Qnap not visible on network

Windows Access Rights Management
User avatar
Noeternity
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:10 pm

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by Noeternity » Sun Apr 30, 2017 2:19 pm

For me this issue occurred after the update from 4.2.x to 4.3.3.0154 Build 20170413 final version on a TS-453mini. I got aware of the issue when my Win 10 1703 PC told me, that the backup connection was missing for too long. This used the Server Name.

NAS has a dedicated IP, is in the same workgroup as my PC, same DNS server (had to reset it from google 8.8.8.8 to my local router). Before the update I could reach my NAS by name and by IP, now only by IP.

Interestingly it appears on the Win 10 Network page below multimedia with its name and below storage with its name. Very annoying... :roll:
TS-453 Mini

pavel_b
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:46 pm

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by pavel_b » Mon May 01, 2017 4:13 am

TS-112 and I'm not seeing neither of the SMB/AFP shared folders

[/share/Public] # /etc/init.d/smb.sh restart
Restarting SMB services:
Shutting down SMB services: smbd nmbd.
/etc/init.d/winbind: line 7: /usr/local/samba/sbin/winbindd: No such file or directory
Shutting down winbindd services: winbindd.
done.

Seems like something really screwed up has happened in the latest FW upgrade.

[/share/Public] # ls /usr/local/ -la
drwxr-xr-x 11 admin administ 4096 Apr 30 17:32 ./
drwxr-xr-x 10 admin administ 4096 Apr 30 17:39 ../
drwxr-xr-x 2 admin administ 4096 Apr 13 09:38 amazons3/
drwxr-xr-x 2 admin administ 4096 Apr 30 18:25 bin/
drwxr-xr-x 5 admin administ 4096 Apr 13 09:08 etc/
drwxr-xr-x 3 admin administ 4096 Apr 13 09:39 fs/
drwxr-xr-x 3 admin administ 4096 Apr 30 18:25 lib/
drwxr-xr-x 2 admin administ 4096 Apr 13 09:51 modules/
lrwxrwxrwx 1 admin administ 34 Apr 30 17:32 mysql -> /share/HDA_DATA/.qpkg/qmysql/mysql/
drwxr-xr-x 3 admin administ 4096 Apr 30 18:00 sbin/
drwxr-xr-x 2 admin administ 4096 Apr 13 08:58 share/
drwxr-xr-x 7 admin administ 4096 Apr 13 09:08 ups/

Samba folder to which the winbind points in Samba folder is just completely gone. Any ideas what to do with this mess?

Thanks

pavel_b
New here
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jun 08, 2013 8:46 pm

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by pavel_b » Tue May 02, 2017 3:56 am

Manual load of same latest code revision via CLI took care of the shared folder problem with Samba.

MichaelAsg
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 12:34 am

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by MichaelAsg » Sun May 14, 2017 11:36 pm

make sure you're on the same netmask

IronFly
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 2:23 pm

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by IronFly » Mon May 15, 2017 7:55 pm

i'm facing the same issue on my TS-212
it was working fine until the last firmware update 4.3.3, i can reach any folder using IP but not host name.

ensignvorik
Easy as a breeze
Posts: 338
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2012 8:24 pm

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by ensignvorik » Mon May 15, 2017 8:10 pm

IronFly wrote:i'm facing the same issue on my TS-212
it was working fine until the last firmware update 4.3.3, i can reach any folder using IP but not host name.


Try this thread viewtopic.php?f=185&t=131973

You're probably going to need to do the workaround and wait for a fix.
Unless I'm being blind, I can't find the setting to change what kind of QNAP I have on my profile. I now own a TS-253A

ushere
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 3:12 pm

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by ushere » Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:56 pm

i've read this thread end to end but am still no better off....

qfinder finds my ts112p with no problem and will bring up win 10 explorer using ip address. all's well - however, trying to access directly from 'network' in explorer doesn't show nas, just link as media device. on occasions, it WILL show up under network in explorer, but this is pretty random.

i've checked all i could in the thread, and my modem - dlink 2877al all to no avail.

any 'simple' direction as to how to get it to show up again under explorer (on all three connected pc's) gratefully accepted,

tia

lemonbiter
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:27 am

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by lemonbiter » Sun Sep 03, 2017 3:46 am

Hi there
same issue her with a brand new TVS-879 running 4.3.3.0262 Bulit 20170727

I found a "painful" workaround

Whenever the NAS is visible but not accessible from Windows Explorer log into the NAS via Browser and change the "Highest SMB version" from whatever it is set to any other version and hit "Apply". Now Windows Explorer will see the NAS and you can open the files via the explorer.

This works either until next windows reboot and sometimes 3 or four days long.
Next time you are not able to access the NAS via windows explorer, same thing, change SMB version from what you set last time back to any other value... Boom...

Where to change that: "Control Panel" --> "Network Access" --> "Win/Mac/NFS" on "Microsoft Networking" --> "Advanced Option" --> Highest SMB version:"

David Morrow
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 10:59 am

Re: Qnap not visible on network

Post by David Morrow » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:00 pm

If, at any time, you are able to get your NAS to appear in Windows Explorer, right click on it and select "Pin To Quick Access". I did this before this problem arose so it became my link to the past. Now when I open Win Explorer, my NAS it there in Quick Access at the top. As soon as I click on it, the NAS immediately appears under "Network" along with all of its shares.

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”