Page 1 of 1

pfSense VM issues

Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 4:17 am
by P3R
I'm a happy user of pfSense on both dedicated hardware and VMware but finally got around to test pfSense on the Qnap as well.

I downloaded the VM from this page and followed the instructions for importing a VM on this page.

As this pfSense instance is intended to be only a test installation at this point I have the VM configured to have it's WAN interface on my physical LAN and it's LAN on another virtual switch to which I have Linux VM connected for testing.

The problem I noticed before even starting to do any testing was that when the pfSense VM have been running for a while, the Virtualization Station administration no longer opens once it have been closed. It just stay a white window for a long time and eventually (15-30 minutes or something) time out with an error message. As soon as I initate a halt of the pfSense VM, the VS administration windows open normally again

Is anybody else noticing this behaviour or is a pfSense VM working for you?

I'm running this on a TS-1277-1600 with 32 GB RAM (43 % used), QTS 4.3.4.0551 build 2018-04-13 and Virtualization Station version 3.1.51 (2018-03-28).
pfSense_VM.jpg

Re: pfSense VM issues

Posted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:39 pm
by pkelecy
Hi P3R. I don't have an answer to your question, but I just got a reply from someone on the Netgate forum who is running the pfSense app on their TS-677. You might be able to compare notes. If there is a bug in the app, I would think Negate might want to help. Good luck with it.

https://forum.netgate.com/topic/131972/ ... qnap-nas/3

Re: pfSense VM issues

Posted: Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:12 am
by P3R
Thank you for responding!

This was only a first pfSense-in-VS test for me and currently I don't have the time to investigate it further so it's not a problem and this thread was only to possibly catch anyone running into the same issue, in case many did experience the same thing. Apparently other people with TS-X77 don't have the same so maybe it's just me?