Can't join domain

Questions about using Windows AD service.
Post Reply
dlaurenz
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:09 pm

Can't join domain

Post by dlaurenz » Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:32 pm

i have a problem with the newest firmware.... since yesterday domain access does not work, so i tried to rejoin, but this also fails. i joined a fresh install debian sucessfully to the domain to make sure the dc are not the problem and have 2 other qnaps which work perfectly in the samba 4 ad domain....one of them has QTS 4.2 the other one the newest firmware

here's the log:

my setup

3x Samba 4.7 DC controllers
3x QNAP, 2 of them run perfectly

Firmware of the one which is unable to join QTS 4.3.3.0361.

German-text:

Microsoft-Netzwerkeinstellungen fehlgeschlagen. Bitte prüfen Sie den DNS-Server, den Domänennamen, den Benutzernamen und das Kennwort für das Anmelden bei der Domäne.

======== DEBUG START =======

/usr/local/samba/bin/net time set -S SAMBA01.dns.domain

[command] echo ******** | /usr/bin/kinit "user@dns.domain"

Password for user@dns.domain:

Specify WORKGROUP = WORKGROUP

[command] /usr/local/samba/bin/net ads join -S SAMBA01 -U "user%********" -s /etc/config/smb.conf

Could not initialise message context. Try running as root

Failed to join domain: Access is denied



I can ping all three dcs from the qnap box

User avatar
OneCD
Ask me anything
Posts: 5944
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2016 10:48 am
Location: "... there, behind that sofa!"

Re: Can't join domain

Post by OneCD » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:03 am

Hi and welcome to the forum.

Please don't post the same problem in multiple topics. I've removed your duplicate post. ;)

production NAS: TS-569 Pro with Debian 9.8 'Stretch' (power on/off times are < 1 minute)
backup NAS: TS-559 Pro+ with QTS 4.2.6 #20190322

one.cd.only@gmail.com

Image Image Image Image

dlaurenz
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:09 pm

Re: Can't join domain

Post by dlaurenz » Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:26 am

sorry - i thought as repley it might not be seen....

dlaurenz
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:09 pm

Re: Can't join domain

Post by dlaurenz » Sat Nov 04, 2017 7:34 am

this is strange - i tried a readonly dc - and it worked to join - a more complex variant, but ok...
any explanation?

dlaurenz
New here
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 11:09 pm

Re: Can't join domain

Post by dlaurenz » Sat Nov 04, 2017 5:56 pm

readonly dc means,, i configured the qnap as readonly dc

Post Reply

Return to “Windows Domain & Active Directory”