Setting up TS-883XU-RP for Hyper-V

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
Post Reply
JasonW
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:13 pm

Setting up TS-883XU-RP for Hyper-V

Post by JasonW » Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:59 pm

Hi All.

I am new to QNAP devices and not needed to use a NAS device in this manner so this is quite new to me. We recently purchased a TS-883XU-RP to use as our mass storage for our company. The plan is for our Hyper-V server (HP DL385p Gen8) to be the host and connect to the NAS via iSCSI. I have done this with no issues and during testing, had no issues at all. Was able to copy mass data (~4TB) with no issues at all. However, now it is connected to the live system, I have teamed the NICs and configured the switch for 802.3ad dynamic as per https://kb.netgear.com/000053559/How-do ... a-QNAP-NAS and this seems to work fine.

My issues arise when I try to copy the data from the existing servers to the new VM (although this could be a coincidence). The iSCSI connector drops and cant reconnect due to the Hyper-V host not being able to access servers outside of the vSwitch. Once I regain the connection, I will leave the servers to run with no data transfer to see if the connection drops.

My question is that are there steps that I have missed that can be causing this issue? Is there a best practice that I need to follow and where can i find it?

Thanks.

JasonW
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:13 pm

Re: Setting up TS-883XU-RP for Hyper-V

Post by JasonW » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:29 pm

Hi All.
As I am getting no information from either QNAP or Microsoft, seems a bit of a unique issue linked to the NICs and iSCSI from my research, I am going to approach this differently. I have sourced the fibre patch lead and will be connecting the NAS to my server directly via the fibre connection. Is there any documentation on setting this up? Any pit falls or potential issues you may help me to avoid?
Thanks.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18172
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Setting up TS-883XU-RP for Hyper-V

Post by dolbyman » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:36 pm

I would (personally) ditch the sfp card for a 10GbE card...10GbE should be quite enough for 8 spinning disks

you said it was working fine when you set it up with one of the 1gbe ports..right ?

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Setting up TS-883XU-RP for Hyper-V

Post by storageman » Tue Jan 14, 2020 10:52 pm

Do not use LAG for ISCSI you use MPIO and separate IPs.
And do not turn on jumbo frames while troubleshooting.
Really you shouldn't be getting issues if you've configured the network properly.

http://files.qnap.com/news/pressresourc ... g_MPIO.pdf

JasonW
New here
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2020 8:13 pm

Re: Setting up TS-883XU-RP for Hyper-V

Post by JasonW » Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:20 am

@dolbyman, correct did work perfectly fine with 1Gbe, can you recommend a card for the TS-883XU-RP?
@storageman, thanks for the link, I will take a look in the morning.
Thanks to you both for the info.

dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 18172
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Setting up TS-883XU-RP for Hyper-V

Post by dolbyman » Wed Jan 15, 2020 1:00 am

JasonW wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 12:20 am
@dolbyman, correct did work perfectly fine with 1Gbe, can you recommend a card for the TS-883XU-RP?
https://www.qnap.com/en/compatibility/? ... ategory=11

https://shop.qnap.com/index.php?route=p ... uct_id=250

Post Reply

Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”