VM Img file confusing me

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
Post Reply
jamescodefour
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:52 pm

VM Img file confusing me

Post by jamescodefour » Wed Jun 21, 2017 8:51 pm

Hi, we have a Win 2012 VM running on a QNAP TVS-871 U-RP

The img file that is running does not change in size form the day I created it. However lots of other files appear around it, usually 1 per day, all over 1GB in size. See screen shot

If I try and mount the img file on another QNAP it runs fine but with data from the day it was created (08/06/17)

so why isn't the img file growing over time? how would I mount the server on another QNAP then?

Image

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4938
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: VM Img file confusing me

Post by Trexx » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:28 pm

You have enabled VM Snapshots and those other files are the snapshots/delta's of your changes. That is why your original IMG file hasn't changed.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

jamescodefour
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:52 pm

Re: VM Img file confusing me

Post by jamescodefour » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:32 pm

how do i disable snapshots? there is no backup routine set with Virtualization station

jamescodefour
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:52 pm

Re: VM Img file confusing me

Post by jamescodefour » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:39 pm

I have had a backup option set int the past. the VM wont have been powered down since then......

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4938
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: VM Img file confusing me

Post by Trexx » Wed Jun 21, 2017 10:49 pm

You would need to disable backup option then power down the VM. I think that will clear it (although I haven't played with that option myself).
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

Post Reply

Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”