Page 1 of 2

ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 8:22 pm
by bluemoon22
I have a TS-453A and I would like to run my QNAP as the Hypervisor host for some VMs.

It looks as if I can install VMware on my QNAP here:

https://www.qnap.com/solution/virtualization/en-uk/

Does anyone know where to find the setup instructions for this ?

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 10:50 pm
by dolbyman
esxi you normally install on bare metal, as a vm host/hypervisor

i doubt you could replace the qnap firmware with a modified version of esxi and make everything work

if you want to run vm's ..qnap can do that natively

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2016 12:40 am
by Trexx
In your link above, they are talking about using the QNAP as an ESXi storage device, not using it for running ESXi hypervisor itself.

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Sat Oct 08, 2016 2:59 pm
by santiagax99
It's possible to run ESXi hypervisor host inside VM on QNAP with some limitations (32bits VMs only/poor performance/tricky configuration required).

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 7:40 pm
by bluemoon22
Thanks for the pointers - I am playing with the Virtualisation Server now

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 11:25 pm
by storageman
santiagax99 wrote:It's possible to run ESXi hypervisor host inside VM on QNAP with some limitations (32bits VMs only/poor performance/tricky configuration required).


Surely you jest! This is not supported.

You can
1.Run a Windows/Linux OS in NAS Virtualization Station (Virtio Hypervisor):
2.Mount/run a Vmware/Windows VM on NAS NFS or ISCSI block storage (subject to certification with MS/Vmware).

You cannot run ESXi on a Qnap in Virtualization Station.

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 2:25 am
by ddbyam
Hello,

Was wondering if you were able to install esxi on your qnap using virtualization station?

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:54 am
by dolbyman
as said before..why do "virtuaception"?

either esxi storage target ..or nothing ..as esxi installs on bare metal

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:04 am
by ddbyam
Okay thanks but I I have a tvs-473 I was able to run the install.
I used Passthrough for the processor
Its to the network card install nfs41client failed to load.
I had this problem when I installed on GIGABYTE
Anyone has vib files for TVS-473?

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 8:34 am
by dolbyman
so let me get this

install esxi under vmstation ... and then run vm's under esxi? not sure if proof of concept or if you actually want to run machines that way

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Mon Jan 23, 2017 10:50 am
by ddbyam
Yes install esxi in virtualizationStation 3 like you would by installing a nested vmware lab
http://www.vladan.fr/how-to-setup-neste ... rkstation/

I'm doing it not for work more for studying.
The TVS-473 is a 64bit NAS which I have 64 GB ram installed
I ran into a problem with esxi 6 and network drive not being available for GIGABYTE I was able to get a vib file to inject into esxi iso.
So its the same issue with Intel Pro/1000 MT I need a VIB to inject into esxi 6 iso.

http://www.virten.net/2015/04/esxi-6-0- ... byte-brix/

Once I get that I'm golden.
Then i can build my vmware lab for study on my NAS.
Your pretty much doing the same thing on a PC but on a NAS that has VM workstation

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:46 am
by ddbyam
Hey guys,

if your running VS 3.0 beta 3.0.2096
Firmware 4.3.3.0095
You can get esxi 6.0 and 6.5 installed although its not supported on the TVS-473 NAS.
Just did it now and its working nicely.
So far........
Haven't tried much as yet, but i can access the esxi host via ip address.
Got alot further than before.

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 12:08 am
by JhmJong
Hi, vSphere doesn't need bare metal hardware, it runs also vrtualized platform like VMware workstaton. Thats no probleem at all.
I'm running vSphere ESXi 6.5 on my Qnap now. I've used the IDE Controller and the Intel Gigabit Ethernet Network Controller. But I still can't run 64Bit VM's in de vSphere environment. It has something to do with the passttough of the VT bit.
When I'm starting windows 2012 in vSphrere in Qnap virtualiztion , I got the error:Mode CPUID power on failed.
Starting a 32 bit O.S. like windows 7 is no problem.

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 1:02 am
by dolbyman
you have to enable the vt-x pass-through...search for it in the forum find a guide

Re: ESXi on QNAP

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2017 6:02 am
by ddbyam
Spoke with qnap tech support.
4.3.3 beta doesn't support nested vm for 64 bit.
The qnap software is still x86 arch in someways.
They will be switching soon.
So for now it's not going to work.
Maybe in the next few beta releases it will.
So stay tune.