Page 1 of 1

Change i440FX to Q35?

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:37 pm
by Nexusband
Hi,

We recently got a TS-877XU-RP. It is running the 4.4.1.0949 Build of QTS, Virtualization Station is the most recent one.
As far as i can gather, the "foundation" for all of this is QEMU/KVM. We have a few Proxmox Servers, so i'm not that unfamilliar with QEMU/KVM.
However, Virtualization Station is...odd.

I've managed to get TianoCore/UEFI working, via some trickery with VirtualBox. However, i've set ICH9/Q35 in VirtualBox as Chipset. This is ignored and switched back to i440FX. Is there a reason why VS does not support Q35?
I would like to use SecureBoot as well, but there is no GUI way to change the settings. Where are the config files for the machines at?

Re: Change i440FX to Q35?

Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:27 pm
by dolbyman
best to ask qnap via ticket

there is a lot of settings that are not exposed to gui on vm station

Re: Change i440FX to Q35?

Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 12:32 am
by Trexx
As dolbyman said, best to ask Qnap.

My quess is it is due to the age of QEMU that they are using:

Code: Select all

Compiled against library: libvirt 1.2.19
Using library: libvirt 1.2.19
Using API: QEMU 1.2.19
Running hypervisor: QEMU 2.3.1