Page 1 of 1

TS-435pro and virtual CPU 100%

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 9:35 am
by Jooki
Model name TS-453 Pro
Firmware version 4.3.6.0776 Build 20181130
Total memory 2 GB (2 GB usable)

i've installed a 32 bit windows 7 because i wanted something not too old but have a low ram consumption since curently my NAS has only 2GB ram, thats why i went for a 32 bit OS.

The config i went by on the vm is single cpu, 1 gb ram, 20gb hdd.

I've worked with virtual machines under windows with virtual red hat 9 (long time ago) and widnows 2003 server and performance was good enough.

The issue im having is that after installing the OS and the Guest Tools the machine is friggin slow, but friggin like... **, level slow, hope host doesnt censore me xD (swearing necessary for dramatic purposes) i mean, 15 minutes reboot, at the virtualization station the machine cpu is sitting at 5-6% while inside the system the cpu is at 100% with just one web browser opened.

Is this to be expected? Should i've done something different? i'm a bit underwelmed tbh :c

Re: TS-435pro and virtual CPU 100%

Posted: Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:18 am
by dolbyman
i run windows 10 eval vm(64bit) with 6gb ram assigned on my 951x .. just fine

remember you are assigning a low power celeron to a vm .. don't expect crazy performance

my base ram config was 2GB as well..and I dont think vm station would even start with less than 4GB

Re: TS-435pro and virtual CPU 100%

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 2:55 am
by Jooki
dolbyman wrote:
Tue Apr 23, 2019 11:18 am
remember you are assigning a low power celeron to a vm .. don't expect crazy performance
i know its a celeron but i find quite weird to see the virtual cpu at 100%, the cpu assigned to this machine on virtualstation at 5-6% and the nas's fisical cpu at 15% :?

Re: TS-435pro and virtual CPU 100%

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:04 am
by Don
Take a look inside windows to see what it is doing.

Re: TS-435pro and virtual CPU 100%

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 11:11 am
by Jooki
Don wrote:
Wed Apr 24, 2019 3:04 am
Take a look inside windows to see what it is doing.
what kind of sysadmin would i be if i hadnt checked that already... iexplorer.exe before and crhome.exe after changing.

Re: TS-435pro and virtual CPU 100%

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 1:13 pm
by Don
A sysadmin that doesn’t reveal all troubleshooting steps. Good luck figuring out the issue.

Re: TS-435pro and virtual CPU 100%

Posted: Wed Apr 24, 2019 9:19 pm
by Toxic17
I'm pretty sure the memory requirements for the system needs more than 1.5GB when Virtualisation station is in use. the reason your NAS is at 100% is it is fighting for resources. put some more memory in your NAS.

when installing Virtualisation station I think it runs a check and tells you your minimum requirements like so:
virtualization_station3_02.png