Virtual switch : how to block internet access ?

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
Post Reply
Tryphon
Starting out
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:02 am

Virtual switch : how to block internet access ?

Post by Tryphon » Fri Jul 07, 2017 8:49 pm

Hello,

I use a virtual machine (VM) under Virtualization Station 3. No way to define shared folders like in Virtualization Station 2 ?
Ok, I try to use virtual switch. Fine it's working ... but it's working too much! Whatever I do, I cannot block internet access to my VM : even if I block the MAC address of the network adapter used for the virtual switch in my router settings !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :shock:

What about the security ? I want to give local network access to my VM, and only this.

Your ideas are welcome.

Thank you.

QTS 4.3.3 (TS-653)

User avatar
Moogle Stiltzkin
Ask me anything
Posts: 7738
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 12:21 am
Location: Around the world....
Contact:

Re: Virtual switch : how to block internet access ?

Post by Moogle Stiltzkin » Fri Jul 07, 2017 9:08 pm

i would like to know too please :shock:

*free bump
NAS
[Main Server] QNAP TS-877 w. 4tb [ 3x HGST Deskstar NAS (HDN724040ALE640) & 1x WD RED NAS ] EXT4 Raid5 & 2 x m.2 SATA Samsung 850 Evo raid1 + 16gb ddr4 Crucial + QWA-AC2600 wireless adapter.
[Backup] QNAP TS-653A w. 5x 2TB Samsung F3 (HD203WI) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-659 Pro II 1x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
[^] QNAP TS-509 Pro w. 4x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS) EXT4 Raid5
[^] QNAP TS-228 w. 1x 1TB WD RE3 (WD1002FBYS)
[^] QNAP TS-128
Mobile NAS TBS-453DX w. 2x Crucial MX500 500gb EXT4 raid1

Network
Asus AC68U Router|100dl/50ul MBPS FTTH Internet | Windows 10, WC PC-Intel i7 920 Ivy bridge desktop (1x 512gb Samsung 850 Pro SSD + 1x 4tb HGST Ultrastar 7K4000)


Guides & articles
[Review] Moogle's QNAP experience
[Review] Moogle's TS-877 review

https://www.patreon.com/mooglestiltzkin

Tryphon
Starting out
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:02 am

Re: Virtual switch : how to block internet access ?

Post by Tryphon » Mon Jul 10, 2017 6:13 pm

As usually, you make me work Philippe :lol:

Well, about my first try with Virtual Switch, I did not activate the NAT function (third step of the Virtual Switch service Set up). And my VM access to the internet.

I tried to activate the NAT just to see : no difference. I did not map anything by myself ...

Moreover, I cannot see the bridge mode option in the Virtual Switch settings built under QTS 4.3.3 (https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... ual-switch, 2.e. §).

What I did in the meantime better : banning the virtual MAC address in my router and this blocks the VM access to the internet.

Like Jean-Jacques Goldman said in a song : "c'était mieux avant" when we could simply define shared folders without the need to activate a virtual network adapter for the VM :wink:

But I really prefer to set this inside the NAS and not in my router and especially not in the VM hosting a Windows OS.

Thank you.

Post Reply

Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”