POE Switch to Second QNAP LAN Port or Router?

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
sadsack5000
Getting the hang of things

POE Switch to Second QNAP LAN Port or Router?

Post by sadsack5000 »

Gents,

I am a networking amateur. My current setup is simply connecting my 870 pro NAS to Asus AC66u router and then off to the ISP's modem and internet
It works very well right now and i am able to access all my applications on my NAS over fixed IP or my no-ip DNS

I am considering putting in 4x IP cameras connected to a new POE switch https://www.ple.com.au/Products/616202/ ... -SFP-Ports

Now i'd like to know what the advised connection route is for the new cameras and switch to the NAS.
Should i connect the POE switch direct to the second LAN port of my NAS or shall i connect it to the router?

Just thought id ask before i splash out
Thanks
Don
Guru

Re: POE Switch to Second QNAP LAN Port or Router?

Post by Don »

Connect everything to the switch including the router.
Use the forum search feature before posting.

Use RAID and external backups. RAID will protect you from disk failure, keep your system running, and data accessible while the disk is replaced, and the RAID rebuilt. Backups will allow you to recover data that is lost or corrupted, or from system failure. One does not replace the other.

NAS: TVS-882BR | F/W: 5.0.1.2346 | 40GB | 2 x 1TB M.2 SATA RAID 1 (System/VMs) | 3 x 1TB M.2 NMVe QM2-4P-384A RAID 5 (cache) | 5 x 14TB Exos HDD RAID 6 (Data) | 1 x Blu-ray
NAS: TVS-h674 | F/W: 5.0.1.2376 | 16GB | 3 x 18TB RAID 5
Apps: DNSMasq, PLEX, iDrive, QVPN, QLMS, MP3fs, HBS3, Entware, DLstation, VS, +
sadsack5000

Post by sadsack5000 »

Roger that. Lucky i was going to buy an 8-port switch :)

Out of interest what is the reason for not connecting the POE directly to the NAS and in turn to the router?
Moogle Stiltzkin
Guru

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin »

sadsack5000 wrote:Roger that. Lucky i was going to buy an 8-port switch :)