Page 1 of 1

QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 8:44 am
by wmconey@gmail.com
Is there any advantage to one over the other?

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Thu Feb 01, 2018 5:52 pm
by AlastairStevenson
Not all ONVIF cameras generate motion detection events, for example.

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
by tecrp7
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:58 am
by tgdc1978
I’ve heard that many Loren cameras are rebranded Hikvision. I’m not sure if they change the software but would like to know if the Hivikison profiles work either them. (I was thinking of buying some). Can somebody test?

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:33 am
by xman1
I can't get ONVIF to work. Works fine after selecting the specific model of camera, in this case Amcrest IP4M-1026(E). Not thinking ONVIF is that reliable.

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 am
by spillins
tecrp7 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
Hello,
Could you please share what those settings were for Lorex 4k cameras? I recently purchased Costco 4K Lorex security set with 6 cameras and am trying to setup the Qnap as a backup to the nvr that came with it. I'm attempting to set the camera's as ONVIF and it doesn't seem to connect to them. Thanks in advance for any assistance.

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:40 pm
by rbunge
I am also looking for LOrex settings to use with the Qnap although I was trying to use survellience station (don't know the difference but will research) I have added a camera to a POE switch outside the NVR figuring I would have to address it by specific IP address rather than the IP of the NVR. Would also like to get Onvif working so it can stream to a roku box for live view.

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:33 pm
by tecrp7
spillins wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 am
tecrp7 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
Hello,
Could you please share what those settings were for Lorex 4k cameras? I recently purchased Costco 4K Lorex security set with 6 cameras and am trying to setup the Qnap as a backup to the nvr that came with it. I'm attempting to set the camera's as ONVIF and it doesn't seem to connect to them. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Sorry for such a really late reply. I don't get emails when someone quotes me for some reason.

To answer your question, when using the ONVIF profile in QVR Pro, the NAS will not be able to automatically change settings on the camera. What you have to do, is match the settings on the camera and the profile on the NAS in order for it to recognise the camera. This is a tedious task because even the bitrate can have an affect on it. Once you finally match the settings, then everything will work fine besides changing configs via the NAS.

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:35 am
by tommyhartantow
tecrp7 wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:33 pm
spillins wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 am
tecrp7 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
Hello,
Could you please share what those settings were for Lorex 4k cameras? I recently purchased Costco 4K Lorex security set with 6 cameras and am trying to setup the Qnap as a backup to the nvr that came with it. I'm attempting to set the camera's as ONVIF and it doesn't seem to connect to them. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Sorry for such a really late reply. I don't get emails when someone quotes me for some reason.

To answer your question, when using the ONVIF profile in QVR Pro, the NAS will not be able to automatically change settings on the camera. What you have to do, is match the settings on the camera and the profile on the NAS in order for it to recognise the camera. This is a tedious task because even the bitrate can have an affect on it. Once you finally match the settings, then everything will work fine besides changing configs via the NAS.

the change is done on the IP camera? my camera is coming from unknown chinese manufacturers which i am not sure the setting can be changed. please advise, can the change be done on the qvr pro side to match the setting on the IP camera ? thx

Re: QVR Pro Cam Setup: ONVIF Vs Specific Model?

Posted: Wed Dec 11, 2019 1:41 am
by tecrp7
tommyhartantow wrote:
Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:35 am
tecrp7 wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 11:33 pm
spillins wrote:
Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:34 am
tecrp7 wrote:
Sat Feb 03, 2018 12:28 am
I recently bought a couple of the Lorex 4k cameras. These are not on the supported list for QNAP; however, I am able to use the ONVIF ProfileS Camera settings. The problem when using the ONVIF profile is that QNAP doesn't officially talk to the camera. I found out after days of messing with my setup that I had to mirror the settings on the camera and the QNAP in order for the QNAP to connect to my camera. This includes trying to find the same level of "video quality" on both the camera and QNAP. Now that I have figured that part out, I am able to utilize most of the features of the camera. My next round of testing is going to be testing the ROI capabilities. I have to configure this on the camera as well.

Now, from my research, using the profile for your model camera allows the QNAP to control the camera settings without having to login to your cameras web interface.

I'm hoping that QNAP will add support for the Lorex brand of cameras. I have submitted a request but I ahve also submitted a request many months ago for a certain Panasonic camera and I never heard anything and it still sin't support. I don't have too much faith in QNAP providing support via the "request" feature.
Hello,
Could you please share what those settings were for Lorex 4k cameras? I recently purchased Costco 4K Lorex security set with 6 cameras and am trying to setup the Qnap as a backup to the nvr that came with it. I'm attempting to set the camera's as ONVIF and it doesn't seem to connect to them. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
Sorry for such a really late reply. I don't get emails when someone quotes me for some reason.

To answer your question, when using the ONVIF profile in QVR Pro, the NAS will not be able to automatically change settings on the camera. What you have to do, is match the settings on the camera and the profile on the NAS in order for it to recognise the camera. This is a tedious task because even the bitrate can have an affect on it. Once you finally match the settings, then everything will work fine besides changing configs via the NAS.

the change is done on the IP camera? my camera is coming from unknown chinese manufacturers which i am not sure the setting can be changed. please advise, can the change be done on the qvr pro side to match the setting on the IP camera ? thx
I really need to figure out how to receive emails when quoted.

You should already have your camera's and may already have figured it out; however, I will answer for future search results...

Essentially, my last post before this response still stands in this situation. If the ONVIF profile is needed due to QNAP not having your model listed in their compatibility list, you will need to match the settings in the camera and on QVR Pro. Like I said, it is very tedious, especially if some of the setting in the camera require a camera reboot.

I don't buy generic off brand equipment so I can't state whether that you will be able to modify the settings directly on the camera or not.

I don't want to assume that anybody reading these forums knows enough about networking and how to connect to their devices so I will state it quick and simple. Find the IP address of your device (log into your router and figure out which device is your camera to find the IP address), and navigate to that IP Address via a web browser. If you can connect directly to your device, you should be greeted with a login window. Most default username/passwords are admin/admin or admin/password. You will have to figure that out either by trying these defaults or using Google to find it.