QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

QVR Pro, QVR Pro Client, QVR Center and Surveillance Station
Post Reply
adetogni
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:37 pm

QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by adetogni » Wed Feb 17, 2021 5:22 pm

Hi
I have a TS451 with 4 RAID5 disks and 8gb ram. The nas itself is used for backup, occasional local streaming with plex, occasional download, occasional containers/virtual machines. This is to say that "typically" the NAS is idle.

I've a webcam that I want NOT to have opened to the web , so I configured to accept only local connection (I disabled port forwarding) and configured QVR Pro. So when I want to see the stream from outside I have to VPN to the NAS and then I use QVR Pro.

The fact is that QVR Pro is normally silent. The webcam is off (i switch it on only when i leave the house), it's not recording, it's not doing anytihing.

STILL the app is continously hogging my CPU and especially disk IO

Here's the red arrow when I *DISABLED* Qvr Pro
https://screenrec.com/share/scKPkqJtYB

I know and I've read that QVR Pro is hard on resources but...even when it's not doing ANYTHING?

hauntedbg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 5:55 am

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by hauntedbg » Sun Feb 28, 2021 6:25 pm

I have the same problem with TS-253D. I used QVR pro only for motion detection. So even when I turn off the motion detection the hard disk is working. I can hear it and nothing is used on the NAS else. When I stop QVR pro the hard disk stop working. SO QVR pro is using the HDD even if not recording but I don't know why

Sent from my Mi 9T Pro using Tapatalk


AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2315
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by AlastairStevenson » Sun Feb 28, 2021 7:56 pm

I used QVR pro only for motion detection. So even when I turn off the motion detection the hard disk is working. I can hear it and nothing is used on the NAS else. When I stop QVR pro the hard disk stop working. SO QVR pro is using the HDD even if not recording but I don't know why
When using only event or motion detection, there is the 'pre-record delay' capability usually set for 5 seconds or so.
In order to save an event recording starting from that 5 seconds or so before the actual event, QVR Pro needs to be continuously buffering the video from the camera.
So the HDD activity is much the same as it would be if it was doing continuous recording.
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

hauntedbg
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 5:55 am

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by hauntedbg » Mon Mar 01, 2021 4:29 am

This makes sense. But even I don't enable any event, motion detector or recording again rhe HDD is active. Maybe the app.is buffering even if you don't use it.

Sent from my Mi 9T Pro using Tapatalk


User avatar
spile
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 12:13 am

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by spile » Tue Mar 02, 2021 3:45 pm

I do not believe it is possible to use QVRPro without recording 24/7. Events etc are just a subset of that imho.

adetogni
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by adetogni » Tue Mar 02, 2021 6:40 pm

AlastairStevenson wrote:
Sun Feb 28, 2021 7:56 pm
I used QVR pro only for motion detection. So even when I turn off the motion detection the hard disk is working. I can hear it and nothing is used on the NAS else. When I stop QVR pro the hard disk stop working. SO QVR pro is using the HDD even if not recording but I don't know why
When using only event or motion detection, there is the 'pre-record delay' capability usually set for 5 seconds or so.
In order to save an event recording starting from that 5 seconds or so before the actual event, QVR Pro needs to be continuously buffering the video from the camera.
So the HDD activity is much the same as it would be if it was doing continuous recording.
If that's the logic, then by simply disabling (if possible) the pre-recording feature, that should goes off, no?

Also: the only webcam connected to my QVR is actually OFF and I mean with no power. So what is actually recording?

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2315
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by AlastairStevenson » Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:59 pm

I do not believe it is possible to use QVRPro without recording 24/7. Events etc are just a subset of that imho.
As a check, I just changed the QVR Pro configuration for my timelapse camera from 'continuous and event' to 'event only'.
It's now only recording events, it's no longer recording continuously, as confirmed in Playback.
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2315
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by AlastairStevenson » Tue Mar 02, 2021 8:03 pm

Also: the only webcam connected to my QVR is actually OFF and I mean with no power. So what is actually recording?
What shows in the Playback screen in QVR Pro Client, and what is the status as shown in the Camera Settings page of QVR Pro?
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

adetogni
Starting out
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:37 pm

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by adetogni » Wed Mar 03, 2021 10:25 pm

https://screenrec.com/share/MfRypVUJZh

status says "connecting" and "no connection, recording stopped"

User avatar
spile
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 12:13 am

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by spile » Thu Mar 04, 2021 3:36 pm

AlastairStevenson wrote:
Tue Mar 02, 2021 7:59 pm
I do not believe it is possible to use QVRPro without recording 24/7. Events etc are just a subset of that imho.
As a check, I just changed the QVR Pro configuration for my timelapse camera from 'continuous and event' to 'event only'.
It's now only recording events, it's no longer recording continuously, as confirmed in Playback.
I believe in that scenario recording to disk is still necessary so that the start of events are not missed. That does not mean that recordings are available but a buffer would be needed.

AlastairStevenson
Experience counts
Posts: 2315
Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2014 10:34 pm

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by AlastairStevenson » Thu Mar 04, 2021 5:49 pm

If that's the logic, then by simply disabling (if possible) the pre-recording feature, that should goes off, no?
There seems little point in using event recording if you configure it to miss the event.
TS-431+ for storage and media and a bunch of IP cams under Surveillance Station. TVS-473 as files backup and QVR Pro.

static2606
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2021 10:38 pm

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by static2606 » Fri Apr 16, 2021 11:50 pm

Is there an option to just use the ram to store the prerecord and then only record to disk when an event occurs? It would reduce the wear and energy usage considerably...

User avatar
spile
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue May 24, 2016 12:13 am

Re: QVR Pro and continous disk/cpu access

Post by spile » Sat Apr 17, 2021 2:10 pm

I don’t believe so, but you can open a call with Qnap to find out.

Post Reply

Return to “Surveillance Solution”