0 is touchy. In my call with tech support, they told me that ONVIF profiles do NOT support motion events. This seemed odd, but that's what they told me.

My camera manufacturer (Reolink) has an instructional webpage for setting up their cameras with a QNAP server. It specifically states to use the ONVIF profile, which is what I did. Switching to the profile for my specific camera seemed to help with the motion events. It will be a few weeks before I can be on site to test and make sure.

The downside is that the connection is a little less stable. Every so often the cameras disconnect for a few minutes and stop recording. It happens randomly but seems to happen more often after connecting (via VPN) for a few minutes. Support told it is likely network speed issues. This connection method also loses most of my saved preset PTZ positions (they were all there with the ONVIF profile - gone with the Reolink profile).

The only network traffic is the three cameras (wired into a gigibit POE switch), and resolution has already been knocked down to 1080p. Seems hard to believe that can force a disconnect on all three cameras. Even stranger that it will happen when there are no connections from the outside. It doesn't happen that often so, while not happy, I'll have to learn to live with it. At least my connection/feed from the manufacturer software never goes down, so I can always get a live view.

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 1971
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby AlastairStevenson » Wed Aug 08, 2018 5:49 pm

they told me that ONVIF profiles do NOT support motion events. This seemed odd, but that's what they told me.

Yes, that's correct, in ProfileS motion events are optional. That's why in many ONVIF implementations they are not generated.
You can verify what event notifications exist using ONVIF Device Manager from sourceforge,net
And Reolink cameras firmware is apparently quite troublesome ...
https://ipcamtalk.com/search/8820962/?q ... k&o=date&c[node]=4
https://ipcamtalk.com/search/8820966/?q ... age&o=date
TS-431+ as primary storage and media server and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station.

dragerfroe
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2018 5:58 am

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby dragerfroe » Sat Aug 18, 2018 12:30 pm

I use Profile S and my motion detection works on my cheap Chinese, "JideTech" cameras.

Here is something software related. My motion stopped working for three days. Well, my cameras were sending the notifications and my QVR was not picking it up. I went into the events on the QVR server and toggled (not delete) the event off then back on, voila, it works now.

QNAPAlanK
QNAP Staff
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2015 2:15 pm

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby QNAPAlanK » Wed Aug 22, 2018 2:44 pm

QVR Pro 1.1.1 just release, we enhance the event engine stability, could you try to update it?

Thank you!
QVR Pro Issue Report Tip: https://goo.gl/jVsQTk
Helpdesk: https://helpdesk.qnap.com/

sboger
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 5:42 pm

Re: QVR Pro problems with event recording

Postby sboger » Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:37 pm

I was getting alerts for high swap usage a few days after I added four cameras. Swap was genuinely building, even though I had gigs of free memory. I also lost a nights of recordings. I ssh'd to the NAS and ran:

Code: Select all

for file in /proc/*/status ; do awk '/VmSwap|Name/{printf $2 " " $3}END{ print ""}' $file; done | sort -k 2 -n -r | less


The top, nearly 2GB, hog was /usr/bin/qvrmdmgr. Then I remembered that QVR Pro is a docker container.

I fired up Portainer and found a hidden qvrpro_all container. Even though it's mem/cpu resources were set to unlimited (according to portainer - there might be qnap configs), it looked like it was working with a 2GB limit. I altered the memory to 3GB and restarted the container. In Portainer, I could see the app start to use over 2GB memory. Swap immediately went down.

Interestingly, I just looked now again using portainer and the resources are set back to unlimited. Perhaps I need the container off first. Interestingly I am still not seeing any swap usage from qvrmdmgr.


Return to “Surveillance Solution”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests