Can't join QNAP to domain

Questions about using Windows AD service.
Post Reply
Banner
New here
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:03 pm

Can't join QNAP to domain

Post by Banner » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:55 am

Hi, I have a QNAP TS 470 Pro with firmware 4.3.3.0262 (date of firmware : 27/07/2017). My domain controller is a W2K8 Server. Unfortunately i cannot join the QNAP to my domain (xxxxxxxx.local). It always gave me these errors message : Microsoft network setting failded. Please check the DNS server, domain name, and username and password for logging in the domain. and in the system log : [Security mode] Failed to join domain. Check the AD Domain Member settings..

I can ping the QNAP in my network. Can someone help me please. :(

User avatar
storageman
Experience counts
Posts: 4537
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2011 10:57 pm

Re: Can't join QNAP to domain

Post by storageman » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:56 pm

Are you double checking you are typing exactly as shown in netbios, it is case sensitive. Can you ping the domain controller in SSH?

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4680
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Can't join QNAP to domain

Post by Trexx » Wed Sep 06, 2017 11:00 pm

You might also try the newly released 4.3.3.0299 build as there were several AD related fixes in it.

See this post for details.
viewtopic.php?f=142&t=135500
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.3.6.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 525GB Crucial MX300 m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB Kit DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4, Roku Stick

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.3.6.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

QPJoerg
First post
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2017 6:01 pm

Re: Can't join QNAP to domain

Post by QPJoerg » Sun Sep 17, 2017 6:08 pm

Hi there,

Same issue when I try the manual mode.
In the wizard I get a different, detailed message: kinit(v5): Additional pre-authentication required while getting initial credentials

I have the build 0299 installed.
What I tried: Short domain admin password; remove complex password rules on AD; disable Microsoft network support.
DNS and NTP is pointing already to the AD server.

Any ideas?

lmecharle
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:58 am

Re: Can't join QNAP to domain

Post by lmecharle » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:06 am

Hi all,
If your server had disable Smb1 support for wannaCry prevention.
You could be test enable temporary SMBv1 support by your AD. Join the domain and disable smbv1 after.
Gave you a link for ssh commanline
https://wiki.samba.org/index.php/Setting_up_Samba_as_a_Domain_Member

I hope this help you.

Kind regards

Post Reply

Return to “Windows Domain & Active Directory”