Page 1 of 1

Roaming Profiles

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:51 am
by Metyrion
Hello Friends,

i am using an TS-453B. Setup a domain und joining with Windows 10 Clients was no problem. Is it possible to use roaming profiles with it or
do i have to setup an Windows Server for that ?

Sorry if this question was already answered.

Thanks and best regards

René

Re: Roaming Profiles

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:07 pm
by storageman
How is this a Qnap question?
Read the documentation on creating roaming profiles

Re: Roaming Profiles

Posted: Tue Sep 12, 2017 10:35 pm
by dolbyman
well I guess OP is asking if the domain controller package in the qnap supports roaming profiles...I think it is a valid qnap related question (that I do not have the answer to)

Re: Roaming Profiles

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 12:19 am
by storageman
My mistake didn't think it was support
Seems possible for domain controller feature
For user profiles:
• Profile path: Specify the shared folder where the roaming profiles are stored. The path specified can be a shared folder name such as /home or /user1profile, or a UNC path such as \\nas.mydomain.local\home.

Re: Roaming Profiles

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:21 am
by dolbyman
in Windows DC you can set user/group policies that would store the profile and some UNC path with a specific folder called %USERPROFILE%

If the QNAP DC implementation does not have that policy, I guess you could set a local group policy with the correct server stored profile location.

https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj649079(v=ws.11).aspx