Can't access QNAP from different subnet

Questions about using Windows AD service.
Post Reply
Labone
Starting out
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:56 pm

Can't access QNAP from different subnet

Post by Labone » Tue Sep 26, 2017 4:00 pm

Hi,
We have 2 offices, both use the same domain but are on 2 different subnets. on the subnet where the QNAP is located it works as it should and users with the correct permissions ( we use AD security ) can access the resources they should be able to.
But from the 2nd office when we try to access the share ( the same user that can access it OK in the first office ) it always asks for a username and password, even if we put in the correct username and password or even the administrator credentials in it keeps asking for username and password...

What i have found though is if i browse to the QNAP using IP address it works fine. so to me this points to a DNS issue, but we can access resources on other servers fine, its just the QNAP we have issues with.

Anyone had the same issue or know what may be causing the issue?

I've checked the Network/DNS settings and all checks out OK.

We have a TS-869U-RP and are on firmware 4.3.3.0188

Thanks,
Mick.

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4843
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Can't access QNAP from different subnet

Post by Trexx » Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:48 pm

I would look at updating to the latest QTS build to start with (b299) as their were several AD related patches as well as security fixes included as a starting point.

I would also open a helpdesk ticket with QNAP in case this is a new issue.

When you say domain, clarify what you mean... AD Domain, DNS Domain, Workgroup domain, etc....

Are you using FQDN's to access the QNAP or just NETBIOS shortname? What type of clients are you trying to connect with?
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

Labone
Starting out
Posts: 35
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:56 pm

Re: Can't access QNAP from different subnet

Post by Labone » Mon Oct 02, 2017 10:56 pm

Sorry for the delay, been out of the office for a few days...

Just to clarify, we have 2 different physical sites.

Each site has a different subnet ie 192.0.1... and 192.0.2.....

Both sites use the same AD domain, and has a DC on both sites.

The QNAP is on Subnet 1, if we try to access the QNAP from Subnet 2 by its unc path ie \\QNAPSERVER then it gives the username and password box, but if I use the IP Address \\192.0.1.... then its OK.

I'll look at updating the firmware and if that doesn't fix the issue I'll raise a case.

Thanks,

Mick.

User avatar
Trexx
Experience counts
Posts: 4843
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:50 am
Location: Minnesota
Contact:

Re: Can't access QNAP from different subnet

Post by Trexx » Mon Oct 02, 2017 11:12 pm

I would try accessing your QNAP via a FQDN name (QNAPSERVER.domain.net) for example. Also make sure your QNAP is pointing to your AD-ENT DNS servers.
Paul

Model: TS-877-1600 FW: 4.4.1.x
QTier (HDD): [RAID-5] 6 x 3TB HGST DeskStar NAS QTier (SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 1TB WD Blue m.2's
(SSD): [RAID-1] 2 x 500GB Evo 860
RAM: Kingston HyperX Fury 64GB DDR4-2666
GPU: EVGA GTX 1060, ACX 2.0(1 Fan), 6GB
UPS: CyberPower AVR1350 Ext. Backup: USB 3.0 Seagate 5TB
Media Boxes: Nvidia ShieldTV Pro, AppleTV 4k, Various Roku's

Model: TVS-673 32GB FW: 4.4.1.x Test/Backup Box
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
NAS RAID Rebuild Times | Live QTS Videos | | QNAP NAS Guide | Information needed when you ask for HELP | QNAP Links, Tutorials, etc.
2018 Plex NAS Compatibility Guide | QNAP Plex FAQ | Moogle's QNAP Faq

lmecharle
Starting out
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 2:58 am

Re: Can't access QNAP from different subnet

Post by lmecharle » Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:39 pm

Hi Labone,
Are you sure not have a Firewall was block DNS traffic ? Are you sure you could ping fqdn of your AD ?
Good luck
regards

Post Reply

Return to “Windows Domain & Active Directory”