VM backup leave snapshot ???

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
fabrice_77
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:59 am

VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby fabrice_77 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 2:03 am

QNAP version 4.3.3.0210
VirtualStaton 3.0.2385

Hello,

Warning if you use virtualstation and need to schedule backup !!!
Each time you backup a vm, the process will leave a snapshot of the disk. I Have asked the support of QNAP and the response : after 17 backup, he will remove the oldest. So you will have big problem with the perf and so on...
If someone can help on this topic, he is welcome :-)

In the version qnap 4.2, the backup process works fine
1. take a snapshot
2. make backup
3. pause vm
4. remove snapshot


Kind regards
Fabrice

DaRootler
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:55 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby DaRootler » Mon Jun 26, 2017 4:48 pm

Hi,

i just submitted a ticket because leaving a snapshot isn't the correct process for backing up VMs.

Regards
Richard
Last edited by DaRootler on Tue Jun 27, 2017 4:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

fabrice_77
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:59 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby fabrice_77 » Mon Jun 26, 2017 9:42 pm

Good luck with the support... After one month with the support, I cannot write below their response... Do you want my ticket number ?

I will write a script based on : http://wiki.libvirt.org/page/Live-disk- ... lockcommit

Kind regards
Fabrice

thenetstriker
Starting out
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby thenetstriker » Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:41 pm

I have the same problem. Snapshots are not deleted after backup. Did you find a way to delete the snapshots manually?

fabrice_77
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:59 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby fabrice_77 » Sat Jul 01, 2017 9:56 pm

Hello,

I you want to remove the snapshot manually without a stop of the VM, you can suspend the VM and remove the snapshot. But you need to that after every backup.

Kind regards
Fabrice

fabrice_77
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:59 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby fabrice_77 » Mon Jul 31, 2017 9:48 pm

DaRootler wrote:Hi,

i just submitted a ticket because leaving a snapshot isn't the correct process for backing up VMs.

Regards
Richard

Do you have a feedback from the support ?

Kind regards
Fabrice

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4155
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby Trexx » Mon Jul 31, 2017 10:08 pm

Were the snapshots previously running when the VM was running under VS2?

Does this behavior still happen to a VM that was created from scratch under VS 3?
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.3.5.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB Kit DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4, Roku Stick

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.5.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

DaRootler
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:55 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby DaRootler » Tue Aug 01, 2017 12:33 am

fabrice_77 wrote:
DaRootler wrote:Hi,

i just submitted a ticket because leaving a snapshot isn't the correct process for backing up VMs.

Regards
Richard

Do you have a feedback from the support ?

Kind regards
Fabrice


It's a confirmed bug but there is no release date for a fix. The ticket status is open.

Regards
Richard

fabrice_77
New here
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:59 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby fabrice_77 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 6:13 pm

DaRootler wrote:
fabrice_77 wrote:
DaRootler wrote:Hi,

i just submitted a ticket because leaving a snapshot isn't the correct process for backing up VMs.

Regards
Richard

Do you have a feedback from the support ?

Kind regards
Fabrice


It's a confirmed bug but there is no release date for a fix. The ticket status is open.

Regards
Richard

Thanks a lot your feedback, I reopen my ticket to have also a confirmation for a release date. In between, I think that I will do my backup manually.
Kind regards
Fabrice

onteck
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:39 pm

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby onteck » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:46 pm

Hi im trying this out on a VM station 3.xx and having the same results on a brand new build.
so i delete the vm server (testing) and try to restore, failure. on restoring
Restore task [xxxserver] (from /VMBackups/xxxserver_backup/57db5be7-810d-4839-9674-c4f11820dd72-1534107604) failed .

tried 3 now same result, what if this is production and i only have qnaps backup, we use acronis as well so hopefully will be ok.

onteck
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2018 11:39 pm

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby onteck » Thu Aug 16, 2018 9:48 pm

ok further to my issue, i can restore to the backup location, but one of the volumes is missing WTFis this software on
how do i move the server back to its original storage and get one of the drives back

ktheking
Starting out
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 5:32 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby ktheking » Wed Sep 12, 2018 8:24 pm

Qnap support confirmed this is a bug ,and R&D is looking into it. When I ask what the status and forecast is for the bugfix they stay silent.
If you want to get things moving to get this fixed ,leave as many as possible posts on this matter on reviews , forums , and all possible social media.
Only then you could get this on a higher priority.

Qnap does not care less that this is filling up the customers disks for nothing.

DaRootler
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:55 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Postby DaRootler » Thu Sep 13, 2018 1:43 am

QNAP support closed my ticket opened on 26.06.2017... I reopend the ticket now with the comment "Why is this ticket closed?"

Regards
Richard


Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest