Hikvision camera compatability

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
Freightdog
First post

Hikvision camera compatability

Post by Freightdog »

Hi, I'm new to all this NAS and surveillance stuff and looking for some advice.

I want at replace some old wifi cameras with IP ones and incorporate a NAS as a solution to my storage needs and making use of QVR Pro at the same time. The trouble I'm having is finding a camera that suits my requirements and is compatible with QVR. The camera(s) I'm looking at is the HIK DS-2CD2346G2-ISU/SL or the DS-2CD2386G2-ISU/SL, essentially the same camera but with higher pixel rating, but they have the features I need.

I see the 2386G2 is listed, but not with with the "ISU/SL code", does this mean the camera will work but not the audio or light?

Also, if the 8mp one is compatible, why not the 4mp, surely they are the same camera with a different sensor? The firmware on HIK website is V5.5.150 and on the QNAP list it's V5.5.131, does this make any difference?

What I want to do is have the cameras record to the NAS and use all the camera itelligence (line-cross, accusense, motion etc..) I know I can get the intelligence on the phone app when using an SD card in the camera, so I can get alerts that way, which is fine. But will the NAS see these and record the event or will I have to have record continuously?

Any help would be appreciated.
dragerfroe
Starting out

Re: Hikvision camera compatability

Post by dragerfroe »

I am working on a Hikvision DS-2DE3A404IW-DE now, and I have to set it up as an ONVIF device because there is no support for it in QVR Pro 2.0.0.2.
  • Not sure about your light question....maybe.
  • There are some close cameras with the one I have no exact match so none of those others I tried with close model numbers worked.
  • When using ONVIF, I only get the basic motion detection without the smart features on my camera.