LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
Post Reply
azeemhaider23
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:23 pm

LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by azeemhaider23 » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:35 pm

Hello All
i am trying to configure LACP between Cisco switch 3650 QNAP NAS. on NAS side i have 2 Network port combined with IEEE 802.3ad on Cisco switch 2 ports configured LACP Active mode but there is message "LACP currently not enabled on the remote port." i tried both hashing (Layer 2+3 Mac+ IP, Layer 2 MAC)
any Idea how i can fix this issue.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by storageman » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:52 pm


azeemhaider23
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:23 pm

Re: LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by azeemhaider23 » Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:56 pm

Yes, i did select IEEE 802.3ad and i tried both hashing Layer 2 +3 Mac n IP and only Layer 2 MAC, but result is same.

User avatar
storageman
Ask me anything
Posts: 5511
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by storageman » Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:05 am

What Qnap model? I assume it supports IEEE
What firmware version?
Does basic trunking work?
https://www.qnap.com/en/how-to/tutorial ... -qnap-nas/

Also some SSH checking stuff here
viewtopic.php?t=128508

azeemhaider23
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:23 pm

Re: LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by azeemhaider23 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 12:37 am

Model TS-659 Pro II
Firmware 4.2.6
with basic trunking which is Balance-alb i lost connection with NAS.
i connection was via IP address.

User avatar
Toxic17
Ask me anything
Posts: 5680
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:41 pm
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Re: LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by Toxic17 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 2:31 am

I use LACP (Layer 2+3 Mac+ IP) on two of my NAS's and it works against a UniFi USW-16-150W.

maybe something misconfigured on the Cisco Side? are you using LACP for anything else on your Cisco switch?
Regards Simon

QTS 4.x User Guidex

QNAP Club Repository
Submit a ticket • QNAP Helpdesk
QNAP Tutorials, User Manuals, FAQs, Downloads, Wiki
When you ask a question, please include the following


NAS: TS-473-32GB QM2-2P QXG-10G1T 4.5.3.1652 • TVS-463-16GB 4.5.3.1652 QM2-2S10G1TB • TS-459 Pro 2GB 4.2.6 • TS-121 4.3.3.1624 • APC Back-UPS ES 700G
Network: VM Hub3 • UniFi UDM Pro 1.10-0.9 • Controller: 6.2.23 • UniFi US-16-150W/US-8-60W 5.60.3 • USW Mini Flex 1.8.4 • UniFi G3-Flex • AP: AC Pro 5.60.3 • U6-LR 5.60.3

azeemhaider23
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Sep 23, 2019 11:23 pm

Re: LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by azeemhaider23 » Tue Sep 24, 2019 3:05 am

yes i am using with couple of other Cisco switches. you can see PO6 gig1/0/31 is suspended.

Number of channel-groups in use: 6
Number of aggregators: 6

Group Port-channel Protocol Ports
------+-------------+-----------+-----------------------------------------------
1 Po1(SU) LACP Gi1/0/47(P) Gi1/0/48(P)
2 Po2(SU) LACP Gi1/0/45(P) Gi1/0/46(P)
3 Po3(SU) LACP Gi1/0/43(P) Gi1/0/44(P)
4 Po4(SD) LACP Gi1/0/41(D) Gi1/0/42(D)
5 Po5(SU) LACP Gi1/0/39(P) Gi1/0/40(P)
6 Po6(SU) LACP Gi1/0/31(s) Gi1/0/32(P)


==================================
here is configure on Cisco Switch

MDFMAIN#show running-config interface port-channel 6
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 106 bytes
!
interface Port-channel6
switchport access vlan 23
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
end

MDFMAIN#show running-config interface gigabitEthernet 1/0/31
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 187 bytes
!
interface GigabitEthernet1/0/31
description LINK BETWEEN THSNAS TO MDFMAIN
switchport access vlan 23
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
channel-group 6 mode active
end

MDFMAIN#show running-config interface gigabitEthernet 1/0/32
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 187 bytes
!
interface GigabitEthernet1/0/32
description LINK BETWEEN THSNAS TO MDFMAIN
switchport access vlan 23
switchport mode access
switchport nonegotiate
channel-group 6 mode active
end

asm19
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:46 pm

Re: LACP between Cisco 3650 and QNAP

Post by asm19 » Tue Dec 15, 2020 4:50 pm

Hello azeemhaider23,

I have exactly the same problem between Cisco 9200L and QNAP TVS-1272XU-RP.
Works perfectly with the 4.4.0 Build 20190627 firmware and stops working on any of the latest ones.
How did you solve the problem?
On the switch ports I have: "suspended: LACP currently not enabled on the remote port."

Post Reply

Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”