Drive mapping in Windows

Windows Access Rights Management
Post Reply
bunkle
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:35 pm

Drive mapping in Windows

Post by bunkle » Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:50 pm

I recently switched from Mac to Windows and I'm having trouble mapping mounting a share on my NAS as a windows drive.

Right-clicking the share in the file explorer and choosing "map network drive" takes me through several rounds of local windows authentication (face id) and eventually to a window asking for credentials for the NAS - at this stage it fails after a few attempts with a message saying "we can't sign you in because your domain isn't available..." This is a simple home network with no AD or any complex setup. Following other posts on this forum I downloaded Qfinder Pro which is supposed to have its own "map network drive" menu item in the tools menu but that item is missing and I can't find it elsewhere in the app.

Would be very grateful for some help. I'm sure I'm missing something simple here.

Thanks

Dominic

Mousetick
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:28 pm

Re: Drive mapping in Windows

Post by Mousetick » Sun Nov 22, 2020 4:19 am

The option in the current version of Qfinder Pro is called 'Network Drives' and it's the button to the right of the Login button in the UI. But it won't help you much. It'll display the list of shares on the NAS in Windows Explorer. So you'll be back to where you started. You can't mount shares directly from Qfinder Pro, at least in the version I'm using on Windows 10.

The stuff about the domain would indicate the Windows client or the NAS server is incorrectly configured.

bunkle
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:35 pm

Re: Drive mapping in Windows

Post by bunkle » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:50 pm

Quite possibly misconfigured - I didn't do much configuring on either. Just default settings. I'll fiddle around...

Thanks!

Dominic

Mousetick
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 421
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2017 10:28 pm

Re: Drive mapping in Windows

Post by Mousetick » Mon Nov 23, 2020 8:48 pm

Not sure why you're asked for Windows authentication. You're already signed in to your Windows account... Is this a Microsoft account or a standard local account?
Is this a brand new Windows PC or second-hand? Did you set it up yourself for home use or was it provided by your employer for work?

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”