Multiple Monitors with VM

QNAP NAS solution for server virtualization and clustering/HA/FT
Post Reply
FamilyOf5
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:24 am

Multiple Monitors with VM

Post by FamilyOf5 » Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:01 am

I bought a TVS x73 a while back hoping it would be my new desktop utilizing a VM among other things. I would primarily be a windows user although I will likely play around with Linux VMs also. Ideally I would like to have 4 monitors to display applications running in the VM. Is this possible? Do I need a dedicated graphics card? Do I need to virtualize with something other than Virtualization Station? I asked the qnap support team and they did not know how it could be done

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22682
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Multiple Monitors with VM

Post by dolbyman » Tue Nov 17, 2020 12:12 pm

no gpu vm passthrough support on this series

viewtopic.php?t=136183

FamilyOf5
New here
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2020 10:24 am

Re: Multiple Monitors with VM

Post by FamilyOf5 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:20 am

dolbyman wrote:
Tue Nov 17, 2020 12:12 pm
no gpu vm passthrough support on this series

viewtopic.php?t=136183
wow thats really disappointing. I would not have bought this model had I know that ahead of time.
What is the limitation here? CPU compatibility? If so is it possible to upgrade to a compatible CPU?

Is it possible to achieve this type of multiple monitor support with gpu passthrough enabled?

Is it possible without a dedicated graphics card?

User avatar
dolbyman
Guru
Posts: 22682
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:11 am
Location: Vancouver BC , Canada

Re: Multiple Monitors with VM

Post by dolbyman » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:24 am

Some driver issue with the AMD iGPU I guess, not sure

CPU is fixed soldered, not changeable on this model.

If you treat the QNAP as a NAS/Hypervisor only, you can use an external client (RDP on Windows) to connect multiple monitors

Post Reply

Return to “Server Virtualization & Clustering”