QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
rogsf
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:40 pm

QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by rogsf » Tue Feb 06, 2018 3:23 am

Hi,

I have been a long time user of SS. Just found out about QVR Pro got out of beta. What's the new or cool features in QVR Pro that SS doesn't have?


Thanks much

User avatar
jds580s
Know my way around
Posts: 201
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2009 4:52 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by jds580s » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:35 pm

Perhaps the best summary is here: https://www.qnap.com/solution/qvr-pro-official/en/

If I were to bullet point a few things that I felt were the notable differences
1. It looks like QVR Pro is the future of QNAP's surveillance platform so it will likely see more development and updates than SS going forward
2. QVR Pro has a desktop windows app and mobile apps
3. It has or will have an open API to communicate with other systems
4. Better camera support (360 degree cameras, h.265)
5. Live and recorded playback in the same window

It's been a while since I've used SS so perhaps some of those items have made there way into it as well, but I don't remember them when I was last using it.

Model: TVS-1282-i5-16G
  • Firmware: QTS 4.3.4.0537
  • Network: 10GbE ASUS XG-C100C card, MTU 9k
  • RAID 1: [System] 2x WD Blue M.2 SSD 250GB
  • Single Volume: [QVR Pro Storage] 1x WD Purple 4TB
  • RAID 6: [DATA] 5x HGST HDN728080ALE604 8TB
    • Qtier RAID 1: 2x Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500GB
    • Cache RAID 1: 2x Samsung SSD 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2 in two NGFF PCIe 3.0 x4 adapter cards
Model: TS-459 Pro
  • Firmware: QTS 4.2.6 build 20180504
  • RAID 6: 2x HGST HDN724030ALE640 3TB, x2 Seagate ST3000VN000 3TB
  • External: 4TB HGST eSATA Drive, UPS
  • Network: 1 Gbps, MTU 1500

DataTauk
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:02 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by DataTauk » Fri Feb 09, 2018 11:47 pm

How do the licenses from SS work against QVR? Are they portable? Do you need them?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by storageman » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:03 am

They are not

DataTauk
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:02 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by DataTauk » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:12 am

Not what? Needed or portable? So you can record multiple IP cameras? No longer need to buy licenses?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by storageman » Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:14 am

QVR licenses are different, you cannot use SS licenses, they are not transferable.
But bear in mine you only pay over 8 licences. Basic software gives 8 cameras free subject to some limitations.

QVR Pro Free and QVR Pro

QVR Pro Free is intended for Home and SMB users and includes

• Max recording days: no limit
• Built-in free camera channels: 8
• Ability to add additional camera channels: not supported
• Play back of recordings using the QVR Pro Client: can only play back recent 14 days of videos
• User privilege management: Basic
• QVR Center: 2
• MSRP: Free

QVR Pro is intended for anyone that wants more than what the free version offers

• Max recording days: no limit
• Built-in free camera channels: 16 included
• Ability to add additional camera channels: Yes
• Play back of recordings using the QVR Pro Client: no limitation
• User privilege management: Full function (WindowsAD, LDAP)
• QVR Center: No limitation
• MSRP: Pricing may have changed

DataTauk
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:02 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by DataTauk » Sat Feb 10, 2018 3:18 am

Ty for this detail.

okenny
Know my way around
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by okenny » Sun Feb 11, 2018 6:27 pm

so have any of you made the change from SS to QVR recently? Would you recommend it?
QNAP TVS-1282-i7K-40G with Corsiar H5 SF watercooling, 3x 80mm PWM Noctua fans, 1x 60mm PWM Noctua fan, Corsair SF450 PSU

okenny
Know my way around
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by okenny » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:02 am

no one?
QNAP TVS-1282-i7K-40G with Corsiar H5 SF watercooling, 3x 80mm PWM Noctua fans, 1x 60mm PWM Noctua fan, Corsair SF450 PSU

DataTauk
Starting out
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:02 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by DataTauk » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:26 am

okenny wrote:no one?


I have made the change. So far it is looking good. It found all my cameras very easily. The client is very intuitive. Scrubbing the playback is smooth and easy. So far no complaints. I did feel the recording is taking up more room that my SS. But I need to compare those settings.

no8080
Know my way around
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:00 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by no8080 » Wed Feb 14, 2018 7:53 pm

I will be migrating soon to QVR pro, as I need x265 support for my cameras, the bandwidth of x264 is eating up my network.

The first thing you need to realise is that you can not run QVR Pro unless you create a new data volume on your raid/jbod storage pool. So if you have a setup at the moment where your volume(s) consume all of your HDD space then it wont work for you.

Second thing is that if you want more than 14 days recording, it is going to cost you $399 for the extra license.

I have a new 1673, and as normal I made my datavol the size of my storage pool and couldn't run QVR, had to delete and recreate my data volumes.

Neil

mhz
Starting out
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by mhz » Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:07 pm

Can anyone tell me if QVR is only supporting the newer NAS units from QNAP? I can't seem to find the app in the app center

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4994
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by storageman » Thu Feb 15, 2018 7:13 pm

mhz wrote:Can anyone tell me if QVR is only supporting the newer NAS units from QNAP? I can't seem to find the app in the app center


Not specifically new models.
What model you have, firmware version, give us a clue?
NAS System Requirements:
(1) x86-based (64-bit) QNAP NAS with at least 4GB RAM (8GB RAM is recommended for the smoothest usage experience).

benfishbus
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2016 6:12 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by benfishbus » Wed Mar 28, 2018 7:12 am

The 14 day playback limitation seems like an arbitrary and pointless restriction that even home users are likely to find too limiting.

jsteng
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2018 7:48 am

Re: QVR Pro vs. Surveillance Station?

Post by jsteng » Sat Mar 31, 2018 10:51 pm

Is QVR Pro (free) available for TS431P NAS?

benfishbus wrote:The 14 day playback limitation seems like an arbitrary and pointless restriction that even home users are likely to find too limiting.

yeah, 14 days is indeed too short.. then again, maybe low end NAS has insufficient capacity to record more than 14 days anyways..

Post Reply

Return to “Surveillance Solution”