Page 1 of 1

QNAP 809 (3.1.2) with VMware and corrupt RedoLog

Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:58 am
by clubhunter
Hi,

I have two 809 (firmware 3.1.2) with raid5 (4 disks) and VMware esxi 4.0 (updated till today).
At both 809's i run two VM's but once every few days i get an Error in Vmware that my Redolog is corrupt and need to poweroff the VM.

This error happens an all the VM's en on both 809's

We tried iSCSI target and NFS but this both gives the same result. We have the idea that it is an IO problem.
But we cannot find a clue in some kind of log file what is the problem.

Is there someone who can help us or has this problem to.

I really hope for an answer!!!

Thank,
Herman

Re: QNAP 809 (3.1.2) with VMware and corrupt RedoLog

Posted: Tue Nov 24, 2009 5:00 am
by clubhunter
Hi,

I forgot to say that all the VM's are windows 2008 SP2 (updated till today)

Thanks

Re: QNAP 809 (3.1.2) with VMware and corrupt RedoLog

Posted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:38 am
by QNAPIvan
Hello, clubhunter
We are having the beta of 3.2.0 now and will officially launch the new firmware very soon.
The 3.2.0 has included the new iSCSI design and also some bug fix as the solution.
It should fix the issue you mentioned afer you update the system to 3.2.0.

Best regards,
Ivan

Re: QNAP 809 (3.1.2) with VMware and corrupt RedoLog

Posted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 5:08 pm
by clubhunter
Hi,

Thanks for the answer. I upgraded and had no problems till this time. So i expect that this was the problem.
Then i heven a few questions.

1. Can you give me an estimate when the firmware will be available?
2. I now created an iSCSI target to use in my VMware but i tried NFS also.
because i can rsync the NFS dirs i would like to use NFS for VMware as datastore.
Can you advise me what to use or give me the considerations to make between iSCSI and NFS.
3. Will there be a posibility to rsync iSCSI targets in the future
4. How can we sync the iSCSI target between two Ts-809's to create failover

I realy hope you can answer these questions.

Thanks in Advance.

ClubHunter

Re: QNAP 809 (3.1.2) with VMware and corrupt RedoLog

Posted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:24 am
by clubhunter
Hi,

Anyone has an answer for these questions??

Thanks
Clunhunter

Re: QNAP 809 (3.1.2) with VMware and corrupt RedoLog

Posted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 3:35 pm
by QNAPJason
Hi clubhunter,

1. Can you give me an estimate when the firmware will be available?

The official v3.2.0 firmware for Intel-based QNAP NAS should come out this weekend.

2. I now created an iSCSI target to use in my VMware but i tried NFS also. because i can rsync the NFS dirs i would like to use NFS for VMware as datastore. Can you advise me what to use or give me the considerations to make between iSCSI and NFS.

If you use NFS, then you can backup the NFS shares by remote replication. You will not be able to use Virtual Machine HA with NFS though, unless it's via iSCSI (VMFS).


3. Will there be a posibility to rsync iSCSI targets in the future

thanks for your suggestion, and we will conside it in the future roadmap.

[url]4. How can we sync the iSCSI target between two Ts-809's to create failover[/url]
this is not currently supported.

Re: QNAP 809 (3.1.2) with VMware and corrupt RedoLog

Posted: Sun Dec 13, 2009 5:08 pm
by clubhunter
THX!

3.2.0 Solves all my problems.

I use the beta 1107 and the 1205 both no problems.