QNAP wont connect to camera

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
Post Reply
nzvlnr
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:49 pm

QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by nzvlnr » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:55 pm

I have a turbo TS251+. Two SSD 1 TB samsung drives.
The camera is an amcrest IP camera and the application connects no problem, but the surveillance station will not connect. It states the IP address is wrong. I have checked that over and over. I cannot get it to connect.
I also want the camera to record on the NAS after this is resolved.
Thank you for the help!!
I am going through the setup of the NAS :P

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2326
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by AlastairStevenson » Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:13 am

Some details of the camera model, firmware version and what you have attempted would significantly raise the chances of a useful response to your problem.
As stated, though, it's hard to respond except in generalities.
It states the IP address is wrong.
Sometimes this message really means that the port is incorrect.
Amcrest tends to use ports other than 80 in their firmware.
What is the HTTP port of the camera, and what port are you trying in Surveillance Station configuration?
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

nzvlnr
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by nzvlnr » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:24 am

Thank you for the response AlastairStevenson. I posted that from work...no details with me. I have included the information below:
Camera

Amcrest IPV4M-1051
VERSION 1.14.1
IP address match
HTTP Port 80
https 443
I connect to the camera via the IP address.

surveillance station settings:
Survellance station version 5.1.3.4.4
Status: " Connecting" ..never does
Recording status " Not Recording"
Ping test. I cannot ping the camera. ping statistics ---
3 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss
HTTP Port 80
https: 443
ERROR MSG: " Connection failed. The IP address is invalid:

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2326
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by AlastairStevenson » Thu Apr 04, 2019 2:54 pm

Ok -
The IP address of the camera?
The IP address of the NAS?
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

nzvlnr
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by nzvlnr » Thu Apr 04, 2019 10:26 pm

Why do you ask? If I can connect to the NAS and the Camera, but the NAS doesnt see the camera....you know what I mean?
I suspect something with the surveillance station? I downloaded a license and imported it.
I checked in surveillance station and the IP address is correct..
I can connect via my android as well. So the IP address is not the problem....

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2326
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by AlastairStevenson » Thu Apr 04, 2019 11:36 pm

If I can connect to the NAS and the Camera, but the NAS doesnt see the camera....you know what I mean?
That does not actually confirm that the NAS can connect to the camera.
For example, a routing issue (eg on a virtual network) could cause the symptoms you describe.
Are the camera and NAS IP addresses in the same segment, with the same subnet mask in place?
Ping test. I cannot ping the camera. ping statistics ---
Suggestion for a further test:
Use an SSH session to the NAS IP address that Surveillance Station is using, and try a ping and traceroute to the camera IP address.
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

nzvlnr
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by nzvlnr » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:00 am

Ok, I dont think I activated the SSH login. But I will.
That brings up a good point. The IP camera is on a wireless connection on my network and the NAS is connected via Ethernet. I dont think that would be a problem as they connect through the web?
I checked the subnet mask and they match ( at work so I cannot completely confirm that ) but I will when I get home. Setting this NAS up is taking allot of my time.....sheesh...

nzvlnr
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2019 8:49 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by nzvlnr » Fri Dec 20, 2019 2:55 am

I wanted to come back and update this. With a firmware update on my camera . I can now connect the NAS to the camera

byrnea
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2011 2:41 am

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by byrnea » Thu Jun 10, 2021 6:32 pm

So I have same problem with a Reolink camera
Connecting fine to the app
IP address fine, on same segment
Latest firmware
NAS stopped connecting to it about a month ago

Thanks

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2326
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QNAP wont connect to camera

Post by AlastairStevenson » Thu Jun 10, 2021 8:08 pm

Expect multiple problems with Reolink cameras.
https://ipcamtalk.com/search/1804430/?q ... ems&o=date
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

Post Reply

Return to “Surveillance Solution”