Virtualise QNAP OS on the QNAP?

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
Post Reply
seedy21
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:44 pm

Virtualise QNAP OS on the QNAP?

Post by seedy21 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:53 pm

Hi,

I have a QNAP 251 with 8GB of RAM and I am looking at running a website. As I have all my back-ups for my laptops with Family photos. What I would like to do is run a Virtual QNAP OS and run it on the second NIC Card so that only that is available for HTTP/HTTPS/ FTP access so if it gets compromised they won't have access to my personal files.

Would this be possible? I know I could download something like CentOS Server instead, but I prefer the QNAP GUI.

Thanks

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4933
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Virtualise QNAP OS on the QNAP?

Post by Trexx » Sun Feb 04, 2018 10:41 pm

Currently the only NAS supporting vQTS (virtual QTS) is the new TS-x77 platform.

There are other alternatives such as running Apache/etc. in a docker container that would give you some of the isolation you are looking for, but to be honest I probably would just spend a couple bucks a month and get a hosted website on an external provide like Squarespace.

It is a lot safer and then you don't have to worry about the security headaches, the downtime impacts of patching/updates/etc. on your NAS.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

seedy21
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:44 pm

Re: Virtualise QNAP OS on the QNAP?

Post by seedy21 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:44 am

Thanks for the quick reply Trexx.

As I don't really have a lot of money to use on this I guess I will have to go with CentOS and Centos Webpanel.

Post Reply

Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”