QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
Post Reply
agh1701
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:14 am

QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by agh1701 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:13 pm

I have 3 servers running QVR PRO. Multiple times a day I must stop/start the QVR PRO service on all servers because the clients can not connect using AD authentication. The client just hangs "Connecting" . Has anyone else seen this problem?

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 14720
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by dolbyman » Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:07 pm

qnap models?

firmware and build?

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4945
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by storageman » Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:21 pm

agh1701 wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:13 pm
I have 3 servers running QVR PRO. Multiple times a day I must stop/start the QVR PRO service on all servers because the clients can not connect using AD authentication. The client just hangs "Connecting" . Has anyone else seen this problem?
How can you be sure this is a Qnap issue?
When this happens login via SSH and try pinging the DC. Does it ping?

agh1701
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:14 am

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by agh1701 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:47 pm

dolbyman wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:07 pm
qnap models?

firmware and build?
1 TS-EC1280U QVR Pro
2 TS-EC1280U Surveillance Station
3 TS-EC1280U Surveillance Station
4 TVS-EC1280U-SAS-RP QVR Pro
5 TVS-EC1280U-SAS-RP QVR Pro

All Servers use AD authentication the two Surveillance Station servers have no problems only the QVR's.

A better discription of the problem is if the user has ben in QVR all day or logged in multipul time that day he will eventually get stuck connecting. a second user can connect while the first is stuck. the only solution is to stop/start QVR PRO on the server.
Last edited by agh1701 on Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

agh1701
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:14 am

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by agh1701 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:49 pm

storageman wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 10:21 pm
agh1701 wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 9:13 pm
I have 3 servers running QVR PRO. Multiple times a day I must stop/start the QVR PRO service on all servers because the clients can not connect using AD authentication. The client just hangs "Connecting" . Has anyone else seen this problem?
How can you be sure this is a Qnap issue?
When this happens login via SSH and try pinging the DC. Does it ping?
I can login. Yes I can ping. please see above reply for a better description of the problem.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4945
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by storageman » Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:58 pm

Do local accounts have no issues?
Do you really need to use AD accounts? I mean how many users are we talking?

It may well be a firmware issue only Qnap can sort.

agh1701
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:14 am

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by agh1701 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:22 am

storageman wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:58 pm
Do local accounts have no issues?
Do you really need to use AD accounts? I mean how many users are we talking?

It may well be a firmware issue only Qnap can sort.
The local admin does not seem to have an issue. Yes, we need AD AUTH for security. Not having multiple user/password for different system works better for out organization also people are less likely to give out there AD login. A single local or multiple local's will be shared.

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4945
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by storageman » Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:30 am

agh1701 wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:22 am
storageman wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:58 pm
Do local accounts have no issues?
Do you really need to use AD accounts? I mean how many users are we talking?

It may well be a firmware issue only Qnap can sort.
The local admin does not seem to have an issue. Yes, we need AD AUTH for security. Not having multiple user/password for different system works better for out organization also people are less likely to give out there AD login. A single local or multiple local's will be shared.
Perhaps another QVR bug/issue.

agh1701
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:14 am

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by agh1701 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:35 am

storageman wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:30 am
agh1701 wrote:
Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:22 am
storageman wrote:
Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:58 pm
Do local accounts have no issues?
Do you really need to use AD accounts? I mean how many users are we talking?

It may well be a firmware issue only Qnap can sort.
The local admin does not seem to have an issue. Yes, we need AD AUTH for security. Not having multiple user/password for different system works better for out organization also people are less likely to give out there AD login. A single local or multiple local's will be shared.
Perhaps another QVR bug/issue.
Yes, It was working fine until 1 or 2 QVR updates ago. I am a little suppressed that I appear to be the only one having the problem.

ishbell15
Getting the hang of things
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 6:14 am

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by ishbell15 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:24 am

I have the same problem too. cannot figure out why,
my system is NAS 251+ 4.3.6.0979 QCR Pro 1.2.1.4


Hope QNAP can fix it

agh1701
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 26, 2019 7:14 am

Re: QVR Pro just spinning "Connecting"

Post by agh1701 » Wed Jul 10, 2019 9:50 pm

I have now discovered the it does affect the local admin account.

Post Reply

Return to “Surveillance Solution”