QVR PRO Camera Disconnects

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
Post Reply
wilsodg
Know my way around
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 12:34 am

QVR PRO Camera Disconnects

Post by wilsodg » Fri May 24, 2019 6:25 am

I have an 872xt with 32gb running QTS4.4. 8 cameras streaming to QVR pro- various types of Vivotek. 1GB Wired LAN. Home environment. Netgear switches. Previously used Surveilance Station and worked fine. Can also stream directly to the NAS from the cameras using network share. No interrupts. We stream video (Plex) - no problems. Under QVR pro I get disconnects particularly if I log into QVR pro and do anything (maintenance even looking at logs). All the cameras will disconnect for a minute, and then log back in. Data coming in is 2MB/so hardly stressing the system. Cameras are 1080p res. Any ideas on how to resolve? Considered placing cameras on own clan or subnet and into dedicated network port (but I don’t think it is a network issue). Any way to tweak qvrpro so it gets more memory/ resource ( or to know what is causing this)? I have in a separate storage pool writing to a WD purple disk not raided and not cached.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4927
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR PRO Camera Disconnects

Post by storageman » Fri May 24, 2019 9:41 pm

Sounds like a NIC issue.
Try trunking the 1Gb ports.

So what's the 10GbE and TB ports doing, anything?

wilsodg
Know my way around
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 12:34 am

Re: QVR PRO Camera Disconnects

Post by wilsodg » Fri May 24, 2019 10:18 pm

Thanks for taking time to read and suggestion. I tried combining the ports previously (Link Aggregation?) but tbh never really got any increase. Maybe a switch thing there. I agree it might be an NIC except the total camera throughput is at most 80mbits/s and it’s 8 sessions. TB and 10GB not doing anything atm - will need to upgrade the backbone for that - but 1Gb should easily handle it. Also don’t understand why QVRP is losing all cameras at once - if it was one or two, but all 8? But that’s why I considered putting them on a different dedicated subnet and dedicating the second NIC to QVRP.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4927
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR PRO Camera Disconnects

Post by storageman » Fri May 24, 2019 10:44 pm

And are you on latest qvr pro, 1.2.1.3?
And is the Vivotek model approved?

wilsodg
Know my way around
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 12:34 am

Re: QVR PRO Camera Disconnects

Post by wilsodg » Fri May 24, 2019 11:39 pm

I am on QTS 4.4.0.0931 build 20190510.
QVRP 1.2.1.3
The vivotek cameras are all onvif compliant and are detected /identified by QVRP . The camera models are listed in the drop-down boxes so I assume supported.

I’ll try setting up second NIC and binding QVRP only to that link


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wilsodg
Know my way around
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 12:34 am

Re: QVR PRO Camera Disconnects

Post by wilsodg » Mon May 27, 2019 12:47 am

Seems to be sorted - put QVR on the other NIC and no dropouts. Thanks for pointer.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Reply

Return to “Surveillance Solution”