VM backup leave snapshot ???

thenetstriker
Starting out
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by thenetstriker » Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:10 pm

I have now also created a support ticket for this issue to remind QNAP of this problem.

My suggestion would be to change this to a configurable incrementail/full backup concept. As an example the backup should e.g. just create a new snapshot every week and also just copy this snapshot to the backup drive. And then for instance every month a full backup should be created and all snapshots should be deleted before or after the full backup. This way the backup would use much less backup space and would also be much faster on incremental backups.

Darko
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:10 pm

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by Darko » Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:12 pm

I created a ticket too and just got an answer of the german support team:
The behavior is known and the developer team is working on it. But they can't say anything about the schedule.
So keep waiting :?
I'm curious how long …

DaRootler
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2013 3:55 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by DaRootler » Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:31 pm

Darko wrote:I created a ticket too and just got an answer of the german support team:
The behavior is known and the developer team is working on it. But they can't say anything about the schedule.
So keep waiting :?
I'm curious how long …


I am getting the same answer since one year...

Regards
Richard

ktheking
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 5:32 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by ktheking » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:46 pm

update from qnap support :

Fingerpointing ping pong has started. Now it's not qnap that"s the cuplrit , but it's the guys at Qemu that are to blame and to wait for.

https://launchpad.net/qemu
https://wiki.qemu.org/Main_Page

I kindly waived that off ,since clearly on the qnap website ,it's says Qnap is the maintainer of Virtualization Station.
There's not even a bug open at qemu for this issues ,so qnap didn't enter anything.
Guys , make sure qnap does not close your incident on this. If needed open up a new one if not solved.
Keeping on the pressure ...

kommy
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 10:11 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by kommy » Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:42 am

Totally agree, this is QNAPs problem. Still having no luck with support as they wont even acknowledge the issue.
Does anyone have an alternative point of contact?

ericvb
Starting out
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:58 am
Location: Belgium

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by ericvb » Sat Nov 17, 2018 9:52 pm

Is there already a status update on this issue?
TVS-EC880, 4 x Seagate 4Tb ST4000VN000 in RAID 5 = ~ 10Tb

CAP996
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:14 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by CAP996 » Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:19 am

Same here with latest Firmware installed. Will open a ticket too.

jknight2
New here
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 11:16 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by jknight2 » Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:15 pm

So my question is simple - I have my image0.img and then 30 snapshot files (image0.1525574733 - image0.1543215608) So what can I delete safely without causing an issue with my working VM. In VMWare land, I need to "Delete" the snapshots and that command is actually consolidating all the snapshots back into the single image.

Just need to know the ramifications of deleting those snapshots, it works but it is a little strange how it handles the files. At first, I thought the growing number of files was part of the image, so it is actually ONE file for the image?

Not sure if this helps - but I have two QNAPs and I have started a remote restore - my assumption is that it will only pull over the single image and not the snapshots so I can delete the old files safely once I know it is working on the new one.

ktheking
Starting out
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 29, 2018 5:32 am

Re: VM backup leave snapshot ???

Post by ktheking » Mon Dec 17, 2018 6:33 pm

@jknight2 : You can't delete snapshots without causing an issue with the working VM. It's best to delete the backups ,and stop creating new backups. After that you can delete the snapshots. I stopped using the scheduled vm backups until this is sorted. Do contact support if you're getting into problems. Make sure you take yourself a backup image from a livecd before fiddling with it ,because you might end up with a non working vm due the neverending consolidation time.

Post Reply

Return to “Virtualization Station”