QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
Post Reply
wmconey@gmail.com
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 1:38 am

QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by wmconey@gmail.com » Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:44 am

Is there any advantage to one over the other?

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2138
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by AlastairStevenson » Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:52 pm

Not all ONVIF cameras generate motion detection events, for example.
TS-431+ as primary storage and media server and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station.

tecrp7
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:06 am

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by tecrp7 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am

I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
TVS-882
HHD - 6 - 6TB Western Digital Red Pro's RAID 6
SSD - 2 - Samsung 850 EVO's RAID 1 - Qtier 2 - Samsung 850 PRO's RAID 1 - OS/Apps 2 - Samsung 960 PRO's RAID 0 - VM's (QM2-2P Expansion Card)
CPU - Upgraded to i7 6700k from i3
GPU - EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 SC GAMING, ACX 2.0 (Single Fan) 6GB GDDR5
3 - 80mm 3 - 60mm Noctua Fans 1 - NH-L12S Noctua CPU Cooler
RAM - Kingston Technology HyperX FURY 32 GB Kit + Stock 8 GB DDR4
PSU - Corsair SF600 Power Supply

Water Cooled CPU - Hydro Series™ H5 SF

tgdc1978
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2016 3:56 am

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by tgdc1978 » Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:58 am

I’ve heard that many Loren cameras are rebranded Hikvision. I’m not sure if they change the software but would like to know if the Hivikison profiles work either them. (I was thinking of buying some). Can somebody test?

xman1
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2018 3:59 am

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by xman1 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:33 am

I can't get ONVIF to work. Works fine after selecting the specific model of camera, in this case Amcrest IP4M-1026(E). Not thinking ONVIF is that reliable.

spillins
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:48 am

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by spillins » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 am

tecrp7 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
Hello,
Could you please share what those settings were for Lorex 4k cameras? I recently purchased Costco 4K Lorex security set with 6 cameras and am trying to setup the Qnap as a backup to the nvr that came with it. I'm attempting to set the camera's as ONVIF and it doesn't seem to connect to them. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

rbunge
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:31 pm

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by rbunge » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:40 pm

I am also looking for LOrex settings to use with the Qnap although I was trying to use survellience station (don't know the difference but will research) I have added a camera to a POE switch outside the NVR figuring I would have to address it by specific IP address rather than the IP of the NVR. Would also like to get Onvif working so it can stream to a roku box for live view.

tecrp7
Starting out
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2016 2:06 am

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by tecrp7 » Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:33 pm

spillins wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 am
tecrp7 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
Hello,
Could you please share what those settings were for Lorex 4k cameras? I recently purchased Costco 4K Lorex security set with 6 cameras and am trying to setup the Qnap as a backup to the nvr that came with it. I'm attempting to set the camera's as ONVIF and it doesn't seem to connect to them. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Sorry for such a really late reply. I don't get emails when someone quotes me for some reason.

To answer your question, when using the ONVIF profile in QVR Pro, the NAS will not be able to automatically change settings on the camera. What you have to do, is match the settings on the camera and the profile on the NAS in order for it to recognise the camera. This is a tedious task because even the bitrate can have an affect on it. Once you finally match the settings, then everything will work fine besides changing configs via the NAS.
TVS-882
HHD - 6 - 6TB Western Digital Red Pro's RAID 6
SSD - 2 - Samsung 850 EVO's RAID 1 - Qtier 2 - Samsung 850 PRO's RAID 1 - OS/Apps 2 - Samsung 960 PRO's RAID 0 - VM's (QM2-2P Expansion Card)
CPU - Upgraded to i7 6700k from i3
GPU - EVGA GeForce GTX 1060 SC GAMING, ACX 2.0 (Single Fan) 6GB GDDR5
3 - 80mm 3 - 60mm Noctua Fans 1 - NH-L12S Noctua CPU Cooler
RAM - Kingston Technology HyperX FURY 32 GB Kit + Stock 8 GB DDR4
PSU - Corsair SF600 Power Supply

Water Cooled CPU - Hydro Series™ H5 SF

tommyhartantow
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:26 pm

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Post by tommyhartantow » Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:35 am

tecrp7 wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:33 pm
spillins wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 am
tecrp7 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
Hello,
Could you please share what those settings were for Lorex 4k cameras? I recently purchased Costco 4K Lorex security set with 6 cameras and am trying to setup the Qnap as a backup to the nvr that came with it. I'm attempting to set the camera's as ONVIF and it doesn't seem to connect to them. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Sorry for such a really late reply. I don't get emails when someone quotes me for some reason.

To answer your question, when using the ONVIF profile in QVR Pro, the NAS will not be able to automatically change settings on the camera. What you have to do, is match the settings on the camera and the profile on the NAS in order for it to recognise the camera. This is a tedious task because even the bitrate can have an affect on it. Once you finally match the settings, then everything will work fine besides changing configs via the NAS.

the change is done on the IP camera? my camera is coming from unknown chinese manufacturers which i am not sure the setting can be changed. please advise, can the change be done on the qvr pro side to match the setting on the IP camera ? thx

Post Reply

Return to “Surveillance Solution”